Glucose curve and dose adjustment Qs - first week of treatment

Status
Not open for further replies.

Virginie & Chewie (GA)

Member Since 2022
Can't believe I have only/already been doing this for one week... time goes both fast and slow!

Saturday will be Chewie's 8th day of treatment, is that a good time to do a glucose curve? Would that be the basis for a dose increase?

We started at 0.5 units as recommended, her vet wanted us to start at 1 unit, and her AMPS numbers are reliably in the 400s so I'm guessing we will be going up?
 
When following SLGS it says
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
Thanks @Diane Tyler's Mom - I saw that yesterday but it seemed strange to raise the dose myself without getting “permission” haha

On a practical level - I read the posts with pictures about 0.25 units, but my eyesight is not good especially up close, and I’m not sure I can feel confident that I have 0.75 in the syringe. The lowest number I have seen on Chewie so far has been 298 at +6, would it be feasible to just got up to 1 unit directly?
 
Thanks @Diane Tyler's Mom - I saw that yesterday but it seemed strange to raise the dose myself without getting “permission” haha

On a practical level - I read the posts with pictures about 0.25 units, but my eyesight is not good especially up close, and I’m not sure I can feel confident that I have 0.75 in the syringe. The lowest number I have seen on Chewie so far has been 298 at +6, would it be feasible to just got up to 1 unit directly?
I'm going to tag a few members for you they are more experienced than me about giving doses

@Suzanne & Darcy

@tiffmaxee

@Wendy&Neko

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Please read her post and mine

Thanks ladies
 
Do you have syringes with half unit markings
If you had to go up to 0.75 units in the future look at the pic of the syringe on the left 0.75 would be between the 0.5 mark and the 1 unit mark. You eyeball it
Can someone hold a magnifying glass for you in front of the syringe for you since your eye site isn't that good up close

30-unit-insulin-syringe-markings.jpg
 
If you are looking for Lantus/glargine dosing help, you might get more help on the Lantus forum. I might suggest something different over there than I would for someone just posting on this forum.

You can get magnifying head lamps in craft stores or on line.
 
If you are looking for Lantus/glargine dosing help, you might get more help on the Lantus forum. I might suggest something different over there than I would for someone just posting on this forum.

You can get magnifying head lamps in craft stores or on line.
I will make a post there tonight when I have her PMPS and +2 numbers, thank you :)

I am going to try reading glasses at the store and see if that works, alone or on top of my current glasses.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top