GLUCONAVI HUMAN METER

Status
Not open for further replies.
Welcome to the best place you never thought you would be.

The normal range is 50-120.

It is recommended not to give insulin if under 200. Post and ask for help.

Any number under 50 is considered too low and hypo protocol should be started.
If you show us the numbers you have been getting and what insulin you are using, we can be of more help.
 
Thank you for the welcome. I am afraid I have no numbers to give yet. I only had the recent results back from the vet today which was BG 24, prozinc will arrive tomorrow.

NOT recommended to give insulin if under 200?
 
I only had the recent results back from the vet today which was BG 24

are you in the UK or somewhere else outside of the states? It sounds like you are referring to 24 mmol/dl which is equivalent to 432 mg/dl.

The "don't give insulin under 200" is referring to the US-based measurement. If you are indeed outside the US, that equates to 11.1

in other words, you would not give insulin if the BG number is less than 11.1
 
@launa wallace
Hi there
We can help you
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.

The signature is at the end of everyone's post in gray ,information about our cats
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name oit

    • your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Also almost all of us use human meters that's what our numbers are based on


Just to show you about the Spreadsheet
Don't be nervous about the spreadsheet
About the spreadsheet
AMPS - means AM Pre Shot the first test you take in the AM ,you need to withhold food 2 hours before testing so it's not food influenced

Units is where you would put how much insulin you gave
+1 is one hour after giving insulin if you were to test then that's where you enter his _BG number
+2 two hours after giving insulin. ditto
+3 and so on until you get to PMPS - PM pre shot withhold food 2 hours before testing

+1 same as you do for AM cycle

We don't give times because we are all in different time zones that's why we use the + numbers



You can look at any members spreadsheet to see what it looks like, it's at the end of everyone's signature just tap on it


If you need help with setting up your spreadsheet just ask we have a member here that will help you

I would also add to your signature what country you live in
You can let us know how many units of Prozinc your vet suggested to start your kitty on
There are a lot of many experienced members here to help you :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top