Glucometers and Test Strips Suggestions

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by KPassa, May 10, 2022.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KPassa

KPassa Well-Known Member

I've been using the Relion Prime for close to 9 years now (~ a year after Mikey was diagnosed). I feel like in the last year or so, the quality of the test strips has changed and they no longer absorb blood as well as they used to. I've been going through about 2 strips for every test because it either doesn't soak up enough blood or gives me the dreaded error reading even when there is enough blood. So basically, test strips price has now doubled.

I used to use the Relion Micro but it looks like they've discontinued it? Or maybe renamed it? Does anyone have any recommendations for cheapest test strips that work well with cats?

2. Corey & Kitty

Corey & Kitty Member

I've been using the ReliOn Premier, I believe its the successor that has replaced ReliOn Prime. The premier strips seem to work well and absorb the blood without an issue as long as I have enough blood there. There have been two occasions where the strip would not take in the blood, but that's only 2 strips out of the 200+ that I've used.

KPassa likes this.
  3. Chris & China (GA)

Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

Yeah, the meter has been D/C'd (of course....it was the most popular meter in the US so some nitwit decided they should get rid of it). You can still get the strips but not the meter!

The new Premier is their idea of a replacement. The basic meter is $9 but it has several other models with different bells and whistles that (of course) cost more. The strips are the same as the Prime, 50 for $9, 100 for $17.88. It does seem to run a little higher than the Prime (or the Confirm/Mini) did.

KPassa likes this.
  4. KPassa

KPassa Well-Known Member

Thanks for all this great info!

Does the Premier use the same strips as the Prime?

5. Corey & Kitty

Corey & Kitty Member