? Glen 05/01 AMPS 122 PMPS 184 +2 103, +3 81

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi I would change your title to read DOSE HELP PLEASE, NEED TO SHOOT
will make it clearer you need help deciding:bighug:
Bumping you up too
 
Nice change in title, I have to go but bump yourself up if you need to..I don't really see any others onboard at this moment..and I can't give dose help...

worse comes to worse you skip and consider it an accidental fur shot which happens to the best of us...you know he won't go hypo while you are at work because he didn't get any insulin:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Nice change in title, I have to go but bump yourself up if you need to..I don't really see any others onboard at this moment..and I can't give dose help...

worse comes to worse you skip and consider it an accidental fur shot which happens to the best of us...you know he won't go hypo while you are at work because he didn't get any insulin:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Ok thanks
 
Hoping you have a good day, if you skip he will pick back up where he left off, it's not the end of the world and like I said, could just as easily have happened accidentally!:bighug:
 
Thanks for trying. I should have asked last night. Guess everyone is busy with their own babies :bighug:
Probably, board is pretty quiet..it's ok to skip especially as you won't be able to get any tests in after, basically having to test and run, so call it a fur shot, go to work worry free and post up tonite..it happens:bighug:
 
Sorry I got this too late. Normally that 122 is a very shootable number. When kitties get into low doses and closer to remission, it's a good sign to just be seeing low blue and green all the time. However, since Glen has been in such a rush down the dosing scale, I think skipping today was a very good option. Let's see what he does with no juice on board and you can resume tonight when you can monitor.
 
Sorry I got this too late. Normally that 122 is a very shootable number. When kitties get into low doses and closer to remission, it's a good sign to just be seeing low blue and green all the time. However, since Glen has been in such a rush down the dosing scale, I think skipping today was a very good option. Let's see what he does with no juice on board and you can resume tonight when you can monitor.
Oh we cross posted!
Thanks!
 
PMPS 184
I am thinking I should stick with the 0.25u?

But if I follow SLSG guidelines I would give nothing?
 
I think stick with 0.25U if you can at least get your before bed test tonight. The guidelines for no shoot below 200 are for brand new people. As you gain experience, you lower your "no shoot" number. You have lots of data from shooting full dose into even lower numbers than this PMPS.
 
I think stick with 0.25U if you can at least get your before bed test tonight. The guidelines for no shoot below 200 are for brand new people. As you gain experience, you lower your "no shoot" number. You have lots of data from shooting full dose into even lower numbers than this PMPS.
Ok thanks!
 
At least he shows up and you don't have to hunt him down! My DH had to wake me almost every morning the first couple of months after Harvey was diagnosed because Harvey would not let him catch him! (He gave the shots most of the time because I have severe arthritis in my hands and it was difficult for me). Of course, when I stumbled downstairs, half asleep, I'd walk right up to Harvey, pick him up and hand him to my DH. I swear that cat thought it was a great game! :rolleyes: DH, not so much. :mad:

Sorry no one was available to help this morning. That is pretty unusual. I'll be around on and off until late tonight, so if you need anything, I'll watch for your posts. I usually "work" the late shift here. ;)
 
At least he shows up and you don't have to hunt him down! My DH had to wake me almost every morning the first couple of months after Harvey was diagnosed because Harvey would not let him catch him! (He gave the shots most of the time because I have severe arthritis in my hands and it was difficult for me). Of course, when I stumbled downstairs, half asleep, I'd walk right up to Harvey, pick him up and hand him to my DH. I swear that cat thought it was a great game! :rolleyes: DH, not so much. :mad:

Sorry no one was available to help this morning. That is pretty unusual. I'll be around on and off until late tonight, so if you need anything, I'll watch for your posts. I usually "work" the late shift here. ;)
It's totally fine! Can't expect folks to be always available :)
I am not planning on needing anyone tonight but if I do I will tag you! I appreciate it!
 
I'm thinking tonight's dose got dropped down one row by accident. It's listed for tomorrow and there's nothing in tonight's dose column.

I saw your explanation from last night on feeding - that sounds like a good routine.
 
Isn't the pmps 184 and the +2 103? That's a pretty significant drop for a +2 - definitely get a +3 as well tonight. You can always steer him with food if you need to.
 
Some cats do - I wonder if that suggests that his insulin is onsetting (beginning to work) before the typical +2. That's possible. Perhaps it's onsetting at +1.

If he doesn't bounce from the quick drop then it may just be his pattern, and not a problem.
 
Good idea on the snack, seems like it would be good to slow him down.
Not experienced enough for dosing advice. Someone else should be along to help with that. I'd go ahead and put the question mark on your thread. i know there weren't many people on this morning to help you.
 
Advice I have been given in the past is no gravy if over 50. However, I'm not sure in Glen's case if there is a different opinion.
In Uncle's case at this point I would usually give him some Low carb food that is a bit higher in carbs than the raw I normally feed him.
Let's see who else is on and tag them. Be back in a sec
 
No gravy at this point.....just a little snack of his regular low carb food...we want to try to get him "surfing" without sending his numbers to the moon

Test again in 30 minutes
Haha I will try. He tends to eat his regular food at meal times but that's it. And he's already eaten quite a bit already tonight. Will try
 
Sorry and test in 30?

Yes...test again 30 minutes after feeding...it doesn't do a lot of good to test too much sooner because it takes a little time for the food to break down and get into the bloodstream

If you use Karo/honey/syrup, that can get into the bloodstream sooner, but we usually save that for when they're really too low and we need them up NOW

81 is still a safe number
 
Yes...test again 30 minutes after feeding...it doesn't do a lot of good to test too much sooner because it takes a little time for the food to break down and get into the bloodstream

If you use Karo/honey/syrup, that can get into the bloodstream sooner, but we usually save that for when they're really too low and we need them up NOW

81 is still a safe number

Ok just gave him some pate. And just caught him in the other cats dish. Guess his arthritis is better and the cartrophen is kicking in LOL. He had a bit of higher carb wet but not much. Will check in 30
 
Hi there Tammy,
How's that next test? Have you got it yet?

I'm just getting up so I can hang with you, until Glen stats to come up.
 
That's good that he is staying flat, still in safe numbers.

I think a this stage you could give him a teaspoon of his regular LC, and check again at +4.5.
he seems to have leveled out, but given some of his crazy drops in the past it would be best to err on the side of caution.
Giving a teaspoon of LC now can sometimes encourage them to surf. If he won't eat don't worry and just check his BG at +4.5.
 
That's good that he is staying flat, still in safe numbers.

I think a this stage you could give him a teaspoon of his regular LC, and check again at +4.5.
he seems to have leveled out, but given some of his crazy drops in the past it would be best to err on the side of caution.
Giving a teaspoon of LC now can sometimes encourage them to surf. If he won't eat don't worry and just check his BG at +4.5.
He ate maybe a teaspoon. Oh man I am so tired and have to be up in 5 hours o_O
 
Reading back through the thread it looks like around that 81 he got into some HC wet, the carbs from that may be keeping his numbers flat, when they wear of he could drop again. When they have had some HC we like to see them remain up two hours after the HC, to be sure that the BG is not going to crash.

So sorry he's doing this now and you need to sleep, we've all been there:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top