Glargine- AMPS 501, +2 538- Need Advice

LoufsMama

Member Since 2022
Hello,
My cat Lucifer recently started on Glargine (Basaglar). He is doing 1 unit 2x a day. The last couple of days his readings have been all over (in spreadsheet), but they have been lowering. However this morning he was giving me trouble eating he did eat a little and he had his insulin. His first blood sugar this morning AMPS was 501. This was done at 930am. Then just now I checked him and instead of going down he is up to 538. I don’t know what I should do. This is the highest he’s ever been. Am I doing something wrong?
 
I'm using AlphaTrak 2 by the way. I just updated on my signature because I have that and ReliOn Prime as well.
 
At this time, you are so new, this can be very distressing that you can't help your kitty faster. Lucifer needs consistent dosing, and you will eventually see better numbers. The rise isn't much this morning . . . Maybe a food bump, or even meter variance could have come into play. Sure hope to see lower numbers soon!
Many vets allow 10 days to two weeks on a starting dose, because it takes a while for the cat's numbers to show a clearer picture.
The protocols here are very, very good.
 
Thank you that makes me feel a bit better. I feel terrible that he is going through this and I am fairly helpless to stop his numbers. I'd be lost without all of the groups help. Hoping this gets easier on him soon. Perhaps it will lower later on today.
 
Lol everyone says his name doesn’t fit him because he’s so sweet. Thank you, I will do my best to try.
 
Back
Top