Giz AMPS 490 +2 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ashley H & Gizmo

Member Since 2017
He was definitely aggravated with me this morning when we got the high reading! He kept telling me he just wanted breakfast with meows and chirps...didn't help that dad was cooking either.

When should I be concerned about his "low" numbers? He dropped to 59 yesterday at +6 and the vet reduced him back to 2u rather than 2.5. But everything I've been reading in the Lantus forum (+ TR Protocol) and a few other feline diabetes sites have all coincided on the fact that numbers under 100 aren't necessarily anything to worry about until they reach a certain point (40 and below). Is that correct?

He's acting perfectly normal - no signs of imbalance, weakness, shaking, and he's no more lethargic than his usual cat-self. With a little encouragement he ate a bit more of his leftover breakfast (Friskies Pate).

I posted in the Main Health forum yesterday, mentioning that based on our readings yesterday it seems like we might be able to regulate him with a diet change. Am I crazy?!?
 
Hi,
Thhis is huge drop from AMPS to +2.
Can you offer him some medium carbs 10-13% food now? A little 2-3 teaspoons?
This cycle is going to be active and very low drops is more than possible.
 
If you do not have midium carbs or high carbs food at home then adding a little honey or Karo or Maple syrup to his regular low carbs food should do the trick.

Are you able to monitor - take tests and intervene with food id needed? That''s might be necessary today judging by that drop.

When should I be concerned about his "low" numbers?
Below 50 on the human meter is when you intervene with food per TR. 88 is good and safe number however given that it happened at the onset further lowering might reach unsafe numbers fast. At +2 Lantus just starts working and will be gaining potency until his nadir, often mid cycle but could be later. You'll need to stay ahead of numbers by testing frequently today.
 
Are you able to monitor - take tests and intervene with food id needed? That''s might be necessary today judging by that drop.
Yep! I'm lucky enough to be working from currently, so I'm able to keep a good eye on him and test when we need to. He did eat more low-carb food after our +2 test and I planned to test again at +6 which is where his nadir has seemed to be on previous doses. Should I test sooner than that?

Regardless, if he's low I'll offer him a handful of kibble. I sort of felt like his afternoon munch on kibble, yesterday, shot his numbers way up again last night/this morning. Maybe that's not the case and it's more that he's bouncing due to the changes in his dose.
 
Regardless, if he's low I'll offer him a handful of kibble.
munch on kibble, yesterday, shot his numbers way up again last night/this morning.
That's the trouble with dry - takes longer to get out of the system and instead of keeping a kitty surfing in healthy good green numbers dry sends them up thru the roof and remains in their system for up to several cycles.

Good call on giving a little LC after the +2 - but make sure you check the +3 . If at +3 he closer to 50 then give some more wet + a bit, a few drops of honey or Karo on top - and retest again in half ah hour to keep on eye on his food responses.

You are not crazy at all hoping to regulate with food - taking the dry out dramatically improves the numbers.
 
I think Tanya is right, that 88 was a bad test. Either a faulty strip or just not enough blood on the strip (I have gotten false low readings if strip did not get enough blood). Sometimes you can tell if there's not enough blood, meter reading takes a little longer to appear. If a bead of blood doesn't form up, I do not try to get the strip in the smear of blood since that almost always gives me an error or a false low reading.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top