Giving shot 1:45min hr early-What dosage?

Status
Not open for further replies.

owlgal

Member Since 2011
Hi all! I have some surgery coming up tomorrow and have to give copper a shot an hour early. I have been trying to give him a shot 30min earlier everyday the last week, but just couldn't keep to that schedule due to other circumstances. So looks like i will have to give him a shot 45min earlier tonight and about 30min earlier tomorrow.

I hate to do that, but have no other choice. Do i combine the times (that would mean 1:15min earlier in 24hrs)? So i have been giving him about 1.6-1.8u and he has been dropping in the lower 100's. His ps's numbers are in the low 300's.

Need some ideas on what dosage. I was thinking 1.4u tonight and see how he does on that. I have a babysitter that will be at the house watching my girls and can keep an eye on Copper and feed him, but cannot test him.

IF you have any thoughts or ideas......I'm open for suggestions.......


THANKS!!!


amps@312
fed (raw chichen)
shot 1.6u
 
Re: Giving shot 1:15min hr early-What to dosage?

I think better safe than sorry, Lori. He may run high while you are gone, but you can get him back on track. Maybe reduce a little on your 30 minute shot as long as he is rising(an early shot is considered the same as a dose increase) and then a little less than that on your second? And then a reduced dose while you are gone.

Best wishes on your surgery. Hope things go well.
 
Re: Giving shot 1:15min hr early-What to dosage?

I hope your surgery goes well tomorrow.
I just hate getting off Baxters shooting schedule. One thing I always remember when trying to figure out a dose when I need to shoot early is....shooting early is like a dose increase. Shooting late is like a decrease. Sorry I can't help with a dosing amount.

Have a good day! :-D
 
Re: Giving shot 1:15min hr early-What dosage?

Hope you surgery goes well--- I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers.
 
Re: Giving shot 1:15min hr early-What dosage?

Hi Lori,
First off, you have my thoughts and prayers for your surgery tomorrow.

It depends on his BG at shot time. If you get a mid-pink number like he's had the past several days, that would indicate this morning's shot has worn off and you can shoot a normal dose. Just test an hour before and at shot time to make sure he is rising. If you see a low pink or yellow, then reduce to 1.4 or less.
Carl
 
Re: Giving shot 1:15min hr early-What dosage?

Thanks all for input and well wishes. Just an outpatient thing and should be home by the night time, i hope!

Just got the call from Surgery center and they changed my time to be there and now i have to give 1 hr 45min earlier. SHould i still divide it up from tonight and tomorrow morning? Is that better to do that? Thanks Carl, that makes sense about the higher 300's vs. 200's. It looks like his insulin stops working about 10hrs in the cycle and then he starts climbing up to the 300's. BUt, then again, that is not every day. He still tricks me from time to time. I guess just wait and see where he is at today 1hr ahead of time. SO, let me see if i get this right: if he is at upper 200's(yellow's) at +11, then reduce to a smaller dose (1.2u) because i usually would give 1.4 for that number @+12? Or do i just give the 1.4u OR, if higher say in the mid 300's(pink's) at +11 then give 1.4 because i would normall give the 1.6or 1.7u @+12? Then do i do the same for morning?

Oh, now i'm getting more confused!!!!
 
Went ahead and gave 1hr early today. +9.5 he was at 292 and +11(pmps) @355. Since he was in the mid pink's and rising, i would of normally given a 1.7u. But, since 1hr early i decided to give 1.5u. I don't know if i calculated this right? Now that i'm thinking through it a little more, i probably should of given a 1.6u. But i just don't want to mess him up for tomorrow morning's shot. I still need to give his shot 45min earlier in morning. SOooo confusing! We shall see where he goes. He seems to be dropping very fast these days and then bounces just enough at pmps. So maybe this was the right direction. I just don't know!

lori
 
Hi Lori,
Hope every went well today at the Dr.

OK, here's what I said yesterday:
It depends on his BG at shot time. If you get a mid-pink number like he's had the past several days, that would indicate this morning's shot has worn off and you can shoot a normal dose. Just test an hour before and at shot time to make sure he is rising.

You did that, he was rising, and he gave you a "normal" mid-pink number. So you could have gone with his "normal" dose on that number
Since he was in the mid pink's and rising, i would of normally given a 1.7u.

The hour early really didn't matter, because it looks like the dose had worn off at +11.

All that said, not a big deal. 1.5 or 1.6 or 1.7 are good. Not a huge difference between them.
What did you get this morning?

Try not to overthink it, Lori. In the months you've been doing this, you've shown a good instinct on dose, so just keep going with your gut, hon!
Carl
 
Lori - Surgery? Wow - turn my head for a couple of days and you go and have surgery! I do hope it went well and that you are resting comfortably. You do a great job taking care of Copper and everybody else, please, make sure you're taking care of Lori, too!!

Talk to you soon, Friend -

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top