Giving lantus 30 minutes early to 30-45 minutes late?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
Hi Lantus Land! Sorry I haven't posted in a few days - haven't even kept up with Tigger's SS. Tigger's brother Spankey has been very sick, & the vets don't seem to know exactly what the problem is. After collapsing on Monday & having a swollen underside of his tongue, no fever & not eating, bloodwork ok, he's on 3 antibiotics & a large lump has formed next to his throat & is grown up around the larynx. Aspiration shows inflammation goop & some other unknown stuff that is a concern re. fungus.

Spankey's going in for surgery tomorrow AM with a travelling surgeon. He has to be there @ 8 AM, with surgery @ 8:30. My problem is the vet is 30 minutes away & I have to give Tigger his insulin @ 8AM. My husband can take Spankey in, but I'd like to be there, too, as this will be a difficult surgery due to the location of the swelling.

Can I give Tigger his shot either 30 minutes early or 30-45 minutes late tomorrow AM so I can go with Spankey, too?

I know an early shot equals a dose increase & a late shot is a decrease. I did increase Tigger's insulin this AM, but he's stayed high & level in the upper 300's - a very odd pattern for him. Would this be adding to the depot do you think?

I haven't spent much time with Tigger because of Spankey - I've been running from one sick animal to the next, not getting much sleep, & just being worried. Thanks everyone for your input. Hopefully Spankey will be ok tomorrow & can come home with a new lease on life.

Tigger's last condo 7/18
 
((((Suzanne))))
I'm so sorry to hear about Spankey. I hope all goes well tomorrow and the surgery is a success.

Shooting 30 min. early or late should have minimal effect on Tigger's numbers. Unless Tigger has issues with ketones, you could always skip a shot. If you think of it like a fur shot,
 
I found some FAQs under the Lantus and Levemir: New to the Group? Please Read . . . sticky. One addressed shot times:

Q3.10. Sometimes I can't be home to give one of my cat's shots; is it okay to give it late or early?

A3.10. In general, you should keep on a schedule for giving injections. If you give the shot once a day, do it at the same time every day. If you give shots twice a day, do it at the same time twelve hours apart. However, occasionally giving insulin an hour earlier or later isn't likely to cause any trouble. If you need to vary the timing by more than this, it may be prudent to give a reduced dose (at the previous shot if you need to shoot early, and at the current shot if you need to shoot late). If your schedule never permits you to shoot 12 hours apart, you may need to experiment with different morning and evening doses, or even use different types of insulin for the morning and evening shots; however, you'll need to hometest your cat's blood glucose to determine a safe approach.

I just had some stuff going on this weekend that forced my shot times to be on and 11 and 13 hour split for a few days. It doesn't seem to have made much of a difference except the PS values being higher in the evening. 30-45 minutes for one shot shouldn't make much difference. Just if Tigger happened to be low, you might not want to shoot early.

I hope Spankey gets better soon, poor kitty.
 
Thank you all for your support & answers! I thought even 15 minutes difference had an impact, so that's a relief. I've read & re-read those stickies, don't know why some information sticks & some dissolves away.

I'll take Tigger's BG +10 & +11, & depending upon those shoot either before we go or after. I'd prefer before in case we get held up.

It's really important for me to be there with Spankey, so he knows I support this scary thing for him & that it's the best thing we can possibly do for him. This is probably the most critical juncture of his life. The vets don't think he has a good chance without the surgery - too much risk because we don't know what it is, & because of where it is & what it could do. I reluctantly agree.

If something happened to Spankey, I know Tigger wouldn't hang out here long without him, & vice versa. They go together.

Thanks again - I appreciate all the time & support,

Suzanne & Tigger & Spankey
 
The reason the info seems to go "poof" is that there's a huge amount to absorb. It's overwhelming. That's why we're here -- to provide information as you need it or to direct you to where you can find the info.

The information that Amy quoted isn't from the New to the Group sticky. It's from the FDMB FAQs and the post is dated 2008. Lantus was just beginning to be used and the information that Amy quoted isn't applicable to Lantus. The FAQs were developed as generic guidelines. (I suspect that the really need to be revised given that long-acting, depot-type insulin such as Lantus and Levemir, are very different than the insulins that were popular at the time that information was being actively relied upon.)
 
"poof" is the right word, all right!

I'll re-read the Lantus info tomorrow, thanks. It's just good to know I can take some leeway with shot times without totally screwing up any progress we made.

Tigger had a weird ride today, all elevated. Hope it's related to the depot & not a new pattern for him. Seems he's really attached to pink & yellow.

Good night & thanks again - long day tomorrow.
 
Suzanne

Many many prayers for Spankey tomorrow. I'll keep you in my thoughts that the surgery is a success.

As Sienne explained, you can shoot 30 mins early or late without it affecting the numbers. I've done it many times. I don't do it back to back too often but I've done it.

Please let us know how he is. Once Spankey is fine, we can get Tigger on track.
 
Thinking of you and Spankey tomorrow. Hoping all goes well with the surgery. Tigger will be just fine w/ an early shot. will the surgery be at ND&CH?
 
Thinking of you and Spankey tomorrow. Hoping all goes well with the surgery. Tigger will be just fine w/ an early shot. will the surgery be at ND&CH?
 
Sending vines from Poe and me for a successful smooth surgery and recovery. Hope they are able to figure it out and get it taken care of for Spankey.

Hugs & Scritches :-D
 
Many, many vines for a successful surgery for Spanky today. I'm sure that Tigger will not have a problem with the shot times.

(((((Suzanne)))) I hope the vet can make a good diagnosis and that all will go well.

Ella & Rusty
 
Good luck with Spanky's surgery. Sending lots of best wishes and healing vines. I have trouble remembering anything when I'm under stress. I hope you get a good rest soon.

Grace
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top