AlysonE
Member Since 2018
I am new to ProZinc and new-ish to feline diabetes in general. Since April I was just shooting 2u twice daily ( as directed by Vet) and Emmitt was fine, but then he started to drink and pee more, so now I need to figure out regulation much more proactively than I had been.
I have recently switched to ProZinc after a disastrous experience with Novolin N, and Im trying to get him regulated. His Novolin ride has left him in pretty rough shape.
My question is, when I have done a curve and know his insulin is rising and he is ~4 hours before his next shot, can I give the shot early to prevent him going into the high (400+) BG range? He is at 329 right now and starting to look a little rough. I think I need to up his dose a little, ( he got a fat 2u, I think he needs a solid 2.5u next time.)
Im still learning, and appreciate any advice on early shots. Another motive for the earlier shot is now that I understand the curve better, if I switch to the earlier time, I can be home to feed at the low spot on the curve instead of feeding only at the shot time. I gather that will help regulate him better.
I have recently switched to ProZinc after a disastrous experience with Novolin N, and Im trying to get him regulated. His Novolin ride has left him in pretty rough shape.
My question is, when I have done a curve and know his insulin is rising and he is ~4 hours before his next shot, can I give the shot early to prevent him going into the high (400+) BG range? He is at 329 right now and starting to look a little rough. I think I need to up his dose a little, ( he got a fat 2u, I think he needs a solid 2.5u next time.)
Im still learning, and appreciate any advice on early shots. Another motive for the earlier shot is now that I understand the curve better, if I switch to the earlier time, I can be home to feed at the low spot on the curve instead of feeding only at the shot time. I gather that will help regulate him better.
