Gilbert AMPS=405, PMPS=67 Question?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christy & Gilbert

Member Since 2013
I fed Gilbert his regular supper @ shot time, but didn't give his shot due to low #. I will ck him in little bit & see what he is. Should I give his 4.5u? It seems like when I skip a shot or reduce the amt because of low #s it sends him back up to really high #s :? I am also scheduled for surgery next wk. We are going to try our hardest to keep him on his insulin schedule, but what if we can't? Is it going to throw him off really bad to skip some shots? I also gave him a little acidophilus powder in his wet food last night & tonight because he has been on antibiotic for last wk...would that have caused a low #?
 
He probably went a lot lower on the night of the 14th. When you see a +2 that is the same or lower than the PS, I would set alarms to get some mid-cycles tests in the night time.

Normally, when we stall, we do not feed. Since you already fed, you could wait an hour or so and if your shot schedule is flexible enough (you can shoot again in the morning 12 hours after you shoot tonight), then you can consider shooting his dose, but it all depends upon how comfortable you feel with the BG number at that time, and if you are able to shoot so late tomorrow or not. Otherwise, I guess, just skip the shot.
Next time he is too low for you to feel comfortable shooting at PS time, I would hold off on feeding and wait for a bit, and test again to see if he is on the rise, or dropping, or surfing along without the influence of food.
 
Wow, Gilbert, you really threw a curveball at your bean tonight. :shock: I don't mean to pry, will you be in the hospital for a few days for your surgery? You can skip or you can shoot reduced doses. When Sienne travels, Gabby gets a reduced dose because Gabby won't let anyone else test her.
Liz, Zener's other mom
 
Thank you Dyana & Liz! He was 62 @ +1 & 72 @ +3...skipping shot tonight...will try to ck him periodically. Liz, I am having a hysterectomy...they don't know if it is going to be laparoscopic or abdominal yet...I hope to just stay overnight, but may have to stay 2 nights? I figure he will be ok w/ skipping shots if we have to, but I think I have read that makes everything go backward...how long does it take to get back on track? Which we are not really on track by any means, but I hate to reverse what we have accomplished so far :?
 
You are correct, below 50 is when you give HC and/or karo. Quite the rainbow kitty today.

Do you have anyone who could give Gilbert a reduced shot while you are away, as Liz suggested? It will help preserve part of the depot if you can do that. People here who go on vacation and have petsitters do the same. They fill a sample syringe with colored liquid to show the sitter how much to shoot.
 
Wendy...yes, he is even more the rainbow kitty this morning @ 572 :sad: I was just too scared to shoot any last night. I guess I am going to have to get over that. I hope to have my husband come home & give Gilbert his shots during surgery process. Can you prefill syringes w/ insulin & leave in fridge?
 
It's best to not pre-fill syringes. The syringe and insulin manufacturers advise against it. What you can do is make a "sample" syringe where you use a colored liquid so it's easy to see the dose. If you can, take a photo with your phone and send it to your DH. That way, if he needs to enlarge the photo so he can clearly see the lines, he'll be able to do so without squinting at the syringe. If he's not already tested and filled syringes and given Gilbert a shot, you might want to have DH practice while you're observing.

You might want to check into getting a petsitter to come by so your husband doesn't have to rush home and neither of you need to worry about Gilbert. It will take the pressure off. If you need to skip, you can think of it like a fur shot. Especially if Gilbert has history of ketones, I'd be very thoughtful about skipping multiple shots, though.

Also, please let your DH know that if he's unsure what to do, he can post here. We'll be happy to lend a hand.
 
Thanks Sienne, my husband knows how to fill & shoot, but has problems sometimes w/ testing. I feel confident w/ him caring for Gilbert. We really don't have anybody else. I suppose I could teach his mother, but I think I would feel better just skipping honestly. Gilbert is such a timid cat. He is really only used to my husband & I. Thanks again for info on pre-fill!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top