Gideon BG = 64 mid cycle

Shiloh567

Member Since 2020
Hello ALL- Sorry if I should not have put the 911 prefix on this post. I just took Gideon's mid-cycle ear stick and he is 64. I am thinking he will start to come up. He is due for his Lantus at 7p, 6 hrs from now. He is currently eating his normal food. I didn't go for the higher carb. I plan to retest in 30 minutes. I thank you all for your help and guidance. Just want to make sure what I am doing is correct. (Feed reg low carb food and recheck in 30 mins).
 
He’s earned a reduction to ,75. I would gave given a little middle carb at least but see what this does.
 
You did great. LC food can bring up the BG as well as MC on some occasions, especially if your cat is carb sensitive. I consider MC at or around 10%. Sometimes I mix them when Nova hits a low (in between 50/60ish). Here's a reminder about lowering or earning a reduction on TR:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate. (I have to remind myself every so often...) :)
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
I hope I'm not stepping on any toes here.
 
Thanks. I think Gideon must be carb sensitive.
Along with his reg food which is under 10% carbs, I gave him a tablespoon of 20% carb food. He was just giving me all sorts of love, so I think he feels good.

Thank you.
 
So lc for Max was 3-6% as he was carb sensitive. 20-15% was mc.
You did great. LC food can bring up the BG as well as MC on some occasions, especially if your cat is carb sensitive. I consider MC at or around 10%. Sometimes I mix them when Nova hits a low (in between 50/60ish). Here's a reminder about lowering or earning a reduction on TR:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate. (I have to remind myself every so often...) :)
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
I hope I'm not stepping on any toes here.
She is using a pet meter. The reduction number is 68. He is also a very new diabetic.

@LindyNova
 
Last edited:
@Shiloh567 good job! Could you please take the 911 down since everything is just fine now?

I know 64 on an AT is scary but the 911 is usually for lower numbers :) Definitely below 55-60 on an AT would likely warrant a 911 but it’s always important to take it down as soon as you receive help and kitty is safe.
 
So lc for Max was 3-6% as he was carb sensitive. 20-15% was mc.

She is using a pet meter. The reduction number is 68. He is also a very new diabetic.

@LindyNova
Thank you. I missed that on the signature. I will be sure to look before I speak,and try to remember that there are protocols for non-human meters somewhere.
 
Sorry I did the 911. At the time it was 911 to me. I was uncertain if just the ? would get an answer. Thank you to whoever took the 911 off the post.
Gideon is now 375. Do I keep the 1 unit dosage for now? I am using the AlphaTrak2 glucometer. Thank you for your help.
 
We decide how to dose the cat based on the nadirs, or how low the dose takes the cat. 1.0 units takes Gideon down to 64. That is too low, so you have to reduce to 0.75 units. You do have an option under TR, just for tonight. It's a technique we call "shooting through the bounce". You can shoot the old 1.0 unit dose tonight only, and then reduce to 0.75 units in the morning. The idea is that if you have a bouncy cat, the little extra juice can help them get through the bounce.

The LBL Slang Dictionary has the definitions for LC, MC, and HC. MC is usually 11-15%, depending on the carb sensitivity of your cat.
 
Sorry I did the 911. At the time it was 911 to me. I was uncertain if just the ? would get an answer. Thank you to whoever took the 911 off the post.
Gideon is now 375. Do I keep the 1 unit dosage for now? I am using the AlphaTrak2 glucometer. Thank you for your help.

it was fine to put up the 911 when you did. When that happens Marje was explaining thT once you get help to take it down. If you leave it up and then really have a super low bg or concern ut won’t attract attention when needed. You did a great job managing him.
 
We decide how to dose the cat based on the nadirs, or how low the dose takes the cat. 1.0 units takes Gideon down to 64. That is too low, so you have to reduce to 0.75 units. You do have an option under TR, just for tonight. It's a technique we call "shooting through the bounce". You can shoot the old 1.0 unit dose tonight only, and then reduce to 0.75 units in the morning. The idea is that if you have a bouncy cat, the little extra juice can help them get through the bounce.

The LBL Slang Dictionary has the definitions for LC, MC, and HC. MC is usually 11-15%, depending on the carb sensitivity of your cat.
it was fine to put up the 911 when you did. When that happens Marje was explaining thT once you get help to take it down. If you leave it up and then really have a super low bg or concern ut won’t attract attention when needed. You did a great job managing him.
Ok. Tonight I will give the 1 unit, but then in the AM I will lower back to 0.75 units BID. Tonight I will get up at 1am and test him.
Thank you for your help.
 
Back
Top