Getting the middle claw on monitoring

Status
Not open for further replies.
:):):):)
So Happy Mr NP is doing well. You must feel exhausted by the stress of it all:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Just seeing all this now. So glad you caught it and got help. The same thing happened to me the first day I joined. Smokey was hypo and I didn't know it and couldn't get to the ER. The good people here pulled us through.

Hope Pervis is feeling better and comes home today.
Thanks so much. I think I'm more exhausted than I feel. I got rested overnight. I think he'll get to come home this afternoon.
 
Terri,

Are you in the states? I have 30 of the Wal-Mart u100 syringes with half marks. If you do switch to Lantus I can send them to you to get started. Send me PM. If you want them.
Yes, in Missouri. I'll PM you if we do switch to Lantus, which I'm guessing we will. Thanks for the offer of the u100 syringes. I appreciate it.
 
wow---you handled this like a pro!!
Looking forward to seeing you in lantus land....SO happy NP is a-ok!!:bighug::cat::bighug:
It was trial by fire. I like the vet that was at the ER. Seemed more knowledgeable about FD and was engaged in the visit. I may see you in Lantus land soon. We'll see. NP is my baby. It took over 6 months of daily coaxing, after we took him in back in 2004 for him to come out from under the bed.
 
It was trial by fire. I like the vet that was at the ER. Seemed more knowledgeable about FD and was engaged in the visit. I may see you in Lantus land soon. We'll see. NP is my baby. It took over 6 months of daily coaxing, after we took him in back in 2004 for him to come out from under the bed.
He is older and wiser now:cat:
 
Okay. Just talked to the vet and Pervis is now at 381, but he's not eating. I am going to pick him up in about an hour. They want me to start him on Lantus today. How much will that set me back (a $ range) if I have to fill the script at a locally (in the U.S.)? Should I ask if I can continue the ProZinc until I can get the Lantus from Canada? I'll look around on the forum too to see if I can find that info.
 
Around $450.
I'd continue with a modest dose of the ProZinc if the pre-test has him over 200 mg/dL and then see how he does before ordering the Lantus.
Many cats are more sensitive to insulin after a hypo experience so be very cautious with any insulin you give - maybe 0.5 - 1.0 units at most to start.
 
If you have issues with getting blood from the ear:

Diego's ear bleeds really well up at the tip. Not sure why, but even when he was dehydrated and not eating (and consequently not bleeding as readily) I was always able to do one little poke up at the tippy top of his ear and I get an entire drop of blood every time. I don't have anyone else to compare this to, but it seems as though this is a very vascular area. Worth making note of in case you need to get some blood on that meter quickly.
 
If you have issues with getting blood from the ear:

Diego's ear bleeds really well up at the tip. Not sure why, but even when he was dehydrated and not eating (and consequently not bleeding as readily) I was always able to do one little poke up at the tippy top of his ear and I get an entire drop of blood every time. I don't have anyone else to compare this to, but it seems as though this is a very vascular area. Worth making note of in case you need to get some blood on that meter quickly.
Thanks JC, I'll give that a try.
 
What about timing for switching Pervis off of dry food? I'm guessing I need to wait since his hypo episode yesterday and he'll be switching to Lantus soon. I'm just trying to plan for the best time to do it and am obviously not wanting to switch his food when it would be harmful to him. Leaving now to pick up the kitty now. Keep your fingers crossed that he will eat when he gets home.
 
What about timing for switching Pervis off of dry food? I'm guessing I need to wait since his hypo episode yesterday and he'll be switching to Lantus soon. I'm just trying to plan for the best time to do it and am obviously not wanting to switch his food when it would be harmful to him. Leaving now to pick up the kitty now. Keep your fingers crossed that he will eat when he gets home.

Go Go Pervis!!:woot:
 
Getting him off the dry will really help, so the sooner you can transition him, the better. Some cats have sensitive stomachs though and switching too quickly can cause diarrhea.

I was lucky....I picked up all the dry and put down canned one day and all three of my cats loved it and had no problems with the new food

If spending several hundred dollars for Lantus isn't something you can afford right now, I'd continue with the ProZinc.....just at a drastically reduced dose
 
I did the same as @Chris & China - picked up the dry and went to all wet-
they were fine--Rico has always had a little loser stool but with the microflora from herb smith they both did just fine--
that being said every cat is different:cat: (the numbers went down about 100 just switching food to wet)
 
What about timing for switching Pervis off of dry food? I'm guessing I need to wait since his hypo episode yesterday and he'll be switching to Lantus soon. I'm just trying to plan for the best time to do it and am obviously not wanting to switch his food when it would be harmful to him. Leaving now to pick up the kitty now. Keep your fingers crossed that he will eat when he gets home.
If you cannot of lantus now it is totally understandable--we were on pro zinc before and although I was on a modest dose he would still drop hard and fast.... I find that lantus is a more gentle landing (once they flatten out .... listening Dre??:confused:)
I would def. start over with a small dose - I do not give dosing advice but I am sure one of the others can help you with the exact dose-
so glad he is doing good!! :cat:
 
I’m not a Prozinc user but I would suggest you might want to post on that insulin support group and get an idea of what dose to give him. I wouldn’t necessarily go all the way back to 1u; he might need a lot more insulin than that and you don’t want to have him in really high numbers for long.

What dose of lantus did the vets tell you to start at?

Quite often when you switch from dry to wet, insulin needs decrease so we need to be aware of when you plan to switch him on the food. I hope his not eating at the vet is just because he’s at the vet. Please be sure and let us know if he eats when you get him home.
 
Pervis is glad to be home. He ate a bit and has come to see me on the couch to say hello. The vet took the script from me when I asked if I could continue on the ProZinc until I could get cheaper Lantus. She did later give it back to me only after I promised to fill it locally, but I guess if I do, that means I won't have a script for getting scripts from Marks Marine or other Canadian pharmacy. Pooh.
 
I’m not a Prozinc user but I would suggest you might want to post on that insulin support group and get an idea of what dose to give him. I wouldn’t necessarily go all the way back to 1u; he might need a lot more insulin than that and you don’t want to have him in really high numbers for long.

What dose of lantus did the vets tell you to start at?

Quite often when you switch from dry to wet, insulin needs decrease so we need to be aware of when you plan to switch him on the food. I hope his not eating at the vet is just because he’s at the vet. Please be sure and let us know if he eats when you get him home.
Thanks. For the Lantus, the dosage on the script is 2u every 12 hours.
Around $450.
I'd continue with a modest dose of the ProZinc if the pre-test has him over 200 mg/dL and then see how he does before ordering the Lantus.
Many cats are more sensitive to insulin after a hypo experience so be very cautious with any insulin you give - maybe 0.5 - 1.0 units at most to start.
I'll test in the a.m. and give him a .5-1.0 units at most.
 
I'm glad to hear he's home, he's eating some and most of all, that you're here with us to learn how to keep him that way!!

The people here have more real life experience with treating diabetes than you'll find in any vet, so if you have the script, that's the most important part....although it's a good idea to have a vet who at least knows what insulin you're using just in case of an emergency.

I don't discuss China's diabetes with her vet at all anymore other than she asks "how much insulin is she on and how are her numbers?" and I answer her truthfully. If she does decide she wants to give me some advice, I listen politely, smile and nod....and go home and continue listening to the people here who do this dance every day and know what works.

If you decide to switch to the Lantus, we have two ways of dosing. One is called Tight Regulation Protocol and it gives your cat the best chance at remission. Dose changes are made as often as every 3 days so you're able to (hopefully) get his BG down into the normal range as quickly as possible so his pancreas can heal and resume producing insulin. It does require that he's eating only low carb canned or raw food though. TR is the only treatment that's been published in a veterinary journal so has some real scientific research behind it

The other method is Start Low, Go Slow. Doses are held for at least 7 days (which can be hard on us if they're running higher than we'd like) but some people are more comfortable going slower or can't test as much and it's a very safe method. We've had cats go into remission on SLGS too, so it really just matters how aggressive you are comfortable being.

Think about what you want to do....if you want to switch to Lantus, I can probably sell you a pen from my "stash" and it should get to you within a day or two and you wouldn't have to wait to get it from Marks in Canada (and what I have came from Marks!)
 
Just for reference--- @Nervous Pervis and Terri
When we were on pro zinc I had consulted with another specialty vet (cat and especially FD) she had us switch over "just like that" no slow transitioning-
Dre is 19 pounds --she said normally she would start 2 units 2x a day--THANK GOD WE DID NOT!! and THANK GOD I FOUND THIS FORUM!
1 unit got his BG at 74 on the 4th cycle-- (a cycle is 12 hours) we use alpha track and below 68 is dangerous-

if we had been on 2 units I have no idea what would have happened-Many of the eyes you have on you right now walked us thru some numbers that were scary at the time. I have enough data now to know how to bring him up if need be and how he responds to 1/4 unit increases-
1 thing that will help you get the most of the experts here is the more data you have the more they can be of help.
I am so relieved NP is home and ate --I hope your feeling less stressed.... all of this will be 2nd nature in no time
 
If you find that he is over 200 mg/dL with the low dose, this would be a good time to safely and slowly reduce the dry food and increase the wet low carb food, rather than adjusting the insulin.
Switch out about 20-25% per day, and keep testing to so how it affects him. The food change could reduce him from 100-200 mg/dL; one cat even dropped 300 mg/dL!
 
I'm glad to hear he's home, he's eating some and most of all, that you're here with us to learn how to keep him that way!!

The people here have more real life experience with treating diabetes than you'll find in any vet, so if you have the script, that's the most important part....although it's a good idea to have a vet who at least knows what insulin you're using just in case of an emergency.

I don't discuss China's diabetes with her vet at all anymore other than she asks "how much insulin is she on and how are her numbers?" and I answer her truthfully. If she does decide she wants to give me some advice, I listen politely, smile and nod....and go home and continue listening to the people here who do this dance every day and know what works.

If you decide to switch to the Lantus, we have two ways of dosing. One is called Tight Regulation Protocol and it gives your cat the best chance at remission. Dose changes are made as often as every 3 days so you're able to (hopefully) get his BG down into the normal range as quickly as possible so his pancreas can heal and resume producing insulin. It does require that he's eating only low carb canned or raw food though. TR is the only treatment that's been published in a veterinary journal so has some real scientific research behind it

The other method is Start Low, Go Slow. Doses are held for at least 7 days (which can be hard on us if they're running higher than we'd like) but some people are more comfortable going slower or can't test as much and it's a very safe method. We've had cats go into remission on SLGS too, so it really just matters how aggressive you are comfortable being.

Think about what you want to do....if you want to switch to Lantus, I can probably sell you a pen from my "stash" and it should get to you within a day or two and you wouldn't have to wait to get it from Marks in Canada (and what I have came from Marks!)

I have no idea why, but the vet (a different ER vet then last night) didn't want me to use the pens, she gave me a script for a vial. Will probably switch to Lantus, but want to think about it and will let you know if I need to buy a pen.
 
The vet doesn't have to know where you get the insulin. Please note from Canada it will take several days before you receive it. Target in my area will sell one pen.

Try this, call around to see who will sell one.

http://www.petdrugcard.com/lantus-coupon.html

On this forum check out the supply closet people will sell or give their unused ones.
Thanks for the coupon. Going to check around for prices.
 
If you find that he is over 200 mg/dL with the low dose, this would be a good time to safely and slowly reduce the dry food and increase the wet low carb food, rather than adjusting the insulin.
Switch out about 20-25% per day, and keep testing to so how it affects him. The food change could reduce him from 100-200 mg/dL; one cat even dropped 300 mg/dL!
Okay, I'll test before and after. He's already been getting a little less than a teaspoon a day of FF Classic, so I'm going to take it slow with changing and will be testing along the way. Boy, this FD stuff really cuts into my day. Good thing I can work at home as needed.
 
Just for reference--- @Nervous Pervis and Terri
When we were on pro zinc I had consulted with another specialty vet (cat and especially FD) she had us switch over "just like that" no slow transitioning-
Dre is 19 pounds --she said normally she would start 2 units 2x a day--THANK GOD WE DID NOT!! and THANK GOD I FOUND THIS FORUM!
1 unit got his BG at 74 on the 4th cycle-- (a cycle is 12 hours) we use alpha track and below 68 is dangerous-

if we had been on 2 units I have no idea what would have happened-Many of the eyes you have on you right now walked us thru some numbers that were scary at the time. I have enough data now to know how to bring him up if need be and how he responds to 1/4 unit increases-
1 thing that will help you get the most of the experts here is the more data you have the more they can be of help.
I am so relieved NP is home and ate --I hope your feeling less stressed.... all of this will be 2nd nature in no time
That's a big cat. NP used to be around that size. Now, he's around 13 pounds. I canceled tomorrows glucose curve test at the vet that had me giving him 8u every 12 hours.
 
I have no idea why, but the vet (a different ER vet then last night) didn't want me to use the pens, she gave me a script for a vial. Will probably switch to Lantus, but want to think about it and will let you know if I need to buy a pen.

A lot of vets don't understand how we use the pens. They might think we use the special needles that come with them and think that we can only give doses in whole units due to that (with humans, whole unit dose changes aren't a problem....with cats, we do changes in .25 unit increments)

If you just pull the cap off the pen, there's a rubber stopper....just like a vial! We use regular insulin syringes (like the ones I sent you the picture of) and pull the insulin out of the pen, so the pens just end up being a 3ml "vial" each instead of a big 10ml vial.

With the vial, unless NP ends up being on a high dose, you're going to end up throwing about half of it away...and at $300/vial, that's a lot of money to just throw away. It will last up to about 6 months if cared for properly (and you don't drop it and break it...easy to do!) where with the pens, you get 5 "pens" and each one holds 3ml and can be used up to the last drop.

I believe that Marks in Canada will let you buy the pens even if your script says vial....they have an 800 number so I wouldn't hesitate to ask. In Canada, insulin is sold over the counter, so the pharmacist has a lot of leeway when it comes to dispensing.....and Marks knows us VERY well here!!

To illustrate how we use the pens:
syringe in pen pic.jpg
syringe in pen close up.jpg
 
I'm glad you thought twice about the curve. Are you looking for a new vet?
Thanks for the vet interview topics. I've printed them and put them into my NP FD file. :cat: Yes, I'm going to look around I thought I'd use the one I use for my dog, but I had talked to him on Friday and he didn't think 8u of ProZinc was a lot either, so he's out. I liked the ER vet last night. I need to see if she works somewhere else too. I'm alos going to check with a friend who works at a vets office in a nearby town to see if she can find out about any vets that specialize in FD.
 
A lot of vets don't understand how we use the pens. They might think we use the special needles that come with them and think that we can only give doses in whole units due to that (with humans, whole unit dose changes aren't a problem....with cats, we do changes in .25 unit increments)

If you just pull the cap off the pen, there's a rubber stopper....just like a vial! We use regular insulin syringes (like the ones I sent you the picture of) and pull the insulin out of the pen, so the pens just end up being a 3ml "vial" each instead of a big 10ml vial.

With the vial, unless NP ends up being on a high dose, you're going to end up throwing about half of it away...and at $300/vial, that's a lot of money to just throw away. It will last up to about 6 months if cared for properly (and you don't drop it and break it...easy to do!) where with the pens, you get 5 "pens" and each one holds 3ml and can be used up to the last drop.

I believe that Marks in Canada will let you buy the pens even if your script says vial....they have an 800 number so I wouldn't hesitate to ask. In Canada, insulin is sold over the counter, so the pharmacist has a lot of leeway when it comes to dispensing.....and Marks knows us VERY well here!!

To illustrate how we use the pens:
View attachment 18928 View attachment 18929
Ah, I bet you're right about the lack of understanding.
 
- NP testing this morning -
I gave NP around .75u ProZinc this morning. He ate some dry food mixed with FF this morning. I noticed a couple things since he came home yesterday. His back legs are really weak, which I don't think is unexpected and his pupils are dilated, which was how they were before his initial diagnosis. After he first started on insulin, his pupils went back to normal. I'll keep testing. My DH helped hold Pervis this morning, but I'll be doing the tests solo for the remainder of the morning and afternoon. I wonder if that will help or hinder his levels. He trusts me more than DH, but I'll have to make a kitty burrito to do it solo.

AMPS 491
+1 504
+2 421
+3 357
+4 481
+5 517
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top