StefO
Member Since 2017
Garth has been using Lantus for about 6 weeks now. For the first two weeks of his diagnosis, he was on 1u 2X a day.
He went for a curve at the vet on 6/12 and his dose was increased from 1U to 3U.
He was supposed to go in for a curve on 7/3 but it was a new vet, new hospital and the vet told me if his BG was in the 360s to up his dose to 4U. I only gave him that dose once, but after other members suggested his initial increase was a lot. We have maintained 3U, 2Xa day.
My husband and I have been trying to home test as much as possible but he is a squirmy little guy. Sometimes we poke and get no blood, sometimes the sample is too small. It has been frustrating to say the least. It has been a two person job, but I am getting more comfortable doing it solo, which is necessary since my husband and I have different schedules.
We know we need to be more diligent with testing. I finally set up my spreadsheet and I hate seeing those black boxes.
His BG had been so high the past couple of times that we tested. I wasn't sure if I should reduce to 2U or increase to 4U or stay at 3.
Just successfully tested solo. +6 // 225 today! Wondering if I still should have given him his half can snack.
Any thoughts on his spreadsheet?
He went for a curve at the vet on 6/12 and his dose was increased from 1U to 3U.
He was supposed to go in for a curve on 7/3 but it was a new vet, new hospital and the vet told me if his BG was in the 360s to up his dose to 4U. I only gave him that dose once, but after other members suggested his initial increase was a lot. We have maintained 3U, 2Xa day.
My husband and I have been trying to home test as much as possible but he is a squirmy little guy. Sometimes we poke and get no blood, sometimes the sample is too small. It has been frustrating to say the least. It has been a two person job, but I am getting more comfortable doing it solo, which is necessary since my husband and I have different schedules.
We know we need to be more diligent with testing. I finally set up my spreadsheet and I hate seeing those black boxes.
Just successfully tested solo. +6 // 225 today! Wondering if I still should have given him his half can snack.
Any thoughts on his spreadsheet?