Getting the hang of testing, spreadsheet.

Status
Not open for further replies.

StefO

Member Since 2017
Garth has been using Lantus for about 6 weeks now. For the first two weeks of his diagnosis, he was on 1u 2X a day.

He went for a curve at the vet on 6/12 and his dose was increased from 1U to 3U.

He was supposed to go in for a curve on 7/3 but it was a new vet, new hospital and the vet told me if his BG was in the 360s to up his dose to 4U. I only gave him that dose once, but after other members suggested his initial increase was a lot. We have maintained 3U, 2Xa day.

My husband and I have been trying to home test as much as possible but he is a squirmy little guy. Sometimes we poke and get no blood, sometimes the sample is too small. It has been frustrating to say the least. It has been a two person job, but I am getting more comfortable doing it solo, which is necessary since my husband and I have different schedules.

We know we need to be more diligent with testing. I finally set up my spreadsheet and I hate seeing those black boxes. :( His BG had been so high the past couple of times that we tested. I wasn't sure if I should reduce to 2U or increase to 4U or stay at 3.

Just successfully tested solo. +6 // 225 today! Wondering if I still should have given him his half can snack.

Any thoughts on his spreadsheet?
 
Hi Stef - Yes, please give the planned snack. An unregulated diabetic is always hungry. I hope a veteran will drop by with a dose suggestion for you. IMHO, you should restart with a more reasonable dose (lower) and keep that does consistent with data in your spreadsheet for 6-8 cycles (3-4 days at least). There is no need to subject Garth to the stress of having a curve done in vet's office. You can do this yourself (and record data in your spreadsheet) after the initial 3-4 days.

Please review the stickies re: how Lantus works this will help you understand what is being suggested to you in terms of dose and also spreadsheet data you are collecting. You may also wish to investigate a meter that can use a small blood sample (i.e. Relion Micro from Walmart). You are correct - more testing will be required so let's make it as easy as possible. There are lots of helpful suggestions (treats, rice sock etc).

Great job getting the spreadsheet going! Experts will need to know what meter you are using and understand what protocol you would like to follow in order to give the best advice. You can update this information in your signature when you have a chance. Garth is a cutie!

Link to your previous post.
 
Here is a link to your previous condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/garths-new-vet-bg-high-today.180286/#post-1996260 We ask that you link the last one each day so others can easily look back and see what has already been discussed.

Congratulations on getting a successful solo test! :) I know how difficult that can be at first. Also, thanks for setting up your spreadsheet. You will find it to be an invaluable tool for you and for anyone who is trying to help you.

Here is a post with some great tips to help make testing a bit easier. I personally recommend using the rice sock and ALWAYS giving a treat, even if you don't get a successful test. You want Garth to associate testing with something good.

Now that you are getting the hang of testing, I do want to stress the importance of the pre-shot test. I know you may think that it doesn't matter because Garth is always high, but you may be surprised one day by a number you weren't expecting. BGs can fluctuate wildly, especially in an unregulated cat. Getting that preshot test lets you know that it is safe to shoot, and it will also be a reference point when the insulin starts to take effect.

Here is a post we put together to help new members get comfortable with the Board. Remember to ask lots of questions! We love to help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top