Getting numbers settled pt2

  • Thread starter Thread starter TempestsMum
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
T

TempestsMum

ok so after a no shot this morning.. I'm really surprised.. Another no shot this evening? She's at 250 pmps... ?
 
Wow! How great this number.
Well can you do some testing tonight? Because if Tempest were mine I would want her to go lower because 250 is good but not the best numbers we would like to see. So if you can test I would go for a reduction, are you confortable with 0.10?
 
My syringes can't do a 0.10... :( I will have to order u100s for that?

Edited I could guess a half 0.25 probably
 
Nice number. You might do a few drops. Pull up 0.25 and let out a drop or two? Then shoot what is left. I would plan to monitor before bed - are you caught up on your sleep?
 
And yes you need the U100 syringes to give the micro dosis, but you ordered those right? So you can use them pretty soon. For now, for a 0.10U suck up to between 0 and 0.50 (should be 0.25 like you are already giving Tempest) and then let 2 big drops out of the syringe. That will be an eyeball game but you will be close to 0.10U. Then test of course Tempest tonight to make sure she isnt dropping too low.
 
Yes. Well do you have 0 - 0.5 messurements on the syringe?

No I'm going to go order the u100s tonight and hope they arrive Monday.

Nice number. You might do a few drops. Pull up 0.25 and let out a drop or two? Then shoot what is left. I would plan to monitor before bed - are you caught up on your sleep?

I can do that Sue :). Yes can test before bed +3 and if necessary set an alarm for +5 or 6.

No unfortunately it will take me several months without any disturbed sleep to catch up on what I've lost so far. Unless I stopped work and did nothing for a few weeks. Like literally stayed in bed. Such is the nature of the beast.

Ok off to give her a few drops whee! :joyful:
 
Those reductions feel great right? And they even feel better when you've got those U100 syringes so you can really 'see' those micro dosis hihi:rolleyes::joyful:
 
I can't tell, see the picture I made off my box of syringes. See the measurements on it, is it the same as what you send via the url?
image.jpeg
 
I can't tell :( I think Alexi mentioned some for finer doses let me check the other thread.
 
You are such a bargain chaser, just like me, haha I love it! :joyful: Yes those are the same, so I would also buy them from Amazon!
 
Haha well whatever, you get it cheaper, and that always a nice thing right ;) but those are the correct ones Alexi gave you! Those I also have and they work perfectly. Now if you receive them please come to your thread and ask about the change you need to make because the measurements need to be changed. 0.10 is not 0.10 on a U100 syringe. So everytime you give a dose you need to grab the convert table (which is available on this forum, I will grab the link for you asap) and convert that dose.
 
Haha well whatever, you get it cheaper, and that always a nice thing right ;) but those are the correct ones Alexi gave you! Those I also have and they work perfectly. Now if you receive them please come to your thread and ask about the change you need to make because the measurements need to be changed. 0.10 is not 0.10 on a U100 syringe. So everytime you give a dose you need to grab the convert table (which is available on this forum, I will grab the link for you asap) and convert that dose.

Just ordered but can take a few days longer to get here.. Will just have to eyeball for now and be patient. :) I'm shocked I totally expected her to be pink tonight.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions-printer.htm
Here is de convert sheet, so you can use that one if you receive those syringes.
So if you are still giving 0.10 on the U40 syringe, you need to change that to 0.25 on the U100 syringe.

Wow i'm shocked too! Mostly kitties will bounce from a skipped shot but Tempest has kept herself really nice! :joyful:

I've got a question, did Tempest get any steroĂŻds in the past?
And is she overweight or is she just a normal kitty?
 
Thank you. That's very helpful to have.

Tempest has been to the vets a total of 3 times in her 15 years of life.
Once to be spayed. Once when she got concussed as a kitten (don't ask, my fault entirely) and a year/2 years ago when I her coat was bad but couldn't find any reason for it.

Then blood tests and this. That's it. Other than worming and flea treatments.

She was always a bit podgy.. Lol but I put her on an indoor cat food to get some weight off her, I wonder if that had something to do with it and her mate dying just before new year.
 
Did she got anything for it? Pills or any type of injection?

Aww sad that she lost her buddy:(

Nope. Nothing. They thought it was lice/walking dandruff (there was a stray Tom that got into my house through an open window a couple of times and faced off with her) but they couldn't find any under the microscope so ruled everything out an and changed food.
 
Tara, really excellent job!
Tempest is giving you good numbers on such a low dose, this is seriously amazing!
See what happens tomorrow.
Hugs:):):cat::cat:
 
Tara, really excellent job!
Tempest is giving you good numbers on such a low dose, this is seriously amazing!
See what happens tomorrow.
Hugs:):):cat::cat:

Thank you. :bighug: Nothing to do with me though! It's all down to her and you all :bighug::bighug: helping me. I'm trying not to get to excited after all it's only been 8 days. But it's been exciting the last couple of cycles. More than I expected :cat:
 
Well don't say that you had nothing to do with it, seriously... would you even begin to picture Tempest doing all those tests and dosing on her own? I don't think so Tara! hahaha. You and Tempest are a great team.

Why I asked about the steroids is because sometimes kitties get pills or shots at the vets and that can cause (in combination with bad food and being overweight) diabetes... In your case that isn't the story I see. But I'm just wondering how this all turned around for you and Tempest in 8 days.
Well you changed the food ofcourse to LC so maybe, and i'm saying maybe, since you're reducing her dose there is a change you can get her off the juice and get her diabetes diet controlled.
Most kitties who come here don't book such results as you've gotten in 8 days! So I'm your biggest cheerleader right now! haha watching that SS and that dose like a hawk! Need to see this happen with my own eyes:woot:
 
Well don't say that you had nothing to do with it, seriously... would you even begin to picture Tempest doing all those tests and dosing on her own? I don't think so Tara! hahaha. You and Tempest are a great team.

Why I asked about the steroids is because sometimes kitties get pills or shots at the vets and that can cause (in combination with bad food and being overweight) diabetes... In your case that isn't the story I see. But I'm just wondering how this all turned around for you and Tempest in 8 days.
Well you changed the food ofcourse to LC so maybe, and i'm saying maybe, since you're reducing her dose there is a change you can get her off the juice and get her diabetes diet controlled.
Most kitties who come here don't book such results as you've gotten in 8 days! So I'm your biggest cheerleader right now! haha watching that SS and that dose like a hawk! Need to see this happen with my own eyes:woot:

Lol no I can't say she would volunteer for the tests haha..:)

Yeah it's the same for horses too steroids can cause a lot of problems for them and give them laminitis which is a horrible disease, normally caused by being obese and It's again to do with sugar.

I pray every night for remission, for her. if she does get it quickly then it really would be a miracle. I'm not sure it's possible to get it this quickly so while I'm really happy with things right now I'm cautious too as don't want to be disappointed.
Lol that's made me smile 'most kitties who come here don't book such results as you've gotten in 8 days!' I kept looking at people's ss and thinking I was miles behind them and wondered how they'd gotten results so quickly while Tempest was bouncing around like a squash ball. :cat:
 
Aww Tara, really what you and Tempest did in 8 days is amazing.
Well don't get your hopes up to much because you'll never know untill remission knocks on Tempest's door....
But I will say, it ca nhappen within days or weeks. On the Dutch forum we've got a kitty that was in 2 days in remission... (with prozinc) that's really amazing but that are cases that you don't see often. Baco was in remission within 2 months. Other kitties take longer than that or even years.....or never.
So you can never say it when you start the threatment what the outcome will be, but sometimes (in Baco's case) you can say that the change is bigger because of her diabetes that was induced by steroid shots.
 
Aww Tara, really what you and Tempest did in 8 days is amazing.
Well don't get your hopes up to much because you'll never know untill remission knocks on Tempest's door....
But I will say, it ca nhappen within days or weeks. On the Dutch forum we've got a kitty that was in 2 days in remission... (with prozinc) that's really amazing but that are cases that you don't see often. Baco was in remission within 2 months. Other kitties take longer than that or even years.....or never.
So you can never say it when you start the threatment what the outcome will be, but sometimes (in Baco's case) you can say that the change is bigger because of her diabetes that was induced by steroid shots.

Thank you! :) It feels amazing the last few cycles and I've not been just so stressed about it because she hasn't dropped as fast as she has previously. I'm so so glad I got the bg meter.
I was thinking today in work.. What would Tempests outcome have been had I just shot the 1u as prescribed x2 and without checking.. Makes my blood run cold..

Wow 2 days! That's incredible! I wouldn't have thought that possible! :woot:
I understand that she may never reach remission but I have faith and I feel that she has a good chance to. Maybe Crunchie is looking over her.

2 months is amazing! You should be extremely proud of that! Long may it continue! :cat: He looks like he loves you so much in your profile picture! Bless him!
 
I was thinking today in work.. What would Tempests outcome have been had I just shot the 1u as prescribed x2 and without checking.. Makes my blood run cold..
And with that in mind, can you believe there are seriously people that don't test there kitties and just shoot 'blind'? I can't even......!

but I have faith and I feel that she has a good chance to. Maybe Crunchie is looking over her.
I have too (anti-jinx!) Was Crunchie her buddy that passed away?

2 months is amazing! You should be extremely proud of that! Long may it continue! :cat: He looks like he loves you so much in your profile picture! Bless him!
Yes 2 months of hard work, haven't got a lot off sleep (just like you) in those months because I was scared she dropped to quick at night and stuff like that. She is now OTJ for 3 months already, time flies!
Baco is a she (no worries, her name doesn't really sounds like a girly girl name although she is a real diva and acting like one, here name is the abbreviation for Bacardi and coke in the netherlands, and that was my favourite drink for a while so that's why) She does love me so much, I really believe that. My boyfriend finds 'us' really sickening because we are so close Baco and I, and Baco doesn't like my BF so when he's around she willl sit between us on the couch or she will lie in bed between us and she doesn't react to him when he calls her hahaha, can you imagine I've been with him for almost 4 years and still she doesn't want anything to do with him:rolleyes: haha.
 
Honestly no, I know it's not pleasant to test but I am hopeful it will get easier. Sometimes we have to just do it, we might not like it or want to do it but it's one of those things that just has to happen.

Yes Crunchie was my old ginger fellow.

Yes my fears too, it's always the night that worries me the most, especially as she swan dived so much at the beginning. Oops sorry she! Haha she truly is a diva! Your poor boyfriend he must feel very left out. :) She sounds (and looks) amazing! You should be a very proud mummy!
 
Yes you're so right, sometimes we just need to (test) although we don't want to but it's for the best.

Love to see a picture of Crunchie! If you have one of course?

Yes I love her more than anything in the world, i'm really a proud 'mummy' hihi :kiss:
Hahaha well my BF has a really strong bond with my other kitty Minnie. So he's happy being loved by him and I've got Baco.
Look at Minnie and my BF, see how Minnie loves him? Haha, that's what I call sickening ;)
 

Attachments

  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    37.8 KB · Views: 137
Super cute that pic of Crunchie!
Wow!!!! :woot::woot::woot:27 years old? How did he manage to get that old????? I hope my kitties will turn 27 also, that would be great! Did you give them some kind of special diet? Or it was just luck him getting so old? And he died because he was just old? Or was it something else?
 
Super cute that pic of Crunchie!
Wow!!!! :woot::woot::woot:27 years old? How did he manage to get that old????? I hope my kitties will turn 27 also, that would be great! Did you give them some kind of special diet? Or it was just luck him getting so old? And he died because he was just old? Or was it something else?

He just did lol genetics I guess.
I still find it difficult - like I wish there was something I could have done.
His back end went and he couldn't stand up any more. The vet said there was nothing they could do for him and put him down. He didn't want to go, I didn't want him to go...
 
Now that I'm here and I see kitties with neuropathy I wonder if that's what he had.. And if that's true, why didn't they give me the option to treat it. And if I were ever to find out that it was treatable.. I don't even want to think about that, but my heart hurts so bad every time I see it here and I'm left wondering, and I desperately want him back..
 
Oh Tara,, that made me tear up your last sentence:(.
I get it but he had such a great 27 years, more than the average kitty! And it's not fair to him to keep him here, suffering and that he couldn't walk... But everything aside, it's never easy to let them go! The age, or condition that they are in, it always is hard!
I lost my kitty Sam (the brother of Minnie) when he was only 8 years old, what is already 4 years ago, to a condition that's called FIP.
He wouldn't eat and drink anymore, also everything what went in, would come out.. After 1 day being sick (and went to the vet) he collapsed and couldn't walk with his behind legs anymore. All this went down in 5 days, (everyday going to the vets for check ups) but the last day he couldn't anymore... So I made the decision to pts at the vets. The saddest but also most beautiful moment was when I had him in my arms, holding him and saying goodbye to him (I would normally tell all my kitties at bed time 'are we going to sleep?' And then they will all meow.) so I said to Sam (holding my tears in) 'are we going to sleep?' And then he finally looked up, because he was not responding those 5 days of being so sick, and he looked me right in the eyes and meowed at me and after that he went to sleep.... It was just like he said ' it's okay mummy, it's time'
As i'm writing this tears come again... I loved but also hated that moment sooo much. It doesn't get easier, it still hurts so I know the feeling... :(
 
Last edited:
This was my beautiful boy Sam. Still miss him everyday

View attachment 22720

He looks very like the kitten that was with Tempest when I went to choose her. He's gorgeous. I understand how hard that was. I lost one of my dogs a few years back to heart failure - she was 5 and a half.

All my animals tell me when it's their time. Crunchie was not senile, he was great in every way, but his back legs wouldn't work. When it happened I chose to wait to see if he would be OK, in case he had just landed wrong jumping down from his chair. When he wanted to toilet he would meow if he wanted water or food he would meow and let me know,And I would take him to the tray or bring him food. He was not in pain or discomfort. This happened in the early morning hours of the Saturday night about 5am. Momday morning I rang the vet. We spent the day cuddling But if it was something treatable they should have been treating him. He was really annoyed at the nurse at time - she must have put the catheter in.

So upset right now. Sorry. Right time to test, it's a little early by 5 or 10 mins but I need to do something.
 
We both are upset,, but you know it's good to talk about it with eachother Tara:bighug:
Curious to know Tempest's numbers!
 
We both are upset,, but you know it's good to talk about it with eachother Tara:bighug:
Curious to know Tempest's numbers!

Yes I'm still coming to terms with it. Just wish I'd got a second opinion, but I didn't, I just took their word for it.

Anyway, we are surfing again (my strips are a couple of points above the at strips so she probably is blue) +3 211 :) I'm going to skip the rest of the testing until her amps one and give her a wee break for being such a good girl.
 
I'm happy to see Tempest doing well!

Thank you! I'm delighted. :) Hope she keeps this up.


Amps is 248 wish my u100s were here will give the same dose as last night and eyeball half of 0.25u
 
Well, this morning didn't go quite to plan.. Not sure if the insulin went in. :( hope this doesn't mess things up for her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top