getting Fidgets BG numbers stable/cont./PT.2

Did you see my screenshot about the range on the labs?


yes i did take a glance at it and im just looking at my kittys labwork and comparing it and from what i see alot of it looks quite in ''range'' and whatever isnt is quite normal to hear/see in a diabetic ill add the ranges to my labs so that there a refrence

the bloodwork they sent on fidget also has ranges in them
 
It’s not unusual for a few of the labs to be off a bit when they’re first diagnosed. It’s good to have a baseline of bloodwork for later comparison.
 
Which shot yesterday was the fur shot or suspected fur shot? She was coming down into yellow yesterday and last night she was on a trajectory to go lower. Whenever you see that, it’s time to make sure you get an evening test.

If you have a furshot, put FS on your spreadsheet in the units cell — it helps with interpreting the spreadsheet numbers. If it’s a possible fur shot and you are unsure if any insulin got in, but perhaps some did — then put PFS in the units cell.

also back on this reply....im already getting pretty low again on my test strips. so ill need to keep testing super minimal till the 4-5th of july as then i can order more on amazon. still might take a few weeks for DCIN to process my case file(for the BG meter and test strips).
 
ahhhhhhhh okay im on pc! all i did was drag my file from downloads into the type bar and it just copys over! thats awsome! (this was her blood panel btw)
 

Attachments

It’s not unusual for a few of the labs to be off a bit when they’re first diagnosed. It’s good to have a baseline of bloodwork for later comparison.

good to know! probably might be a bit before i can afford a new lab test.

so i think im going to buy a new (human meter) because mostly of the cost of the strips and also i'm seeing fidgets numbers ''coast back up again''(or is staying flat). when and if i do...do i start a whole new sheet? or can i skip a few cells put in the notes about the new meter and keep my spreadsheet?

i mean if her numbers are going up then should i also think it might be time to consider 1.50U in a few days?
 
It’s not unusual for a few of the labs to be off a bit when they’re first diagnosed. It’s good to have a baseline of bloodwork for later comparison.


hey! not sure if your online but i got my first 135 at nighttime..? in a situation like that should i just stay my dose or decrease? kinda worried she'll go hypo in my sleep..? should i refer to this reply you made awhile back?

Well so far you have shot 1 unit when she was at 160 so we can feel confident in that. If she goes into green numbers I would probably only shoot half a unit (.5) at this point. If it’s closer to 50 though, we would skip the shot. If it’s closer to 100 then shoot .5 units. This is just guidance for now, while we gather data. Shooting a lower number always is predicated upon your ability to monitor the cycle and intervene if necessary. If you were going to be away from home then I am sure I would not advise shooting a green at this point. Hopefully she will not present us with this problem.

When in doubt, you can stall for 30 minutes (or longer) and do NOT give food. Then retest the BG to see if she’s rising on her own without the influence of food. If she is, then you have more confidence in shooting. Also remember that she then has some more time to rise before the insulin onsets and starts to lower BG — and she also will then have food to help stabilize numbers.
 
Hi. I wasn’t online as it was one a.m. I am just now getting on! You did great and, looking at how she went pink - it looks like she would have beef fine with the full dose. But it was nighttime and if you were not able to monitor the cycle until at least +4 then it was better to be cautious.
 
Hi. I wasn’t online as it was one a.m. I am just now getting on! You did great and, looking at how she went pink - it looks like she would have beef fine with the full dose. But it was nighttime and if you were not able to monitor the cycle until at least +4 then it was better to be cautious.


yeah! i was expecting a yellow or higher haha but if that happens again ill know to just give her the full dose. just kept thinking she goes low at nighttime but didn't want it too low.

with the efforts being made here i was just on the brink of bumping her to 1.50U tomorrow try and see if i can catch a green...or is that a bad idea..? i see that 0.25 helped but she's only ever in the blue and i can see in the past few days her numbers have been rather ''flat''
 
She’s been on this dose for over a week now. I think she is due for an increase to 1.5 units. It would be good if we can get her numbers down a little more. If you want to wait another cycle or two, that would be okay.
 
yeah! i was expecting a yellow or higher haha but if that happens again ill know to just give her the full dose. just kept thinking she goes low at nighttime but didn't want it too low.

with the efforts being made here i was just on the brink of bumping her to 1.50U tomorrow try and see if i can catch a green...or is that a bad idea..? i see that 0.25 helped but she's only ever in the blue and i can see in the past few days her numbers have been rather ''flat''
Psyche! You were typing this and I was typing about how I think we can do a little bit better with an increase!
 
She’s been on this dose for over a week now. I think she is due for an increase to 1.5 units. It would be good if we can get her numbers down a little more. If you want to wait another cycle or two, that would be okay.


awesome! haha great minds think alike!

I will give her the 1.25U tonight and then in the morning ill give her the 1.50U so that i can keep and eye on her the entire day.
and it seems like i may have also learned from experience now that going forward i wont rely on AMPS or PMPS for ''dose change's'' since after that low PMPS yesterday shot up at +2 so at least i can expect that after she eats she's not continuing to drop
 
Good. Although if she jas a super low preshot that was unprecedented we would have to consider a lower dose.


ahhh so i got got a +3 in..... and i think i wont be increasing her dose quite yet.....i just caught my first true green!(i assume i will not stay this low for every shot) but idk if this means i stay my dose of 1.25U or decrease to 1.0U or less in the morning.. The ''PZI dose'' page is conflicting a tiny bit... i will try to fight awake and get a plus +4 in too (hopefully she wont drop too low if she does i have some high carb FF on standby)
 
Last edited:
Yes. This is awesome. I am very glad to see those greens. I had a feeling it might happen last night. I was thinking that we would know more in the morning. Good job catching those greens last night! I’m so happy you were up and testing her.
We hold the dose now! :D
 
Yes. This is awesome. I am very glad to see those greens. I had a feeling it might happen last night. I was thinking that we would know more in the morning. Good job catching those greens last night! I’m so happy you were up and testing her.
We hold the dose now! :D


yeah i was not expecting anything lower then blue range haha

and copy that! i will hold the 1.25U :)
 
Yikes. I was kind of expecting that red this morning, but it sure pops out at me on her spreadsheet!


that was my same reaction... i was expecting high just not that high... and this is where is gets tricky because it numbers like this that makes me think if i give her 1.25 she will stay flat all day sooooo i kinda wonder if mayyybe 1.50U in the day and 1.25U in the nightime? is that refered to the sliding scale doseing?
 
I would not make any changes yet - especially based on today’s high preshot. I would just wait and see. We need to see what she will continue to do on this dose now that she seems to be making progress toward regulation.
 
It’s midnight here and I am going to bed. I was just checking in on Fidget to see if she came down from her pink. I will check again in the morning. Keep up the good work of testing her tonight!
 
I would not make any changes yet - especially based on today’s high preshot. I would just wait and see. We need to see what she will continue to do on this dose now that she seems to be making progress toward regulation.

no problem! i will try to gather more data at this dose.

It’s midnight here and I am going to bed. I was just checking in on Fidget to see if she came down from her pink. I will check again in the morning. Keep up the good work of testing her tonight!


Sounds good! i will get some tests in tonight and well see how its looking in the morning here!
 
It’s midnight here and I am going to bed. I was just checking in on Fidget to see if she came down from her pink. I will check again in the morning. Keep up the good work of testing her tonight!


hey! so looks like things are right on track-ish! caught another green. also is there a number (too low) i should worry about with her? like i assume anything ''3.3/40 or less'' is ''danger''?

and evening was a poopshoot and that's my fault. (she seems aright so far)
 
Last edited:
Hi there. I lost you guys! I’m checking in. I’m glad you increased to 1.5 units. I will say that it makes me nervous to see a low blue PMPS (137) though, and no evening cycle tests — because we have no history to support shooting 1.5 units with a preshot of 137 :nailbiting:
 
Hi there. I lost you guys! I’m checking in. I’m glad you increased to 1.5 units. I will say that it makes me nervous to see a low blue PMPS (137) though, and no evening cycle tests — because we have no history to support shooting 1.5 units with a preshot of 137 :nailbiting:


hey! good hearing from you again,

yeah I didnt bother testing her because I just assumed it was going to be like all the other tests and stay flat at 10.0-ish+(in blue and yellow) I can try to get some more tests in midcycle if thats the concern here. but it just seemed like everytime I was close to ''promising'' numbers it never comes back
 
Hi there. I lost you guys! I’m checking in. I’m glad you increased to 1.5 units. I will say that it makes me nervous to see a low blue PMPS (137) though, and no evening cycle tests — because we have no history to support shooting 1.5 units with a preshot of 137 :nailbiting:
post note: I caught a big low(under 90) so i might be bumping back to 1.25U
 
Yes. With the Start Low Go Slow protocol you would reduce to 1.25. The numbers today were safe and good numbers (above 50 on a human meter), but your schedule doesn’t always allow you to get mid cycle tests so you would not follow the Modified ProZinc Method (where you would reduce if there was a drop below 50.)
 
Back
Top