????Getting concerned AMPS 574 +3 344 +5 119 ????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tuxedo Mom

Member Since 2014
I posted earlier this morning:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-advise-big-bouncing-pm-7-241-amps-574.135563/


Since then Tuxie's numbers have dropped again. That is a heck of a drop in only 5 hours!!! I retested twice on the +5 number and it came up the same. Also keeping in mind that I am using AT2 meter his +5 is about 77 on a human meter, which would put it in the greens.

His nadir is usually between 5-8 hours so he could even go lower. I gave him 1/4 c of regular food and will continue monitoring him but is this not unusual?? That is one BIG swing in numbers>
 
That is a pretty big drop, but it's actually not too terribly unusual...we have quite a few expert cliff-divers here :rolleyes:!! You're doing a great job keeping an eye on things...hopefully he'll level off and surf - and not bounce!!
 
Thanks for the reply..this scared me to see such a big drop. I'm glad to hear that it is not totally unusual.

Luckily I am home all day so I can keep checking his numbers. Unfortunately I am sure this will give him a huge increase later though :(
 
Thanks Amy but knowing my Tuxie I am sure he will..he really likes to keep me on my toes the little bugger :)
 
+6 358...50 minutes after eating 1/4c regular food. Bounce + food bounce??? If I hadn't have tested his +5 several times I would think it was just a wonky number.
 
Did you retest that +6, too? Maybe that's the wonky number in the equation. It could be a bounce, but that is a really quick one if it is!!
 
Did you retest that +6, too? Maybe that's the wonky number in the equation. It could be a bounce, but that is a really quick one if it is!!

I just did another one +6.5 398 so still in the same range. I have NO idea what Tuxie thinks he is doing!! The food he got was the same homemade food he has been eating for 8 years and from the same batch he has been getting the last 10 days???? And there is no other food he could have gotten into.
 
I was looking at his chart earlier....
I noticed those blues really bounce him up into the blacks.... and quickly.
his body really doesn't like those blues right now.

Come on Tuxie, you've got to learn to love the blues.....


Tuxie doesn't do anything by the book!!

I wonder if I should cut his dose back .25 or even .5 units to see if that helps the bouncing slow down or at least not be such a big bounce??? If he could get a nice flat reading even at higher numbers then I could raise the dose slowly again?? Just a thought...???
 
I don't know.
I'm going to flag someone to give input when they can.
there's the too much insulin that can make numbers high ( i don't think that's happening) and then if you back off, he might build up some insulin
resistance.
My gut says to hold the dose..... and let his body adjust and keep getting those blues..... and at most, fatten the dose.....


let me flag someone....or two....
 
I don't know.
I'm going to flag someone to give input when they can.
there's the too much insulin that can make numbers high ( i don't think that's happening) and then if you back off, he might build up some insulin
resistance.
My gut says to hold the dose..... and let his body adjust and keep getting those blues..... and at most, fatten the dose.....


let me flag someone....or two....

Thanks for the help...since Tuxie has decided to do his own thing his own way I am at a loss for which way to go?
 
Being a newbie, I can't offer anything, other than hoping for things to settle down. I am impressed and delighted at how everyone pulls together to help on this forum.
 
Being a newbie, I can't offer anything, other than hoping for things to settle down. I am impressed and delighted at how everyone pulls together to help on this forum.

Thanks Lori. I too am so impressed with this forum. I don't think I would have made it this far with Tuxie's treatment course if not for the information I have learned here>
 
Tuxie's +8 reading is 457 so he is still heading up. What a crazy time today!! Every colour except green and yellow all within a few hours of each other!!Any thoughts what I should do with his PM shot??? Or should I just throw a dice and see what comes up??? :)
 
You've got 11 cycles at 5.0u and it's consistently getting him into blue numbers. I would increase the dose by 0.25u to try to move him down a little farther. What works to reduce bouncing is to get them to spend more time in normal numbers. Reducing the dose does reduce bouncing but it does so by letting them stay in high numbers. Your goal with tight regulation is to get him completely into normal numbers. He's making progress.
 
You've got 11 cycles at 5.0u and it's consistently getting him into blue numbers. I would increase the dose by 0.25u to try to move him down a little farther. What works to reduce bouncing is to get them to spend more time in normal numbers. Reducing the dose does reduce bouncing but it does so by letting them stay in high numbers. Your goal with tight regulation is to get him completely into normal numbers. He's making progress.


The reasoning makes sense. But I would really like to avoid the huge swings in numbers..that HAS to be hard on his little body. But I will start him on 5.25 units tomorrow morning. I am too tired to be able to stay up real late to track his PM numbers, but I am home all day again tomorrow.
 
Last edited:
You've got 11 cycles at 5.0u and it's consistently getting him into blue numbers. I would increase the dose by 0.25u to try to move him down a little farther. What works to reduce bouncing is to get them to spend more time in normal numbers. Reducing the dose does reduce bouncing but it does so by letting them stay in high numbers. Your goal with tight regulation is to get him completely into normal numbers. He's making progress.
Rhiannon asked me to stop by, but I see Julie has already been here. She summed things up perfectly! I'd definitely take the dose up to 5.25 unit. It may not look like much to you, but I'm also seeing real progress being made here. Look how much faster Tuxie is clearing bounces lately! :D
 
Rhiannon asked me to stop by, but I see Julie has already been here. She summed things up perfectly! I'd definitely take the dose up to 5.25 unit. It may not look like much to you, but I'm also seeing real progress being made here. Look how much faster Tuxie is clearing bounces lately! :D

Thanks for checking in. Today Tuxie sure has me on a rollercoaster ride. He started high then went low then went high again all in such a short space of time. My head was just spinning!! So unless I get some more REALLY wonky numbers today I will do the .25 unit increase in the morning. Gingers crossed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top