Getting Cassie back on track

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

Is he showing any signs of hypo? eyes dilated? groggy? Try and keep him eating .... do you have any canned food that has gravy? you could pour the gravy over the dry. This SHOULD be our lowest point but we don't know his nadir.

Lisa what was the time of his second shot? the 1u. When we get past this .... you are going to want to shoot him 12 hrs. from that time and I wouldn't go any higher than 1u and if he wasn't post-DKA I would go lower.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

No symptoms, just numbers. Still eating.

+6.25 49

First I didn't get enough blood, then I had a geyser. :smile:

The 1 u was at 1:15
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

I know that happens sometimes and you think .... all that blood wasted! What time was the second shot?
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

Sorry I must not be able to read ..... you understand this is a tightrope right now. He needs enough insulin to keep the DKA away but we need to make sure he doesn't keep crashing. 15 min. please.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

I think I knew that.

+6.75 50

At least he's not dropping. & he's eating (not bad for a boy who needed an appetite stimulant).
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

The last # was +7? I need to leave in a half hour, Kim is around and I will be back in two hours.

What you need to think about is how to get back on track once we are past this .... you go to school, right. So your best shot times morning/evening? We need to figure how to get you back. in 15 please and yes, you knew I was going to say that :)
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

Keep testing. He's still very low. Dry food mixed with karo syrup or honey if he drops any more, or canned food gravy if you have it.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

+7 45

Looks like Cassie's gonna be a weirdo was a late nadir.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

Still watch him, but he has leveled out.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

Unfortunately, a late nadir means he can keep going down, although it does look as if he's stabilizing.

Lisa, you need to set up a SS because the dance with this one is going to be complicated! I have one of those and I also keep a ledger with all her #'s and everything about her. It helps to have everything in one place!

You know what to do .... if he goes any lower, rub honey on his gums, it will make him go higher .... but for a short time, you still need to test every 15 until you get two rising numbers. I need to think about his shot schedule now.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

+7.25 48

Actually, I teach, but same principal. Morning/evening is best, complicated by a night class.

I was planning to start a spreadsheet this week; only internet right now is my phone. I didn't expect so.much fun this fast.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

Hence bookworm :)
I will be back in 2 hours Kim is around .... you know what to do, every 15 min. until you get 2 rising #'s.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

+7.5 47

He's definitely leveled out, and we're both.getting tired of testing.

By the way, in case I forget later, thank you! to everyone who's been helping, especially Kim & Nancy.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

+ 7.75 53

Does this count as as rising? It's not substantially higher.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

Normal meter variation is +/- 20% so numerically not really any change. Will you be able to get internet access at home? This cat of yours will be a challenge, I think.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

+8 44. darn.

Apparently he nadirs at 6 & plateaus fora couple hours.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

He should start coming up soon---+8 is about the latest nadir you will see on Prozinc.

Assuming no insulin got in on the furshot today--and I don't think it did or you would have seen some drop as insulin sensitive as he is--I am thankful you furshot. It would have been way too much.

When he starts rising tonight, I would expect a quick and rapid rise.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

+8.25 46

So, do I go with 1 u or .5? Can't really do other subdivisions with u-40 needles I have.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

+8.5 52.

This is getting absurd. Isn't it supposed to change?
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

Don't shoot anything now! You know that....right?

You should not shoot any number lower than 200---just keep checking him. It appears he has leveled off, but he has a lot of rising to do before you can consider what to shoot.

You have 4 more hours before we will know what to shoot.

I use U40s--you can shoot 1/2 units--you just eyeball it the best you can.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

Okay 3 1/2 hours now before we can consider your next dose!
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

"Normally" after a cycle of low numbers like you are seeing, the next cycle the cat will either have a high flat cyle or the cat will be very insulin sensitive. You have had to feed a lot this cycle of high carb dry food to keep his numbers from dropping lower than the 40s---I realize it is the first week post DKA, but I just don't think I would shoot 1 unit again next cycle.

I am not a dosing expert or one of the more experienced people that post here, so I hate for you to go on my advice---but, I would be scared of the 1 unit. We have no way of knowing, but I don't think this cycle of lows is a result of "more" insulin getting in then we thought on the furshot. If that was the case, I would have expected you to see some drop during those 6 hours after the shot---you saw none..it was flat. I think this cycle the 1 unit stands alone. But, we don't know for sure!

Didn't you say he crashed at the vet on 1 unit twice?
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

I do know not to shoot. ;-)

The vet did say to give him .5 u even if he doesn't, which I found odd. I guess it's the KDA; you worry more about missing.

+8.75 61 (finally, I hope; marginally signifigant).
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

I assumed you knew not to shoot.....the question just caught me off guard!!! I felt crazy asking, but I had rather sound foolish than assume wrongly!

He is rising, that is good!

Okay, we will wait and see where he goes. He might be at 150 at preshot or 400---it is so hard to predict.

So, the vet said shoot .5? But, he shoots 1.0? Is that correct? Was the .5 recommendation prior to DKA or after it?
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

His original dose was 1 u sid. He was on it for about a week. I think they switched to bid when he went in for DKA. I know he crashed twice, possibly 3 times. It's all complicated by the fact that he wasn't eating and was force fed 4-5 days so everything was off. He's not transitioned to low carb food yet either.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

The last dose instructioms were 1.5 bid, & if he didn't eat, don't skip, give .5.

(oh, looks like I left "eat" out of that sentence. Sorry!)
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

Wish I could have caught you on the sid---My cat, Kitty, was on sid for 3 weeks before crashing into DKA. The group here tried to tell me to shoot bid---BUT, I listened to the vet instead.......

Once you get Cassie off of the dry food---you really might have a kitty that can go OTJ. With the insulin response to 1 Unit that you got today and eating dry high carb food a diet change might be all you need to go into remission. We will see when we cross that bridge!
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

+9 75 {whew!)

Can I stop poking him for a bit? He's being a good sport, but still.

That first week I wasn't testing since they said I needed a fancy meter. I was doing a lot of reading though, & was going to ask again. DKA hit a few days before his appointment.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

Yes, quit poking him!

Can you test at +11.5--that will give some idea how high he will be at +12.

We need to worry more about the nadir than the preshot when deciding the next dose.

Good Job!

Whew from Me too!
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

+9.25 92

I'll check back later now that he's rising. Do we need anything before +12 @ 1:15?

+11.5 will be around 12:45. His plateau was 44-50 ish from +6 to +8.5.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

I know I am coming in late to this....
but Sue told me I am the poster child for fur shots...
and to remember my experience..
I thought for sure the sitter gave Shakes a fur shot
at +5 he was 370, I was going crazy know ing he was so high
but the next mronig he was 250 pre shot
always be care ful if you decide to shoot mid cycle


I know you dont need to hear this now but keep up with the testing

I see that you are kind of safe for now..
keep testing and hang in there
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

No, you are good....no more test until +12!
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

I am going to bed, but Nancy will be back and Wendy is on line!

Maybe some of the others will also get involved in your next dose.

I would reduce some off of the 1 Unit, but probably not all the way to .5. See what the others say---I am no dosing expert!

You did Great today! Good Luck tonight.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

I also need to get to bed, late here. I agree with Kim though. It appears that 1U is too much, plus your kitty will be very insulin sensitive after this episode. I'd suggest trying 0.75U if you can eyeball it.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

I'm back, sorry .... my feeling is to give him a token .25u at 1:00 .... then in the AM get back on schedule and shoot .50u and we'll see how he does.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

Lisa I will be here at 1:00 and we'll decide the dose when we know his PS# .... you have done really well today!
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

I've been working tonight, but have been following this thread all day, and glad that everything seems to be good now.
One thing you've learned is that Cassie can go into the 40's and still be okay, so that is useful knowledge.

I just have to say, though:

kse said:
I am on my phone, so it is hard to type and drive..

:lol: that's the funniest post of the day. And I read it while driving down the road while working! Hey, but at least I wasn't "Texting while driving"! Isn't it just incredible the lengths that folks here will go to help people when they need help? This place is so amazing!

Carl in SC
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

Lisa, he's going to be high because of the low.

Because he is so off schedule what would you think of giving him .25u at +12 .... then in the AM (what time do you need to give the shot during the week?) give him .50u? We can move his shots some tomorrow but let's get him back to AM, what do you think?
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

That's still loqer than he started at 18 hours ago.

I think .25 now seems reasonable. Eventually I'll need to check him at 6 or 6:30, but classes don't start until Wed. We have meetings Mon & Tues so my schedule is a little more flexible.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

Okay, why don't you give him the .25u now and then why don't we start his shot at 11:00AM and we can decide the dose then. But for this moment until we get some data, I wouldn't shoot 1u again .... when you get him on wet food, Kim's right he might go OTJ! (off insulin!) but don't change yet!

You did really well today teach! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

Wow, really facinating thread. I'd concur with the .25, not that you need my vote. I'd like to thank Nancy, Kim, Lisa,and everyone else that posted today (but most importantly Cassie) for the education.

Carl in SC
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

+12 356

We'll go with .25 u (as close as we can) now & will check @ +6 in the morning. Thanks all! Good night.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

Sorry, that is 11:00AM your time, which would be +10 right? He nadirs late it seems. You have until Wed. to get him down to 6AM, right? I'll be on in the AM and remember he will be high but we need to go slow because these lows are not good.

Go to sleep we'll talk at 11:00 AM (your time EST) I need to get up and give my Payne her shot so I'll stay up and we'll work it out with fresh minds. Good night.
 
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

+6 334

(this is from the .25)

Yes, 11 am is +10, he should be rising then.
Time for a nap, now.
 

Attachments

  • 081911194158-1.jpg
    081911194158-1.jpg
    12.1 KB · Views: 1,879
Re: Cassie, recovering DKA & furshot HELP

Good morning Lisa, I hope you got some sleep. :lol:

We are going to go slow this AM .... did you say we had until Wed. morning for him to be at 6AM first shot? How is he doing this morning?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top