George's Numbers 6/16

Status
Not open for further replies.

suwannee79

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=73170&p=794210#p794210 - link to original topic yesterday

Not off to a great start with George, because of low numbers yesterday (198 PMPS) we only gave .5 unit of PZI last night instead of his normal 2.5 dose and now +9 and 25 minutes PMPS he's at 583. Knew he'd be high after the low dose last night but didn't think he'd be this high!

We did start giving him an extra 1/2 can of food because he's lost so much weight but we started it yesterday afternoon and his numbers stayed low so I don't know if maybe all the food caught up in his system and pushed the numbers higher?

Carl, if you're on, any thoughts?
 
I can’t answer your dose question but I can say definitely from personal experience that the amount of food you feed can change the amount of insulin you will need. We try to be very careful and consistent with the amount of food we feed every day. Our vet put our cat on a diet to loose some weight and he now needs less insulin than before the diet.
 
To be expected, the insulin wore off and he was at least 10 hours or so without it. But please don't give 2.5 units or you will be back in the same place tonight. How about 1.5 (or 2, if you will be around to monitor and catch him tonight after +12 before he starts up). We want a lower dose than the one that caused the longer cycle but enough to get him into comfortable numbers today. Hope you can catch midcycle numbers again today. They really helped us see what was going on.

Carl is a late am sleeper but often on late in the PM.
 
Didn't expect it to be that high, but it's okay. We learned something. The next time you see a number close to 200, you could give a bit more than .5, for instance.
I don't think this is from an increase in food, providing it wasn't fed after his nadir. If you feed extra at shot time or in the first four hours, then you might see a higher number at nadir. But low Carb food isn't going to last long enough to give you a black number eight hours later.
I think two things happened. One, like Sue said, is the .5 just wasn't enough to last the whole cycle. And two, some of this is a bounce from being in the blue numbers for a long time yesterday.
I'd go with 2 or 2.25 and see how he likes that dose.
Carl
 
Not home but my husband just let me know that his AMPS was 470 so he came down, wasn't expecting that! My husband gave him 2 units, we'll monitor throughout the day and update. Thank you everyone for your help with my little guy :)
 
Nice to see a drop. If he hadn't eaten anything since the +9, the bg could come down simply because the food wasn't adding fuel to the fire.
Have a great day :-)
Carl
 
That's not a bad cycle considering where he started off. I think I'd stick with 2.0 for another cycle and see how it works.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top