CLM1975
Member Since 2020
Welp, George was initially diagnosed w diabetes Feb 15, 2020 and was regulated and in remission in just 2 weeks. Yay! Except last week we found out his diabetes is back. Not yay.
George is turning 17 this year. We first brought him in last February noticing our chonker had lost weight. When he was diagnosed, our regular vet (Dr M) was having surgery so there was a replacement (Dr P) covering. Dr P knew a lot about feline diabetes and had us put a Freestyle libre glucose monitor. Using that was huge in being able to get him into remission, having so much data was so incredibly helpful.
George is very sensitive and responsive to insulin. Not sure if this plays in, but in July he had a UTI and we discovered he was having kidney issues. Had to go to emergency 24 hr vet who was an hour away and thankfully working together we saved him. He's on epogen for anemia, a phosphate binder and subq fluids every 3 days. Kidney values are back to normal, yay! He was going to Dr J/ER vet every month for a bit and she would check his blood glucose and he was normal on Nov 12. That was Dr J's last visit as she was retiring so I figured we should go back to our regular vet in our town.
My old guy started really dropping weight again in December. From 13.8 lbs Nov 12 down to 10.9 lbs (so skinny ) on Jan 6 when I got him in to Dr M. Next day Dr M calls w test results, George's diabetes was back, his blood glucose was 457. (Don't know what meter used.) I still have his insulin in fridge and all the supplies, except test strips. Initially I had thought we'd put another Freestyle continuous glucose monitor on him, but Dr M wasn't comfortable with doing it as he had never done it before. Told me to start shooting 1 unit Vetsulin 2X a day. Dr M is into shooting blind, I'm not. (When I showed him my spreadsheet last Feb he was shocked and kind of didn't know how to respond.)
My super awesome pet sitter is the vet clinic mgr and found another vet in town to apply the Freestyle. After thinking about it more, decided instead to do ear pricks. Ordered test strips online and since I live at the end of the earth took a few days. George's glucose was so high, I decided to shot him with 1 unit as Dr M recommended and start testing as soon as strips arrived. Two days of shooting 1 unit 2x a day and I knew it was too much. Not having test strips, one night I gave him some corn syrup as I was fearful he was hypo he was unusually groggy.
I don't feel confident that Dr M knows enough about feline diabetes. Shooting George blind would have killed him last year and it would have killed him now. Someone posted about how thankful they are for this resource and I agree. I don't know how most people would know how important testing is.
Didn't shoot any insulin after that for 3 days until test strips arrived yesterday. Relion. Pre-shot reading last night was 210, 4+ was 88. This morning he was 159 so I decided not to shoot. Should I have shot .25?
How often should I be testing?
I'm feeding him Fancy Feast pate and Hills Urgent care, appetite is decent. His water consumption has reduced, as well as his enormous urine output. Water consumption is hard to know whether it's kidney related or diabetes. Of course would love to see him put some weight on.
I'm just not sure what I'm missing or should be doing. He still wants to go out on his harness in the yard, bullies his sister, cuddles and purrs with us in bed, he seems himself.
Like everyone here, I want him to have the best quality of life possible for his twilight years.
What else should I being doing to get him regulated?
George is turning 17 this year. We first brought him in last February noticing our chonker had lost weight. When he was diagnosed, our regular vet (Dr M) was having surgery so there was a replacement (Dr P) covering. Dr P knew a lot about feline diabetes and had us put a Freestyle libre glucose monitor. Using that was huge in being able to get him into remission, having so much data was so incredibly helpful.
George is very sensitive and responsive to insulin. Not sure if this plays in, but in July he had a UTI and we discovered he was having kidney issues. Had to go to emergency 24 hr vet who was an hour away and thankfully working together we saved him. He's on epogen for anemia, a phosphate binder and subq fluids every 3 days. Kidney values are back to normal, yay! He was going to Dr J/ER vet every month for a bit and she would check his blood glucose and he was normal on Nov 12. That was Dr J's last visit as she was retiring so I figured we should go back to our regular vet in our town.
My old guy started really dropping weight again in December. From 13.8 lbs Nov 12 down to 10.9 lbs (so skinny ) on Jan 6 when I got him in to Dr M. Next day Dr M calls w test results, George's diabetes was back, his blood glucose was 457. (Don't know what meter used.) I still have his insulin in fridge and all the supplies, except test strips. Initially I had thought we'd put another Freestyle continuous glucose monitor on him, but Dr M wasn't comfortable with doing it as he had never done it before. Told me to start shooting 1 unit Vetsulin 2X a day. Dr M is into shooting blind, I'm not. (When I showed him my spreadsheet last Feb he was shocked and kind of didn't know how to respond.)
My super awesome pet sitter is the vet clinic mgr and found another vet in town to apply the Freestyle. After thinking about it more, decided instead to do ear pricks. Ordered test strips online and since I live at the end of the earth took a few days. George's glucose was so high, I decided to shot him with 1 unit as Dr M recommended and start testing as soon as strips arrived. Two days of shooting 1 unit 2x a day and I knew it was too much. Not having test strips, one night I gave him some corn syrup as I was fearful he was hypo he was unusually groggy.
I don't feel confident that Dr M knows enough about feline diabetes. Shooting George blind would have killed him last year and it would have killed him now. Someone posted about how thankful they are for this resource and I agree. I don't know how most people would know how important testing is.
Didn't shoot any insulin after that for 3 days until test strips arrived yesterday. Relion. Pre-shot reading last night was 210, 4+ was 88. This morning he was 159 so I decided not to shoot. Should I have shot .25?
How often should I be testing?
I'm feeding him Fancy Feast pate and Hills Urgent care, appetite is decent. His water consumption has reduced, as well as his enormous urine output. Water consumption is hard to know whether it's kidney related or diabetes. Of course would love to see him put some weight on.
I'm just not sure what I'm missing or should be doing. He still wants to go out on his harness in the yard, bullies his sister, cuddles and purrs with us in bed, he seems himself.
Like everyone here, I want him to have the best quality of life possible for his twilight years.
What else should I being doing to get him regulated?
