? George April 18th 2026 Dosing Question - AMPS 161 - +3 146 - +10 145 - PMPS 232 - +2 180

borg the gorb

Member Since 2026
Hi yall, my name is Zach and this is George.
1000014279.jpg


He is 17 and was recently diagnosed with diabetes and has been on Lantus for about a week now, and while he seems to have stablized( with the help from multiple people on the forum), i do want to avoid a hypo episode. What mg/dL would be too dangerous to shoot him at, if he tested? I was informed it was 100 or lower but I was also informed to come to this part of the forum for lantus related advice. Thanks!
 
Hey Zach. I’ve been following along quietly with your posts and just wanted to say nice job so far and what a handsome man you have there.

While you wait for the others there are some general guidelines in this post if you haven’t seen them yet, towards the bottom.
Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

Edit: I see Elise responded. Great.
I apologise if this seems redundant of me, but what are the main differences between SLGS and TR other than just SLGS having a lower starting dose? Apologies again, I have difficulty understanding certain concepts
 
I just read your intro post. The diet change is likely having a big impact in a good way. It’s good you have some hc on hand.
 
I apologise if this seems redundant of me, but what are the main differences between SLGS and TR other than just SLGS having a lower starting dose? Apologies again, I have difficulty understanding certain concepts
No apologies for asking questions. It is how you will learn and keep your cat safe.

With SLGS you do not give insulin if the bg is under 100 and take a reduction in dose if the bg ever goes under 90. St the beginning even with TR you would not shoot if much under 200. Once you see how your cat responds to lantus with TR you inject if over 50.

Other differences with SLGS a dose is held for a week unless a reduction is earned. With TR you can increase every 3/5 days if needed and reduce if the bg is under 50. You would not be that aggressive at the beginning though. You are already seeing bg in the low 200’s which is good at the beginning. You try to keep the cat in s higher range, around 90- 150 at first.

With TR you need more tests. Lantus usually kicks in between +2-3. If you test them and the bg is much lower then presbot you will need more tests as the cycle might be active and the bg might continue to go down. If a lot higher you might just need one more test.

Those are just some of the differences.

The sticky at the top of this forum explains much better than I did. Read it and ask more questions you have.

Since you are feeding a low carb diet you can choose either one of course you can change at any time.
 
Keeping an eye on George, he is doing Awesome! Congratulations to both of you, my time with you Zach, has been a blessing, I am glad to have helped, it's been a personal journey, I am always here for you both! 🫶 You have done an amazing job!
 
Last edited:
Keeping an eye on George, he is doing Awesome! Congratulations to both of you, my time with you Zach, has been a blessing, I am glad to have helped, it's been a personal journey, I am always here for you both! 🫶 You have done an amazing job!
Thank you for everything, seriously. This has been a wild rollercoaster and I couldn't have done it without someone like you. Ill likely have more questions/try to be active on the forum eventually
 

Thank you for everything, seriously. This has been a wild rollercoaster and I couldn't have done it without someone like you. Ill likely have more questions/try to be active on the forum eventually
Always here for you I I don't follow the Lantus Forum, But I started when you got there, any time I’m here , thank you, but you did the Hardee’s job, by hiding bowls from MIL, to gaining confidence , it’s a breeze from now on. Good job Zach
 
George is looking really good! On this forum new day new post. Then link the previous post to the new one. It gets busy here so that way your posts will get more attention.
Then link the previous one for continuity. You might start to see some lower numbers so I encourage you to post each day. You don’t have to though.
 
George is looking really good! On this forum new day new post. Then link the previous post to the new one. It gets busy here so that way your posts will get more attention.
Then link the previous one for continuity. You might start to see some lower numbers so I encourage you to post each day. You don’t have to though.
Always here for you I I don't follow the Lantus Forum, But I started when you got there, any time I’m here , thank you, but you did the Hardee’s job, by hiding bowls from MIL, to gaining confidence , it’s a breeze from now on. Good job Zach
Sounds good, ill try and keep that in mind
 
Hi Zach,
I saw your other post about him being at 145. That's a nice safe number. Good job. Are you able to monitor tonight?

Also please delete the other post. Best way is post only one post per day. That was it's easier for members to see what's been going on.

You can add the 145 in your title as a + number. How many hours since PMPS has it been?
 
Hi Zach,
I saw your other post about him being at 145. That's a nice safe number. Good job. Are you able to monitor tonight?

Also please delete the other post. Best way is post only one post per day. That was it's easier for members to see what's been going on.

You can add the 145 in your title as a + number. How many hours since PMPS has it been?
Oh I must've misunderstood, I apologise. I dont know how to delete posts, I cant find the option

Also it has only been 1 hour since PMPS, in another hour ill be testing him
 
Oh I must've misunderstood, I apologise. I dont know how to delete posts, I cant find the option

Also it has only been 1 hour since PMPS, in another hour ill be testing him
Ok maybe only moderators can delete posts. Not sure.

Anyways can you modify your title and post
°today's date
° AMPS # and PMPS#
°you can add any other tests you've done throughout the day.
If you tested 1 hr after AMPS put +1#
 
You can also add his name in the title and your dosing question so it's easy for people to identify your kitty plus if you have a question it's nice to see it in the title.
He seems to be doing really well and responding great to Lantus after only a week or so. I can tag few senior members who could advise you on the dose.
Did you read all the stickies Tim and Elise posted here?

@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
 
You can also add his name in the title and your dosing question so it's easy for people to identify your kitty plus if you have a question it's nice to see it in the title.
He seems to be doing really well and responding great to Lantus after only a week or so. I can tag few senior members who could advise you on the dose.
Did you read all the stickies Tim and Elise posted here?

@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
I did read them, but i was a little confused about them until I read them again
 
I will checking out George’s SS daily, and I would love to know about the vet vitsit, remember, you are in control, good luck tomorrow
 
how was your vet visit? Is wonderful to see greens in George's SS so soon, you are doing a marvelous job keeping carbs out even with two digit BG's, you have it under control, I am very happy for the both of you, you have learned how George reacts to the insulin now, and is not so scary, right? if George keeps up these numbers, he's pancreas will begin to heal, and that is good news . 🫶
 
how was your vet visit? Is wonderful to see greens in George's SS so soon, you are doing a marvelous job keeping carbs out even with two digit BG's, you have it under control, I am very happy for the both of you, you have learned how George reacts to the insulin now, and is not so scary, right? if George keeps up these numbers, he's pancreas will begin to heal, and that is good news . 🫶
Vet visit went okay. Vet is satisfied with his BG but he does have an ear and tooth infection that need to get addressed. Hes on antibiotics and ear medicine, and im trying to figure out the funding for his tooth extraction 😥
 
I’m surprised that having an infection his BG looks this good, infection normally shows right away in high BG, have you seen George scratch his ear more than usual? Fever usually comes with an infection, did the vet take his temperature? Touch the tips of his ears do they seem hot? I found out thru the vet that this is a sign of fever, when he eats does he move his head sideways to chew, from where the vet said he needs extraction? there are Foundations that might be able to assist, like DCIN, Diabetic Cats in Need ,they might be able to help with the billing, you can find several foundations and how to contact them in our main menu under the Health Thread
 
Last edited:
I’m surprised that having an infection his BG looks this good, infection normally shows right away in high BG, have you seen George scratch his ear more than usual? Fever usually comes with an infection, did the vet take his temperature? Touch the tips of his ears do they seem hot? I found out thru the vet that this is a sign of fever, when he eats does he move his head sideways to chew, from where the vet said he needs extraction? there are Foundations that might be able to assist, like DCIN, Diabetic Cats in Need ,they might be able to help with the billing, you can find several foundations and how to contact them in our main menu under the Health Thread
He only scratches his ear when its touched

Temperature was 101.5°F, ill touch his ear tips when I get home to verify

When he eats he usually eats head facing down, he doesnt really seem to move his head to the side like you described. He does lift his head on occasion to lick his mouth clean or catch his breath

Ill look into those!
 
Check out the Foundations, they may be able to help financially, I know that DCIN can supply you with insulin and syringes and some medical bills, they help me, you need to qualify, is not hard. I’m surprised that the infection has gotten his BG in the high 200 or higher it usually does, you’ve done a great Kobe taking George to those green numbers, congrats
 
Check out the Foundations, they may be able to help financially, I know that DCIN can supply you with insulin and syringes and some medical bills, they help me, you need to qualify, is not hard
Is there any way it can be linked here? Me and my husband only make minimum wage and live with his mom, and i just hope they can help with the bills for his dental too
 
When Corky had an infection last year mid May that a gland burst from his tooshie, two days before his BG started to get higher and higher, the vet took X-rays, checked teeth, diagnosed it as a UTI, he was the one to tell me to touch the tip of his ears after he took his temperature before showing me there moments, they were really hot, he said that’s where you can tell if cats have temperature, then he showed me there momentos thermometer he had 100.5, he gave a shot of antibiotic and one for the fever, they were really next morning was when the gland burst, took him back cleaned it and send some liquid antibiotic by night time his BG started to go down, you can see it in his BG For last year mid May, but you know, all cats are different and act different to pain and illnesses, at the same time, members always ask when BG begins to raise for no reason, they always ask or tell to look for infection, and George’s BG does not reflect that at all, on the contrary he’s doing amazing in such a short time
 
When Corky had an infection last year mid May that a gland burst from his tooshie, two days before his BG started to get higher and higher, the vet took X-rays, checked teeth, diagnosed it as a UTI, he was the one to tell me to touch the tip of his ears after he took his temperature before showing me there moments, they were really hot, he said that’s where you can tell if cats have temperature, then he showed me there momentos thermometer he had 100.5, he gave a shot of antibiotic and one for the fever, they were really next morning was when the gland burst, took him back cleaned it and send some liquid antibiotic by night time his BG started to go down, you can see it in his BG For last year mid May, but you know, all cats are different and act different to pain and illnesses, at the same time, members always ask when BG begins to raise for no reason, they always ask or tell to look for infection, and George’s BG does not reflect that at all, on the contrary he’s doing amazing in such a short time
So the tooth infection is likely minor ? Because they said theres no swelling of his throat or tongue, just the infection site. I still want it dealt with asap before it gets out of hand. Hes on antibiotics right now so im hoping that can mitigate it
 
So the tooth infection is likely minor ? Because they said theres no swelling of his throat or tongue, just the infection site. I still want it dealt with asap before it gets out of hand. Hes on antibiotics right now so im hoping that can mitigate it
no, I did not say that is minor, in a diabetic cat just like a human, any infection can become a serious matter, what I was saying is that the fact that George's glucose level being in the blues and greens, is what I find strange, normally when there is an infection, the glucose levels ,if there is anything wrong, the Glucose levels are the first to give the sign, George's numbers would be like when he started insulin, in the high blues to yellows, because if he has had mid-low blues and greens since 4/19, I personally find it strange that having an infection it has not reflected in George's BG. Cats are very good at hiding their illnesses and infections, the good thing about us diabetic parents needing to test our cats, is that we can tell right away by the daily pattern of their glucose level, that if it changes drastically if here is an infection, High Ketones, UTI, Teeth infections etc.. we can tell by the BG begin to raise unexpectedly, is like an alarm.
 
no, I did not say that is minor, in a diabetic cat just like a human, any infection can become a serious matter, what I was saying is that the fact that George's glucose level being in the blues and greens, is what I find strange, normally when there is an infection, the glucose levels ,if there is anything wrong, the Glucose levels are the first to give the sign, George's numbers would be like when he started insulin, in the high blues to yellows, because if he has had mid-low blues and greens since 4/19, I personally find it strange that having an infection it has not reflected in George's BG. Cats are very good at hiding their illnesses and infections, the good thing about us diabetic parents needing to test our cats, is that we can tell right away by the daily pattern of their glucose level, that if it changes drastically if here is an infection, High Ketones, UTI, Teeth infections etc.. we can tell by the BG begin to raise unexpectedly, is like an alarm.
Ohhh I get it now. Im looking into those foundations to see if they could help out. Thank you for the advice!
 
Back
Top