George AMPS 201: numbers dive after PM shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RuthC

Member Since 2012
Hi all,
We've been doing pretty well until a hiccup last week when Mr. Kitty wasn't eating, I didn't shoot that night, a hairball was eventually produced, and then a couple of days later we had a fur shot. So...some disruption that was partly my fault. My question today, however, is that after the PM shot I sometimes see his numbers fall dramatically. Last night, for instance, PMPS was 271. Two hours later he was 45. (He ate normal dinner.)
I don't see this kind of reaction to the AM shot. Does this mean I should consider reducing the amount I give him PM? Normally I give the same amount PM as I do AM, which is what I understand should be done. Or should this trigger an overall dose reduction to .75 even though his day numbers don't go as low?
 
Many cats experience lower numbers at night. I'm not sure that anyone knows why. (Probably the answer is, "Because they're cats!") With Lantus, you want to give the same dose at each shot otherwise, you disrupt the insulin depot and the result is wonky numbers.

The drop below 50 in a cat within a year of diagnosis indicates that you should reduce George's dose to 0.75u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top