George 7/05

Status
Not open for further replies.
Last night you shot at +3, correct? And there is a note saying you were going to push the AM shot by an hour....Which way? I'm trying to get a feel for how many hours between shots this cycle. Is it 10 hours since last night's shot?

Carl
 
+3 AMPS 282

Carl, it ended up being 10 hours between shots instead of 12; the pushing of an hour was an hour later from his normal shot time so that once we're back on 12 hours between shots he'll be getting his shot at a later time. As far as giving the shot with less than 12 hours between, I was hoping that by only giving 1.0 unit instead of 1.25 at +3 it would compensate for the shortened time between shots - for future needs does that type of rational work or will numbers always be a little off from what they would have been since 12 hours haven't passed?
 
Robin is traveling but sent me this message.

I don't think that she should shoot any more than 1.25u, she has several inverse curves on her ss.

George's Scale

300 & over - 1.25u
250 to 299 - fat 1 u
200 to 249 - 1 unit
150 to 199 - .75u


Sue talking here- the fat unit is just a smidgen more than one unit. We are thinking a scale will give you a plan when you need to dose and no one is online. It's open to change and only shoot what you are comfortable with.
 
As far as giving the shot with less than 12 hours between, I was hoping that by only giving 1.0 unit instead of 1.25 at +3 it would compensate for the shortened time between shots - for future needs does that type of rational work or will numbers always be a little off from what they would have been since 12 hours haven't passed?

You have the logic correct. An early shot acts like a dose increase, so you would decrease the amount accordingly, which is what you did. With Prozinc it isn't as critical to shoot exactly 12 hours apart, because some kitties don't get a full 12 hours out of the dose every time. There isn't a shed/depot like there is with the L insulins, so overlapping doses isn't quite as much of a concern. In time, you'll be able to have a feel for whether a dose has just worn off in less than 12 hours based on his numbers at +10 or +11 if you happen to test around that time. The cycles that confuse us are the ones that seem to last longer than 12 hours, because then it's difficult to tell if the numbers are lower at shot time because the dose is working overtime, or because they're just lower because the condition is improving. That's when it is important to look at the SS for trends and for "repeatability".

Carl
 
+7 AMPS 217

Sue thanks for getting that sliding scale! We're going out of town this weekend so I think I'll wait til we get back to start testing out the varying numbers but I'm interested to see how it works next week :smile:

Carl, still having a hard time seeing trends with George but I'll be honest in that I haven't had a chance to thoroughly study where he's been at along with what doses were given. Once I get back from being out of town I definitely want to study the SS and get a list going of how big of an up down there has been lately based on his dosage changes!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top