Gave pm shot qurstion amswered about a dose decrease

Status
Not open for further replies.

Supurrkitten

Member Since 2017
So I know in the slgs method you decrease if any bs are below 90.
So I had a decrease yesterday. Today we dropped lower. Should/can you do two dose decreases in a row or should I wait and let him get used to the 1 unit longer?

This is the previous day's in a nutshell...

5/25 - 1. 5u 0900/1.0u 2120
AMPS 0854 - 249
PMPS 2114 - 103
Gave honey coated meds and a lil urinary so dry at 0000

5/26 - 1.5u 0905/ no shot
AMPS 0902 - 195
PMPS 0950 - 96/ 0951 - 98

Spoke to folks and they suggested going down by .25 and not the .5 jump I did.

5/27 - 1.25U 1000/1.25U 2115
AMPS 0954 - 340
+4.5 1426 - 264
Had not really eaten all day. Gave CERENIA and spoon syringe fed him.
PMPS 2058 (+11) 127
+2 2326 - 94 can of FF salmon, still hungry. Half OG PP salmon

5/28 - 1U 1120 /
AMPS 0839 - 74 / 0840 - 78
Gave 2 portion packs Sheba and a 1/4 cup dry. Ate small/scant amount.
0951 - 84
One PP salmon Sheba ate just a lil bit
1106 - 84
1114 - 96
Shot 1U at 1120
+3 1413 - 46
Reoffered Sheba one PP serving he ate a little. Gave whole can FF classic salmon. He ate quite a bit
+5 1612 - 47
Gave honey/cane syrup water 7 mls
PMPS 2318 - 144
He is eating a bit now
 
Is your schedule flexible? Is that why you could shoot almost 3 hours after your usual schedule? Remember you need to adjust it 15 minutes a cycle or 30 minutes a day if you want to get back to the original schedule.

Since you need to shoot soon, I would do 0.75 units and monitor. Back to back reductions don't always work. We will see soon enough if 0.75u is a good dosage.
 
I tested at 839 and 840 because I was surprised it was so low. Then I waited. I tested 3 more times then shot.
---------------------
He ate a bit that was out from earlier when I waited and went to post this this evening.
-----------------------
I messed up my post and then had to repost. I just gave up and gave him his shot at 0022, as 1 unit.
--------------------------
I wanted to get to a dose and stick to it given that he has his depot and I am jacking around his doses. It seemed like folks where concerned about my changing dosing times and mentioned that back to back reductions don't work.
---------------------
I am exhausted and this is making me crazy. I work nights so yes I do have some flexibility and of course my cats health is a priority and I will do whatever I have to to make sure he is ok.
 
OK....it's important to keep the shots to as close to every 12 hours as possible (of course life has a terrible way of interfering).....I think several of us were confused about the times

Instead of putting the times in here, you can count the hours just like the spreadsheet.....if you shoot an hour late at night, you could put "PMPS @+13" so we'd know you gave a late shot. On your spreadsheet, you'd do the same thing....if you shot an hour late, put the number you actually shoot as the PS and then "@ +##" (generally, we cut hours into 15 minute increments so 15 minutes late would be +12.25, 30 mis late would be +12.5, 45 minutes late would be +12.75)

The number you actually shoot is always the Pre-shot number, so if you didn't shoot until what would have been his normal +3, you'd still put that number in the Preshot space with "### @ +15" (since it had been 15 hours since the last shot) and the hours start counting as they normally do
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top