Gave my first dose...

Status
Not open for further replies.

skippersmom

Member
Skipper came home from the hospital this morning. He was DKA when arriving at the vet on Thursday 12/19 and was really sick until Tuesday Morning when he was finally removed from his IVs. At the vets this morning his BG was 548 and they gave him 3.5 units. I tested him at 12:00 and he was 195. I tested him tonight at 9:00. He was 244 and I gave him 1.2 units and gave him a snack and then he ate. Everything went well. He is very laid back. I still have to give him some antibiotics tonight. I was planning on getting up at 3:00 to check his bg again...?
 
Hi Rae Ann,

I have been following you up on Health. Glad you reduced the dose. Have you seen our PZI protocol? It will give you some ideas about how to efffectively use the insulin:


http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=109077

This forum has people who are experienced with your insulin and everyone is friendly and helpful. But it is smaller than the Health forum, so if you ever have an emergency and need an immediate answer, post on Health where there are more eyes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top