Garland and I are new to the Lantus group here :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Garland

Member Since 2011
Okay, I decided I needed to come more active in watching Garlands BS. I do not want a repeat of this last week. Some of you may know me from the DKA/FHL last week. Garland is in recovery and we hope she will pull through

Now I need to start worrying more about her numbers. So I wanted to introduce myself! Hi!

She is currently on 1u of Lantus 2x a day. The vet told me to up it to 1.5u 2x a day bc her numbers have been hovering around 300 for the last few days. So tonight will be her first 1.5 dose. Do you guys think thats a good idea w her recovering from the DKA?
 
I'm sooo happy Garland is recovering well!!! Welcome to Lantus Land!

My Enana DKAed too but I cannot help you with dosing. Someone will come soon and help you out.
 
by the way, when you say garland's been in the 300's is that right before she got her insulin shot? are you testing any mid-cycle? dosing is based upon mid-cycle numbers - we test right before shooting to make sure it's safe, but how low they go is what determines the dose changes.
 
Welcome!!! So glad to see that Garland is on the road to recovery and that you've stopped by in Lantus Land!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

From the Tight Regulation Sticky:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Because of Garland's DKA incident, you'll want to be as aggressive as you can with dosing while still keeping Garland safe from hypo/low numbers. If you haven't already done so, pick up some ketostix at Walmart ($14 or so for a tube that should last you a bit). I would test 1-2 xs daily until you start seeing Garland in lower numbers. Be sure to read the directions for the strips carefully so you know you're getting the right measurements, and if you see ketones, post here and as you know, folks will chime in with suggestions.

Best wishes for a sustained, continual recovery for sweet Garland. She's already got ALOT of fans here!! Please feel free to ask questions as you have them. You'll find that we're a big family here and folks are happy to help whenever they can!
 
Welcome to LLand, Violet and Garland!. I am so glad that Garland is doing better. :YMHUG:
 
Yay!! I was hoping you and Garland would make an appearance here! Welcome to the lantus land family, and Christie is right, Garland does have alot of fans here. I hope she is feeling better and is on the mend.

Welcome from Leo and I!
 
Hi Violet and Garland! I've been following you over on the "Health" board, too - Go Garland!!! Likewise, I unfortunately can't make dosage suggestions, but surely some more experienced eyes will be along shortly to help you with that.

So happy to have you and Garland over here in LantusLand!

Amy
 
Welcome, Violet and Garland,
I can't help you with the DKA recovery/dosing either. I'm sure that one of the very knowledgeable people will be along shortly. We are so glad that Garland is recovering nicely and that you and Garland are here.

Ella & Rusty
 
Welcome Violet.

I'm embarrassed to say that after strongly encouraging you to get Garland to the ER, I lost track of your posts. Seeing that the original thread in Health has 268 posts, I don't think I can get caught up all that quickly. Please correct me if I'm oversimplifying, but Garland developed DKA, hepatic lipidosis and had a feeding tube? Perhaps you could give us a quick summary of what happened, what you're doing, and what meds Garland is on.

It will also be very helpful if you could put together a spreadsheet to keep track of Garland's numbers. This is a link to the SS template in the Tech Support forum.

Please make sure that Garland is getting fluids -- water, etc. helps to flush the system and keep ketones at bay. Also, insulin will help. If you are testing and Garland's nadirs have been above 300, you should be increasing his dose by 0.5u. However, without more information on Garland's blood glucose (BG), it's very hard to make any suggestions about dose.

Please let us know if you have questions and how we can help.
 
While i don't post here much since Cedric is OTJ, I do check periodically. Great idea to start a daily "condo" for the gang here to help!
 
HI! I just wanted to day welcome aboard! I am glad that Garland is on the road to recovery. I can't help with the question, but did want to welcome you to the Lantus group! :-D
 
Violet: Also want to give you a hearty welcome. I followed your "Health" condo and was so happy you chose the tube and that Garland has been able to come home to recover.

Sienne is pretty experienced with DKA as are some others so they can help you with dosing. Many of us can answer your other questions so don't be shy. We're family here and we're here to help you any way we can.

Sending lots of hugs and well wishes to Garland.
 
Thanks for the warm welcome everyone!!! I kept her at the 1u tonight until I talked with you all

I have made her spreadsheet starting from the day I brought her home. How do I get it in my signature?

Summary: 12 year old female, calico --> Garland diagnosed March 2011 bc she lost a ton of weight, 1u 2x a day, switched from freefed dry food to FF classic wet. She got soooo much better. Put on weight and was running around like her old self. At the end of July, I let her eat dry food for a few weeks, then last week noticed she was a bit sluggish. Took her to the vet, she was dehydrated and in DKA. She spent 7 days in the ER. She developed FHL on day 4 in the ER because she hadnt eaten in almost a week they think. She got an Etube, and will have it for a number of weeks. Now she is home and recovering. It will be a slow road. She is still very lethargic :( But everyone here from DCIN and FDMB were amazing with their help with getting her on the road to recovery!!

Her current meds: Potassiam supplement, an antacid, an anti-nausea med, a vitamin, and an appetite stimulant (mirtazapine)

Lantus: I have home tested her since her diagnosis, I just never really wrote it down. (yes, I promise to start) I have never seen a number below 200, (before the DKA) Her last curve was more of a straight line around the 300 mark. Since the DKA episode her numbers have been all crazy. She was on R in the ER and her numbers bounced around everywhere. Since being back home and on the Lantus, its hovered around 300 every testing again.
 
Do not give her an appetite stimulant while the feeding tube is in. This has side effects and can actually cause setbacks in her recovery and eating on her own. Focus on tube feeding. I promise you that she will eat when she's feeling better without the appetite stimulant. Giving her that appetite stimulant while being tube fed can lead to long term food aversions. This can lead to additional weeks and sometimes years with the feeding tube (Raider on the FAF group is a perfect example).

Edit: I'm sorry if I come across the wrong way. I sound like a robot ohmygod_smile I am very passionate about FHL as you see. Although Maverick had diabetes it was only for a short time October through March. And he was a very good diabetic kitty. No diabetes drama. I am not a diabetes expert. But from almost losing Maverick to FHL in 2008 I've stayed active on the FAF site and I'm paying it forward. Others here do know I get on my soap box all the time and hopefully prevent some kitties from ever getting FHL. And also to help those fighting to recover.

You are in amazing hands with the gang here at Lantus Land. It is like an online family. Hugs to you and Garland.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land from Gus and I. I can't advise about your dosing, but I'm sure of one thing. You'll find LL a very huge help in dealing with Garland's numbers. Again, nice to have you here.
 
Welcome to lantus land--Looks like you have had a rocky start, but now Garland is home and recovering--
And Now you have all of us! We post our numbers everyday, help each other, & are here for support..
Hope her recovery if quick..We are here to help. You are doing a good job with her..Just keep it up :mrgreen:
 
My cat, Jynx, and I are newbies here, also. Just wanted to say hello, and glad to hear that Garland is recovering well :-D Have a nice day.
 
Hi Violet and Garland,
I, too, have been following your story on the Health board. I'm not a daily poster here in Lantus Land, but I did want to pop in and wish you welcome, and send along my wishes for Garland's continued improvement.
Linda
 
Hi guys! We have been following garlands story on the health forum and so glad to hear she is on the road to recovery .. Glad to see you stopping in over here and getting to know all of us .. you're in the best place now!
 
Karrie and Maverick said:
Do not give her an appetite stimulant while the feeding tube is in. This has side effects and can actually cause setbacks in her recovery and eating on her own. Focus on tube feeding. I promise you that she will eat when she's feeling better without the appetite stimulant. Giving her that appetite stimulant while being tube fed can lead to long term food aversions. This can lead to additional weeks and sometimes years with the feeding tube (Raider on the FAF group is a perfect example).

Edit: I'm sorry if I come across the wrong way. I sound like a robot ohmygod_smile I am very passionate about FHL as you see. Although Maverick had diabetes it was only for a short time October through March. And he was a very good diabetic kitty. No diabetes drama. I am not a diabetes expert. But from almost losing Maverick to FHL in 2008 I've stayed active on the FAF site and I'm paying it forward. Others here do know I get on my soap box all the time and hopefully prevent some kitties from ever getting FHL. And also to help those fighting to recover.

You are in amazing hands with the gang here at Lantus Land. It is like an online family. Hugs to you and Garland.

I had read a few things about that myself. I went ahead and did not give her the pill she was supposed to take today. And thank you for the advice. And dont be sorry, its great that you are passionate! LOL
:-D
 
Have you posted a daily update? You open a new thread every day and link to the old one. Post the AM preshot and PM preshot readings.

Remind everyone your cat was just out of the hospital recovering from DKA maybe even copy your summary from this thread.

And if no one replies you can reply to your own thread/condo with "bump" so it bumps it up to the top. A DKA kitty needs extra attention from the experts.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top