Garfield 4/17 pmps 214

Cassandra & Garfield

Member Since 2019
Hello! So I feel we have some sort of pattern on Levemir. He bounces in the morning, and goes down til his pmps. So basically his pm cycles are nice, in my opinion and not so nice during the day.

I feel like I can't go higher with his dose because his pm nadir will be too low? Im also finding it hard waking up every night around 3:30 am to see if he isn't too low.

Thanks for any advice :)

@Wendy&Neko @Chris & China (GA) @Olive & Paula
 
Im also finding it hard waking up every night around 3:30 am to see if he isn't too low.
Yes, this can be a challenge. Can his shot time be changed? Of course this would be done safely, and it will depend on your schedule.

Another thing that I do is to drink a big glass of water before going to bed, so my bladder is my 'backup alarm clock' to get up to do an early morning test. lol
 
Yes, this can be a challenge. Can his shot time be changed? Of course this would be done safely, and it will depend on your schedule.

Another thing that I do is to drink a big glass of water before going to bed, so my bladder is my 'backup alarm clock' to get up to do an early morning test. lol
Haha that's a great idea the big glass of water.

Not sure about changing the injection time, in any case I still have to wake up during the night haha. I just wish his pm cycle would be his am cycle haha. That way it would be easier to check during the day haha
 
Are you getting a before bed test? That should help as whether a middle of night test is needed.

Do you have an auto feeder so food is available if he needs it?
He has food available. And yes I test at +5 :) but usually its a bit "low" to my liking. I just hate that he always seems to bounce in the morning
 
I'm not seeing the pattern you are. I see some green during the day, and some at night. Although, I don't see any mid cycle AM tests today and yesterday, so don't know what happened then.

I think you could increase. We hold doses with green nadirs for 10 cycles.

I agree with Paula that getting more data during the day when you can monitor, in combination with that before bed test, will help you better predict when you need to get up later. That auto feeder is also an important tool. It would also be interesting to get some more data around onset, to see if he's doing fast drops that are causing those bounces. Those can be slowed down with food at the right time.
 
I'm not seeing the pattern you are. I see some green during the day, and some at night. Although, I don't see any mid cycle AM tests today and yesterday, so don't know what happened then.

I think you could increase. We hold doses with green nadirs for 10 cycles.

I agree with Paula that getting more data during the day when you can monitor, in combination with that before bed test, will help you better predict when you need to get up later. That auto feeder is also an important tool. It would also be interesting to get some more data around onset, to see if he's doing fast drops that are causing those bounces. Those can be slowed down with food at the right time.
Sorry by pattern I meant like "lower" pmps (for us its lower) and always a bounce as an amps. He always has access to food and when I see he drops I definitely feed him.

You're saying to do a pm +4 instead of +5? I do +5 so I can guage around what time to get up during the night to test.

Im nervous about going up to 1.25 because already during the night he has nice green nadirs. And during the day even with a high amps they are usually in the blues.
Thanks :)
 
Last edited:
I think his onset is closer to +3. Some Lev cats drop fast at onset. I don't see enough data early in the cycle yet to see when or if Garfield drops.

I also see days where AMPS is lower than PMPS. Another thing to keep in mind that Garfield is still quite new on Lev. It's barely a couple weeks. It can take cats 1-3 months to learn how to use the new insulin. Then patterns will become clearer.
 
I think his onset is closer to +3. Some Lev cats drop fast at onset. I don't see enough data early in the cycle yet to see when or if Garfield drops.

I also see days where AMPS is lower than PMPS. Another thing to keep in mind that Garfield is still quite new on Lev. It's barely a couple weeks. It can take cats 1-3 months to learn how to use the new insulin. Then patterns will become clearer.
Could I stick to 1.00u for a little longer? Im trying to follow TR so don't want to mess anything up. Just added his +4 for tonight. :) also what makes me want to test during the night, is I can't trust him to eat when he goes low. Ive seen him go down to 40s-50s and he doesn't go himself to eat. I usually place him in front of his dish and then he will eat. He doesn't seem to eat as much at night as during the day
 
Last edited:
Back
Top