? Garfield 3/30 amps 131. +3 39

Cassandra & Garfield

Member Since 2019
Hello. So his numbers have been nice for a few days, and this morning at amps when I saw 131 I just knew he would drop fast. He always drops fast when his amps his low . That just confirms my choice, today im picking up a levemir pen at the vets to try it out.

Can someone add a line in my spreadsheet to indicate tomorrow we are starting levemir?

Also since technically id be reducing his dose to 1unit, does that mean id dose levemir at 0.5u?

Thank you very much, hope everyone is doing well

@Chris & China (GA) @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Wendy&Neko
 
Good job with adding the blank line on the spreadsheet after today to show the insulin change.

Garfield earned a reduction down to 1.0 units of Lantus today. We start the Lev dose at 70% of the Lantus dose, so you could go with 0.75 units.

As far as differences between the two L insulins, Levemir has a later onset and nadir. Onset is typically +4 and nadir +8. You'll have to figure out if Garfield was paying attention to that. The first day you'll have the Lantus depot depleting and the Levemir depot building, so hard to say what will happen. Since nadir is usually in the back half of the cycle, you'll have to get used to shooting lower. The good news is that you'll have several hours until the next shot starts to work.
im picking up a levemir pen at the vets to try it out.
Just wondering why you didn't buy the Lev at the pharmacy. It's usually more expensive at the vet's office.

Good luck with the Lev tomorrow. Hopefully it's a day you can keep a close eye on him.
 
I have Chris to thank for the blank line in the spreadsheet .

So pharmacies here don't sell individual pens and given that I had just bought a box of lantus pens I wanted to be sure I saw a noticeable difference with levemir before buying a box. Yes it was quite expensive for Canadas standards it was 30usd$ for the pen whereas the box of 5 is like 80usd$.

If I remember correctly I hold the dose for 3 days? Im thinking its going to be too low because he woke up with a really high number, which I guess is to be expected at least in the beggining. :)

Also in my signature is it ok if I wait a bit before changing the insulin to lev?

Yes with what's happening in the world right now everyday is a day I can keep a close eye on him . Im not working at least til may 1st.
 
I don' t see a post for today, so I'm responding there. You are probably seeing some of the Lantus depot today. But hard to say yet, Garfield could be one of those cats that has a strong reaction to the change. Anyway, looks good so far.:D

Ideally you'd hold the dose for six cycles, unless he goes under 40 of course.
 
I don' t see a post for today, so I'm responding there. You are probably seeing some of the Lantus depot today. But hard to say yet, Garfield could be one of those cats that has a strong reaction to the change. Anyway, looks good so far.:D

Ideally you'd hold the dose for six cycles, unless he goes under 40 of course.
Perfect thank you very much!

I can see the nadir is already way later then usual! Weird to see that. Im just so used to him dropping fast when his pmps is low that im scarred that will happen. I guess its less likely on levemir though
 
It's a little hard to tell this early into the switch cause you have Lantus and Levemir working. It should become more obvious the next few days. Some cat drop fast on Levemir onset like some Lantus cats do. It's very much ECID. I loved shooting low preshots on Lev, for Neko it often meant no more that 10 points change the whole cycle.
 
It's a little hard to tell this early into the switch cause you have Lantus and Levemir working. It should become more obvious the next few days. Some cat drop fast on Levemir onset like some Lantus cats do. It's very much ECID. I loved shooting low preshots on Lev, for Neko it often meant no more that 10 points change the whole cycle.
Thanks! Hopefully he doesn't drop to much! :)
 
Did you give him a little snack with that 68? That might help him surf instead of drop. One thing I liked about the later nadir is I could feed late in the cycle without disrupting the insulin duration.
 
Did you give him a little snack with that 68? That might help him surf instead of drop. One thing I liked about the later nadir is I could feed late in the cycle without disrupting the insulin duration.
Yes I placed him in front of his dish to eat a bit :p he went up to 149, but im assuming its not because of the food but more because we are towards the end of the cycle
 
Did you give him a little snack with that 68? That might help him surf instead of drop. One thing I liked about the later nadir is I could feed late in the cycle without disrupting the insulin duration.
Usually his nadir was around +6 so like midnight before id go to bed, but since now its further in the cycle, does that mean I should get up in the middle of the night to add food and test him? Thanks :)
 
I didn't always test around nadir time. Having said that, she often nadired when I got off dark and early to go rowing, so would test then. I did learn to look at the different between her preshot and onset numbers, and see if that predicted what the cycle would look like. On Lantus, the +2 can be a predictor for many cats in a similar way. The first little while I did set alarms until I learned when I needed to, and when I didn't. I think if you get a +4 tonight and it's above preshot, call it a night.
 
I didn't always test around nadir time. Having said that, she often nadired when I got off dark and early to go rowing, so would test then. I did learn to look at the different between her preshot and onset numbers, and see if that predicted what the cycle would look like. On Lantus, the +2 can be a predictor for many cats in a similar way. The first little while I did set alarms until I learned when I needed to, and when I didn't. I think if you get a +4 tonight and it's above preshot, call it a night.
+4 should be higher then pre-shot? . Isn't that very unlikely? Thanks :)
 
Back
Top