Garfield 01/01 amps 122.4

Nice numbers this morning. No I wouldn't reduce yet. Looks like he may be coming down from a bounce yesterday. (maybe?) Keep an eye on him today he may go a bit lower after his shot kicks in. He also may bounce again though.
 
Nice numbers this morning. No I wouldn't reduce yet. Looks like he may be coming down from a bounce yesterday. (maybe?) Keep an eye on him today he may go a bit lower after his shot kicks in. He also may bounce again though.
Thats what I thought! And yes expecting a bounce as well :( ill try to feed him throughout the day hopefully that helps
 
Lovely first part of the cycle today, sorry about the bounce.:rolleyes:

Since you are following TR, you have held this dose far too long, which is 10 cycles with green nadirs. If you :stop:can monitor, I would take him up to 1.75 and see if you can get rid of some of those ugly higher numbers.
 
Lovely first part of the cycle today, sorry about the bounce.:rolleyes:

Since you are following TR, you have held this dose far too long, which is 10 cycles with green nadirs. If you :stop:can monitor, I would take him up to 1.75 and see if you can get rid of some of those ugly higher numbers.
Thanks for the reply :)

Im affraid that with a bigger dose he will get bigger bounces . Because today had I not fed him at +2 he would of easily went down to 50 no?? (Which would of earned him a reduction in insulin)

And lastly im thinking of switching him to weruva to have a lower phosphore level but pretty much same level of carbs. But another one of their flavors has 1 carb. So should I be avoiding 1 carb then?


Thank you very much :)
 
Bigger doses tend to lower the high points, not make them higher. Maybe feeding all the time at +2 is a good idea, to slow the drops.

Since Garfield is a long term diabetic, his reduction point under TR is 40, not 50.

As for changing foods, it depends how carb sensitive Garfield is.
 
Bigger doses tend to lower the high points, not make them higher. Maybe feeding all the time at +2 is a good idea, to slow the drops.

Since Garfield is a long term diabetic, his reduction point under TR is 40, not 50.

As for changing foods, it depends how carb sensitive Garfield is.
But the thing with the dose reduction to 40 is I would never intentionally let him drop to 40 no? Id be risking a hypo.
Im always affraid of the " too much insulin can look like not enough insulin" .
Thanks again for your advice ❤️
 
That “too much insulin looks like too little” is an old chestnut I wish people would stop repeating. As long as kitty was started at a safe dose, testing is done to see how low the dose is taking the cat, and increases are by safe amounts, then you are not on too high a dose. Of course a pancreas can heal and you will get see a reduction number and you have to reduce the dose.

Your goal should be to try to have Garfield spend as much time as possible in safe green. That is where pancreas healing happens. Don’t intentionally let him drop below 40, instead, try to prevent it.
 
That “too much insulin looks like too little” is an old chestnut I wish people would stop repeating. As long as kitty was started at a safe dose, testing is done to see how low the dose is taking the cat, and increases are by safe amounts, then you are not on too high a dose. Of course a pancreas can heal and you will get see a reduction number and you have to reduce the dose.

Your goal should be to try to have Garfield spend as much time as possible in safe green. That is where pancreas healing happens. Don’t intentionally let him drop below 40, instead, try to prevent it.
Perfect! Yes I always try to prevent it by feeding him. I guess this morning was a fluke waking up at 122 and +2 already being down to 70 . Even tonight went from pmps 446 to 338 in 2 hours
 
That “too much insulin looks like too little” is an old chestnut I wish people would stop repeating. As long as kitty was started at a safe dose, testing is done to see how low the dose is taking the cat, and increases are by safe amounts, then you are not on too high a dose. Of course a pancreas can heal and you will get see a reduction number and you have to reduce the dose.

Your goal should be to try to have Garfield spend as much time as possible in safe green. That is where pancreas healing happens. Don’t intentionally let him drop below 40, instead, try to prevent it.
So this morning he went from 392 to 193 in 2.5 hours. Why ? And its stuff like this that scares me when it comes to upping his dose . Thank you !
 
Maybe breaking a bounce? Those big drops are why I so much preferred shooting low numbers where you get much flatter cycles. Increasing the dose lowers the high points, less distance to drop.
 
Back
Top