? GARFIE NEEDS HELP

Rebecca.garfie

Member Since 2018
Having some problems need advice
Garfie in remission for over a year now.
His normal range over the year has been between 2.7 to 3.4
Will constipation increase his numbers
He had dental in December 2019
Garfie hasn't been feeling good I'm thinking constipation.he has been getting restoralax 2 d's a day for awhile now. But this is what I have
February 3 54 or 3.0
March 3 87 or 4.8
On this day he didn't eat to well or get his full doses of restoralax as puppy was sick and he's very attached to her he gets emotional

March 6 91 or 5.0
March 7 7am 107 or 5.9
10am 119 or 6.6
Noon 85 or 4.7
2pm 95 or 5.2
7pm 118 or 6.5
10pm 90 or 5.0
He finally did a very small semi squishy poop not his normal size or shape

March 8 7am 99 or 5.5
10am 104 or 5.7
4pm 135 or 7.5
Small squishy poop so far.

I have increased his restoralax and making sure he has been getting more water. I think his gums are a little pale. He is pissy when you pet him which isn't normal for him. He's more tired then usual.
Just wondering what you all think
Sorry for being so long
 
Last edited:
Is there any way you can work on getting your 2020 SS up and filled in? It's so hard to see a trend with the numbers...

I know that sometimes other things can influence those higher numbers to the adverse. What does the vet say about the bowel issues?
 
Hasn't been to vet yet trying to get in tomorrow. As for 2020 as I will have to get that going will need help with the spreadsheet for 2020 please
 
I'd probably need to just start her a new one since she's using the World version, but I'd be happy to do it. She just needs to send me a private message so I can get some information.
 
Rebecca doesn’t need a SS at this moment.......I have been helping her since Garfie had the DX, and I was on here when Davidson (RIP) was on Lantus. Her numbers have been perfect, went up a wee bit when he had his dental, which is very normal. He’s not in the danger zone and with his fur buddy being sick, and Garfie feeling the stress of that I think it’s normal for his numbers to go up a little.

He’s still close to the 120 levels and with the stress of his buddy being sick and probably causing the constipation, Gargie’s number are going to ride.

I increased his Restoralax dose only yesterday as he’S a big cat at 14lbs and was only getting 1/8 tsp twice daily....I gave Harley (RIP) that and he was 8 lbs. It just started to work and Garfie is tender at his bum area and stomach because he’s constipated.

I suggested waiting to see if he poops tonight (he’s an evening pooper) as the Restoralax (Miralax) has to work its way into his system and since he pooped today around lunch and was a bit softer, we know it’s starting to loosen up the poop. Rebecca is testing every few hours and so far his BG is not high enough to risk getting out of remission - not yet, it’s only been 2 days and need to see how he is in the next couple of days before panicking to get him back on Lantus.

If by tomorrow afternoon Garfie hasn’t pooped then he may need an enema as Rebecca doesn’t know if he had a poop on Friday as both kitties go in the same LB. Now that they’re separated she can tell and today is Day 2....3 days no poop in my opinion should go to Vet and get an X-ray and possible enema if Vet can’t express poop.

Besides, as we all know Vet’s don’t know crap about diabetics as they send her to me in the first place as they know I got Davidson into remission (than kms to THIS BOARD).

So, not going to suggest doing a SS at this time, numbers are being kept and if necessary in a few days and there is no alternative for Garfie and his BG’s jump to undesirable numbers, then she can start a fresh one.

Let’s not jump to conclusions so early.
 
Yes, thanks and I explained that as Harley went thru this as well.

If Garfie doesn’t have a good poop and numbers go down by tomorrow afternoon Rebecca will take him to the vet. Do bloodwork and hopefully the vet can express the poop without putting him under. He’s due for bloodwork in April so hoping he poops and that makes him feel better and numbers go down and colour returns to normal
 
Update for Gargie...

Eating lots, and last night only a small poop that was softer due to the Restoralax.

BG 180 or 10 this morning at 06:30

Ate his usual food and had a small watery poop and Rebecca said looked like a few small blood drops outside LB

Taking him to the Vet this afternoon. His eyes are good, he’s mobile but tired and sore around his stomach.

My feeling is the constipation is causing BG’s to go up and She needs to get him pooping, possibly an enema and I don’t suggest starting insulin just yet. My personal experience is if pancreases was failing his numbers would be in the upper 200’s or 300’. Need to fix the poop issue and then look at the diabetes situation.

Tonight would be the 4th day of no pooping and I feel he’s plugged up, it could be the 3rd day as she kept both cats freely using the LB and not entirely sure who did the last poop when...but for sure 3 full days and that’s it good either. Since the Restoralax hasn’t cleared it, I think there’s a blockage or old poop.

Any thoughts with those who have experience?

Once poop issue is clear and Garfie’s numbers don’t drop within a couple days, I would suggest starting on a small dose of Lantus and still think he’s safe with his numbers being what they are at.

Thanks
Shawna
 
Looks like poor Garfie has an abscess on his tush, a hole opened up and is leaking so he’s going to the Vet shortly.
Could be why he’s not pooping and levels are up and he’ll get full blood work too just to check.
Will update everyone later this aft once Rebecca is home.
 
If Garfie does have a problem with his anal glands Bellasmom gives Bella "Glandex" which seems to help a lot.
I give both my cats 1/2 cap of Slippery Elm 2 X's a week. No constipation here! https://draxe.com/pet-health/slippery-elm-for-pets/

upload_2020-3-9_18-25-17.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-3-9_18-25-17.jpeg
    upload_2020-3-9_18-25-17.jpeg
    10.8 KB · Views: 186
Garfie update
He had an abscessed right anal gland but of course it didn't burst where the gland is it was up at base of tail. Upon exam the abscess was pushing on his colon stopping him from pooping but once it burst pressure released. Still have to watch poop issues as he was a bit constipated. Bloodwork was awesome also did urinalysis just waiting on those results.
He is wearing the cone of shame lol
Not allowed to lick area .
Did pokey at 630pm he was 7.0 which is expected being as what he went through
Thanks for all those who checked in on garfie
Big thanks to Shawna for helping even when I was nuts
 
Oh the poor boy! That must have been very painful and uncomfortable. Im glad you have answers and it’s been sorted.
sending vines for a very speedy recovery and back in good numbers.
 
Poor Garfie, I hope he heals up really soon. Sending tons of healing vines. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I'm so glad you have Shawna helping you Rebecca, it's horrible when your baby is sick and in pain. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

"Hi" to Shawna, we miss you! :bighug: Sorry to see you under these circumstances though. :(
 
Well, update on Garfie isn’t great...yes doing very well with the abscess healing and his BG levels are perfect for his remission state. However vet called Rebecca back yesterday and she had some leftover blood, so did another test as she was suspicious. Unfortunately it appears Garfie has feline leukaemia, and at close to15 Rebecca isn’t going to start a chemo treatment or blood transfusions. He’s eating a lot, peeping and pooped a bit more last night. His BG levels are back to normal and his gums are getting back to being pink. Many cats get this virus when younger and as they age become immune but only if they get the vaccination and unfortunately Garfie has not been getting it. I support Rebecca’s decision in this.

As for my update, I lost Harley (Davidson’s brother) last Dec 3. It wasn’t the kidney disease or what appeared to be cancer (based on blood tests Nov 2018) but I said goodbye to him due to arthritis. He was only given 2-3 months back in Nov 2018, and he did really great for 15 months while on Tramodol twice a day. I promised him he’d never suffer and be in pain so when the stumbling and falling increased I made the decision to say goodbye.

So now he’s with his brother Davidson and lighting the highway of stars for me as I ride my Harley Davidson on the back roads. They’re with me in bike each day I ride, snuggled in the side bag and we all have grins as we get our wind therapy!

It’s inevitable that eventually we say goodbye to our fur babies! So love them, cherish them, spoil them, take a ton of pictures and videos, and realize how much they enhance our lives each day while they are with us. When they’re gone the tears will be there, good tear and lots of tears which only shows how much they meant to us.

For all those on here, stay positive - you’ve got the BEST teachers here and as I did with Davidson, remission is not impossible . I helped Rebecca get Garfie into remission too, and so follow the protocol and you too may see positive results.
 
Will be doing bloodwork in a months time and we will see what that says before making decisions. As long as he has good quality of life my boy will be with me. As soon as I see it's not then unfortunately he will cross the rainbow bridge as I promised him no suffering. He was such an awesome boy for all the ear pokey times and 2 needles a day I promised him no more. He can just be him until it's time
 
Garfie update
He had an abscessed right anal gland but of course it didn't burst where the gland is it was up at base of tail. Upon exam the abscess was pushing on his colon stopping him from pooping but once it burst pressure released. Still have to watch poop issues as he was a bit constipated. Bloodwork was awesome also did urinalysis just waiting on those results.
He is wearing the cone of shame lol
Not allowed to lick area .
Did pokey at 630pm he was 7.0 which is expected being as what he went through
Thanks for all those who checked in on garfie
Big thanks to Shawna for helping even when I was nuts
I get glandex and give to Bella everyday, he’s had 3 abscess in the past and I was taking him in every month to have it removed, since being on glandex he’s had no problems, you can get it on Amazon, glad they caught it before it burst
 
I get glandex and give to Bella everyday, he’s had 3 abscess in the past and I was taking him in every month to have it removed, since being on glandex he’s had no problems, you can get it on Amazon, glad they caught it before it burst
Oh it burst at home in my hand I was petting him down his back and all the way down his tail and burst city. He did have 1 huge one probably a 2inch on his hip. When that burst at home to he had emergency surgery for that and that is when we found out he was diabetic. He is all good now pretty well healed and pooping normal
 
Back
Top