Vicky & Gandalf (GA) & Murrlin
Member Since 2009
Pamela has me convinced he had some glucose toxicity going on and a number of days at a steady dose has caused a break through. Have a look at his spreadsheet.
I'm flying a bit blind at this point 'cause on the one hand I don't want him going too low and experiencing those jumpy liver 300+ BGs (you can see he has 300s after recent blues), on the other I don't want to back slide and cause more toxicity to set in. Add in the fact that I need to shift his shot times earlier and it's all sorts of trouble/confusion.
Today I think I did good with the .75U dose, but could I have given more? Probably. That's why I raised tonight to .9U to counteract the rise, even though it was a +10.5 shot.
For those of you thinking I'm changing doses in response to preshot numbers, it is not. It's in response to the whole cycle, which was upward, jumping nearly 100 points in the last hour and a half before I gave the PM shot. That tells me the .75U was not enough because it barely lasted through his normal nadir time.
Wanted to share because I guess I'm probably the only one shooting this low of green here. I would have had a problem this morning had it been tomorrow when I need to leave for work. At least I was able to get home from errands to get good spot checks today. They are invaluable, especially when you have changes going on. Please note, I wanted to shoot early (+10) this AM, but waited until I saw a rising number and I didn't see it till +12. That's really all you need to do if you get a lower than normal AMPS. Also, if you get a spot check at +11, you can use that information to decide to shoot a lower than normal preshot at +12 because if you see a rising number, it should be fine. This applies more to those who have seen some signs of regulation, not necessarily newbies.
I'm flying a bit blind at this point 'cause on the one hand I don't want him going too low and experiencing those jumpy liver 300+ BGs (you can see he has 300s after recent blues), on the other I don't want to back slide and cause more toxicity to set in. Add in the fact that I need to shift his shot times earlier and it's all sorts of trouble/confusion.
Today I think I did good with the .75U dose, but could I have given more? Probably. That's why I raised tonight to .9U to counteract the rise, even though it was a +10.5 shot.
For those of you thinking I'm changing doses in response to preshot numbers, it is not. It's in response to the whole cycle, which was upward, jumping nearly 100 points in the last hour and a half before I gave the PM shot. That tells me the .75U was not enough because it barely lasted through his normal nadir time.
Wanted to share because I guess I'm probably the only one shooting this low of green here. I would have had a problem this morning had it been tomorrow when I need to leave for work. At least I was able to get home from errands to get good spot checks today. They are invaluable, especially when you have changes going on. Please note, I wanted to shoot early (+10) this AM, but waited until I saw a rising number and I didn't see it till +12. That's really all you need to do if you get a lower than normal AMPS. Also, if you get a spot check at +11, you can use that information to decide to shoot a lower than normal preshot at +12 because if you see a rising number, it should be fine. This applies more to those who have seen some signs of regulation, not necessarily newbies.