Vicky & Gandalf (GA) & Murrlin
Member Since 2009
Well, my spreadsheet is woefully behind. I'll fix that in a bit.
I have been wondering why he was hitting upper 200s and then 300s yesterday and this AM, after having very nice preshots in the low 100s. The other weekend we had the lovely super full moon, so I knew that wasn't doing anything.
Today I got my answer. Tested at +3.5 (AMPS was 317) and he was already green at 90. This sometimes happens on Lev, a little too much overlap and Bazinga, you get a low only a couple or few hours after preshot. So I wasn't too concerned, but since he was heading down, I tested again in an hour 15 after letting him eat for a good 10 minutes because I meant to get the test in an hour.
First time I've seen that in a long time - I call it "parking," where they sit at the food bowl and just eat. When you have a grazer like Gandalf, who will normally take 4 bites, walk away and come back an hour later, it's unusual.
So I was not surprised he was at 37, this at not quite +5. I let him lick some syrup off my finger, a rare treat, and then since I have no high carb can in the house (shame on me) I broke up some cookie for him, also a rare treat.
45 minutes after the 37 he's at 69, but I'd say he's earned a dose reduction tonight and I will watch him continually through the afternoon, although we're probably just headed for another 300 from here.
I have been wondering why he was hitting upper 200s and then 300s yesterday and this AM, after having very nice preshots in the low 100s. The other weekend we had the lovely super full moon, so I knew that wasn't doing anything.
Today I got my answer. Tested at +3.5 (AMPS was 317) and he was already green at 90. This sometimes happens on Lev, a little too much overlap and Bazinga, you get a low only a couple or few hours after preshot. So I wasn't too concerned, but since he was heading down, I tested again in an hour 15 after letting him eat for a good 10 minutes because I meant to get the test in an hour.
First time I've seen that in a long time - I call it "parking," where they sit at the food bowl and just eat. When you have a grazer like Gandalf, who will normally take 4 bites, walk away and come back an hour later, it's unusual.
So I was not surprised he was at 37, this at not quite +5. I let him lick some syrup off my finger, a rare treat, and then since I have no high carb can in the house (shame on me) I broke up some cookie for him, also a rare treat.
45 minutes after the 37 he's at 69, but I'd say he's earned a dose reduction tonight and I will watch him continually through the afternoon, although we're probably just headed for another 300 from here.