Gandalf 5/9 +10 282 ~ 1.35U

Status
Not open for further replies.
+10 303/PMPS +11.5 332 ~ 1.35U

Nope, didn't keep him out of the 300s. Drat it all. He seems to feel pretty good though. Was roaming around in the yard and tried to trot over to the deck when I called for him. He got really mad when I tried to brush a mat out above one of his front legs. He sat there kind of funny after swatting me and I thought he'd put a joint out of place the way his leg stuck out! He's fine.

Not sure about the BGs. I dosed him a bit past +11.5, and the AM shot will be +12 then. He had gone up this morning by +3, which was 295. I doubt he got any drop today.
 
That IS frustrating. Jeddie is doing the same thing - sitting in the upper 200s and lower 300s. Just last week he was having PS's in the mid 100s (twice) and he dropped to 54 on the same dose a few weeks ago. I guess with Jed, I am going to have to raise the dose again.

I read your post on the 8th that was replying to me. I think my Charlotte is about Gandalf's age (17 last Feb) and, if anything, she is MORE demanding. Then again, she has hyperT. Beau is the one that is slowing down. He will be 12 this Aug. I think he has lost some vision as his eyes look cloudy. His hearing seems fine so far. But where I am going with all this is that I wonder if Gandalf's hearing and/or vision is fading? I have had elderly cats before with hearing and site loss that act "out of it" and don't follow their old routines. Although cats losing their hearing tend to vocalize more when they can't see someone - like they are listening for you and can't hear you.

No doubt about it that all the things Gandalf has been through related to the diabetes and aging is probably taking its toll more than just normal aging would. It is the trade off for getting them this far I think. And it isn't fair. But I have to think in terms of "he is alive today because of all I did for him" or "last summer was very good for him". With Beau, I take it a day at a time, really, since he was given 2-5 years at the age of 8 - and before he had FD or hyperT. Only God knows if he will live to be 17 or 18 like normal well cared for house cats, but I have already given him - or he has earned himself - an additional 3+ years. It isn't any comfort, but sometimes we have to be accepting of that.

I have no doubts that if Gandalf can have more quality life you will be able to give it to him as you are one of the most aggressive care-givers I know.
 
Answering your question, Sheila, yes, Gandalf has had cloudy, cataract eyes for quite a while now. Even though FD's aren't supposed to get cataracts like canine diabetics, that's what the vet says it is. He still recognizes things and still will get down off the deck and walk around the house outside, but he is not exploring the yard as much as he did last year and last year I had already noticed he has to close his eyes when he's in direct sunlight and he doesn't like the camera flash at all - his eyes are always closed now in pictures unless I don't have the flash on.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
No doubt about it that all the things Gandalf has been through related to the diabetes and aging is probably taking its toll more than just normal aging would. It is the trade off for getting them this far I think. And it isn't fair. But I have to think in terms of "he is alive today because of all I did for him" or "last summer was very good for him". With Beau, I take it a day at a time, really, since he was given 2-5 years at the age of 8 - and before he had FD or hyperT. Only God knows if he will live to be 17 or 18 like normal well cared for house cats, but I have already given him - or he has earned himself - an additional 3+ years. It isn't any comfort, but sometimes we have to be accepting of that.

I have no doubts that if Gandalf can have more quality life you will be able to give it to him as you are one of the most aggressive care-givers I know.

Thank you for the reminder and thank you for saying that. I only wish I'd been aggressive in the beginning with the diabetes and even before that about the steroids - but like most of us, I didn't know then.

I wore my "World's Best Cat Mom" shirt yesterday, on Mother's Day. I had a customer read it and tell me happy Mother's Day. Isn't that sweet?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top