Gandalf 5/29 +9 273/info for Mike

Status
Not open for further replies.
I suppose I can do +10.25 for shot time this AM then. I need to leave for work earlier anyway.

With the tighter schedule, the sooner I can get him back to 8AM/8PM the better I'm thinking. Result this morning at +9 should then reflect/be response to shot time delay with splits yesterday. And hopefully will be a one time thing. He came around pretty quickly last weekend.

One thing about Levemir is that being a slower acting insulin, it also reacts to changes in a slower manner, meaning you see results of dose increases/decreases or time changes a cycle or 2 later rather than the very next cycle.

I forgot to tell you that, Mike, when commenting about your higher +2.5 reading last night. The dose change from 1U to .5U was possibly why BG went up from preshot, not necessarily that the dose of .4U is not enough or that shed has not yet filled. It's a difficult concept to figure out and you really have to see the reactions in the data to see how it's going to happen/work in your cat.

Hope Pixie did well though overnight. Even if you did not see double digits, that is no reason to despair NOR change dose. As I said, Levemir reacts slowly to changes so we don't always see what we want/expect right away.
 
Vicky, it looks like he tends to be high after splits? Is that what you have found? Why do you think that is?

It could be from the extended cycle - I mean you basically have a 14 hour cycle, right? Which means shooting late = dose reduction. Have you ever tried adding a .1u to the second split? I'm just thinking that if his dose is 1.2u that is = to .1u per hour so you add that get him that extra distance .... of course you would want to try this when you could actually be home to test him.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Vicky, it looks like he tends to be high after splits? Is that what you have found? Why do you think that is?

It could be from the extended cycle - I mean you basically have a 14 hour cycle, right? Which means shooting late = dose reduction. Have you ever tried adding a .1u to the second split? I'm just thinking that if his dose is 1.2u that is = to .1u per hour so you add that get him that extra distance .... of course you would want to try this when you could actually be home to test him.

Yes, he's almost always higher at some point with the splits, usually the next day, not necessarily the evening of the splits, but it's like the evening shot does nothing. Probably simply the dose change/time changes cause it.

My difficulty with adding even .1U is that like today, I have to get him back to very near his regular shot time immediately the next day sometimes. I would prefer him to be higher like this morning when I have to do that than lower than 150. Not great for him I know, but I would be afraid I'd be chancing a rebound too which is even worse than a 250+ cycle.

His +10 was 134, so I am very excited about that!
 
Everything is going great so far. I didn't dose .4u last night using the usual method... I did my best to "eyeball" it as closely as I could. I'm having a bit of trouble with bubbles in the syringe though (flicking it doesn't work all the time for fixing it), so it's really difficult to exactly measure such small doses. I'm about to post today's AMPS results with a +3 and a +6. It looks really good! (Went back to .5u this morning).

-M
 
Getting back to normal

This morning's AMPS was 264 at almost +10.5, shot 1.3U.
+10 tonight he was 134
+12 PMPS 8:30PM he was 115 ~ 1.3U

That Preshot is already back to where we were before I did the splits. I stayed with the 12/12 time today, but need to do +11.5 in the AM. Should be fine, even if we are hovering around 115 again. Below 90 though is going to give me pause as I know it's on a full shed. That's the only thing I don't like about being at the right dose and having to do earlier shots.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top