Gandalf 4/8 AMPS 390 ~ .9U

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't like "experimenting" but that's what I'm down to at this point. I lower the dose, he still has upper 300's, I raise the dose he has upper 300's. SOOOOOOOO......

On a hunch, I lowered the dose again this AM. The + 3 49 the other day, even though it was on a +11 shot and MAYBE not much food, raises a flag indicating MAYBE he's getting too much insulin. We've seen this with Beau, and I believe Lynda's Scruffy also had wacky numbers before he went OTJ because of too much insulin. I have his graph somewhere, will look at it for comparison.

Not saying we're headed that direction, and he may simply need a teeth cleaning, but this is odd. I started his Clindamycin pulse therapy dose/5days yesterday to see if that does anything.

Acupuncture today. May get his sides shaved so I can see where I'm shooting easier.
 
Well, I definately had a hard time with Beau and his numbers figuring out what was going on.

Do you remember that? No one seemed to know what to do because .4u seemed not enough (300s) and .5u would send him to the 30s. I was SO frustrated. Lowering the dose was what worked, as you know. If you look at his Aug 09 numbers you can see how his numbers were and how the dose effected them.
 
So hard to say...I see your dilemma. Maybe the clindamycin will help.

"I don't like "experimenting" but that's what I'm down to at this point. I lower the dose, he still has upper 300's, I raise the dose he has upper 300's. SOOOOOOOO......"

Maybe it is an absorption issue? I wonder sometimes about using those short needles on these larger cats.

How did the acupuncture go?
 
+8 300

Acupuncture goes like always - he lies perfectly still, grumps and humphs, but after the needles are setting or "cooking" as the acupuncturist says, he closes his eyes and seems comfortable. I'm not sure what it does, but it does something. He doesn't like being there, but usually an upset cat in a strange environment/place they don't like, would not lie there motionless with eyes closed.

His +8 is horrible. Again, this makes it more difficult to determine where his dose should be as I so rarely can get accurate curve info on him.
 
Re: +8 300

Vicky & Gandalf said:
Acupuncture goes like always - he lies perfectly still, grumps and humphs, but after the needles are setting or "cooking" as the acupuncturist says, he closes his eyes and seems comfortable. I'm not sure what it does, but it does something. He doesn't like being there, but usually an upset cat in a strange environment/place they don't like, would not lie there motionless with eyes closed.

Sounds like he is putting himself 'in the zone' - I'll bet he does enjoy it...he knows it makes him feel better. :)

His +8 is horrible. Again, this makes it more difficult to determine where his dose should be as I so rarely can get accurate curve info on him.

Darn, not much movement there...:(
 
PMPS 365 ~ .9U

That's actually not too bad on less insulin and stress of acu visit today. I'll take it.

Also gave another 50ml fluids tonight. Figured I better since I've watched him drink a bit more than normal today due to 300s.

Tomorrow is split dose day #1. Not that I haven't done it before, just that now I'm doing it for 2 days in a row.
 
I'm sorry Gandalf is giving you a run for your money and i'm concerned about the other cat that may need medical attention, as you mentioned. What's going on there?

I bet the Gman looks exceptionally handsome with his sides shaved. I absolutely LOVE the pics of him after he got the 'lion' shave last summer. Still amazes me how much fur (it's really like hair right?) that cat has!
 
It looks really stupid in fact. I'll probably get him shaved the rest of the way next month. I hate doing it, because his coat takes so long to come back and he doesn't look right. What if I have to let him go and he's only half himself??
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top