Gandalf 4/1 AMPS 331 ~ 1.1U

Status
Not open for further replies.
Bah, I guess I jumped the gun on the new cartridge. Not sure, he's still getting the World's Best Cat Litter all over his paws and licking it off. It's so fine though I don't see how it could have such a huge effect on his BGs. Will test him periodically today for nadir and see where we stand. I'm really torn between going lower or raising dose. If the previous cartridge was unstable (opened it beginning of January), that could be why he seemed to sometimes need less insulin. I'm not really sure what happens when an insulin goes bad. Could it be like what happened with the Vetsulin where it was considered unstable and could cause hypo unexpectedly? Or does it simply stop being effective at all?
 
In my experience with lev, the old cart was probably ok (if it expires NEXT august and not last Aug).

In my experience with insulin "going bad" it starts to fade in potency very, very slowly so you tend to think it is the cat needing more insulin and start upping the dose but then the new, higher dose doesn't work either.

I just came across a possible litter alternative. When I was in PetSmart last weekend, I saw a new type of Feline Pine. It's basically coarse sawdust with guar gum, or something to make it clump. the box that normally holds 14 lbs of clay litter weighs only 4 lbs! So far I have mixed it with regular scoop litter in two boxes. It's not like the Feline Pine pellets that disintegrate when they get wet, it does actually clump.

Can you at least try another litter for a week to see if that is the cause of the higher numbers? I know others have reported higher BGs from it.
 
I agree with Sheila - before changing the insulin dose, maybe first try another litter. Would you be willing to buy the regular supermarket stuff for a week - like Arm and Hammer? They sell it in pretty small amounts if you wanted to try it but not commit yourself to it. What do you think?
 
Results so far today

AMPS 331 1.1U Oh, it was +12.5 too.
+6 257
+8 238
+9 214
+10 229
+11 256
PMPS 247 1.3U

I went back to old litter today. It's cheaper although I hate that dust too, I know Gandalf won't be eating it. I also got some of Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract litter so maybe I can get my civie Sammie back in the box with her poop. Someone is also peeing outside the box occasionally. I had thought it was her, don't think it's Gandalf although he used to pee outside the box when he was uncontrolled. I know, make sure it's not him 'cause he could have UTI if it IS him.

I raised dose based on the high nadir. The litter may be a factor, but it's doubtful. He should have gone lower just on the fact that the only time I saw him get that litter on him was before AMPS. It got warm today, he's lying on the cool air vent tonight.
 
While the numbers are a bit high, the good news is is that they are consistent. There are no deep drops or highs. I'm curious to see if the change of litter makes a difference. If it doesn't, i would think a dose increase is needed. But, you are not only more experienced with this insulin, but obviously know Gandalf better. If this was Molly (and i know ECID) i would think she needs an increase.

Are you home this holiday week end to get some spot checks given the litter change?
 
Michele&Molly said:
While the numbers are a bit high, the good news is is that they are consistent. There are no deep drops or highs. I'm curious to see if the change of litter makes a difference. If it doesn't, i would think a dose increase is needed. But, you are not only more experienced with this insulin, but obviously know Gandalf better. If this was Molly (and i know ECID) i would think she needs an increase.

Are you home this holiday week end to get some spot checks given the litter change?

I'm only home Sunday. One of the few retail holidays for some - Easter. Curves on Sunday are not reliable because of the split doses on Fridays and now Saturdays since I'm going to continue doing them each morning when I work late based on last weekend's results.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top