Gandalf 1/10 AMPS +10 185 .9U

Status
Not open for further replies.
Woohoo! At least we have steady numbers. I went ahead and shot the full dose instead of splitting it. That lessens the frequency of changes and that's a good number to shoot 2 hours early for him. Although I didn't get a test at +9, it's rarely a good +hour to shoot Lev. At least not a full dose and not unless you're trying to get down higher numbers.

I did not give fluids, he gobbled up his warmed raw mix. I'm having food issues again though. I really can't continue feeding everyone Wellness, it's just too expensive now that PFD is being cheap on sales and discounts (seriously, the biggest discount they've done recently is 17.5% off and even though they state Wellness is on sale, it is not and is in fact more expensive than it used to be). And unless it's the only food I feed, the others stop eating it, it sits there and goes to waste. Gandalf is even not eating it as well, 'cause I'm putting Friskies down on the floor and he eats that. Everyone likes the darn Friskies more! I'm tempted to call it junk food because of how addicted they are to it, but I know it's all a lot of us can afford (here, here!) and at least it's canned.

I'll continue to mix his raw with Wellness. I figure if he's getting a couple ounces of that every day, he can eat the Friskies too. And the Friskies is cheaper to buy local than Wellness, which was why I ordered it.
 
Are you going to get spot checks today? Curious how this will "pan out".

As for food, I feed mine mostly Friskies. Half regular pate version and half the Special Diet ones. They get FF mixed in with their last meal for the day, but it is a 10th of their whole daily food amount. I buy it on sale, but even Friskies is closing in on 50 cents a can at the big box pet stores. Sigh...
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Are you going to get spot checks today? Curious how this will "pan out".

As for food, I feed mine mostly Friskies. Half regular pate version and half the Special Diet ones. They get FF mixed in with their last meal for the day, but it is a 10th of their whole daily food amount. I buy it on sale, but even Friskies is closing in on 50 cents a can at the big box pet stores. Sigh...

Yes,his +6.5 was 215. Higher than I expected, but steady. FYI, that was on my True Track meter. I did a control solution check and even though the strips I have for it are expired, they work fine. It'll do in a pinch. I have compared it to my Aviva and the TT seems to run about 10 points higher is all. So he may be around 200 on the Aviva when his preshot was 185 on the Aviva.

Not sure what varieties you feed, I don't think the Special Diet ones come any larger than 5.5oz cans, but I get Turkey & Giblets pate which comes in 12.5 oz cans at my local Pet Supplies Plus store for 79 cents each. As many cats as you feed, like me, you may want to see if some of the acceptable varieties for your crew are available in 12.5 oz cans. Costco or Sam's Club should have them too. Unless you're like me and refuse to "buy" into the shopper's club mentality. To me it's spending money to save money. I'm not going to go in and buy a pallet of toilet paper just because I saved $10.
 
PMPS on Aviva meter 317 .9U

Plus 75ml fluids. If he's not running in the 200s by Tuesday evening, I will increase dose to 1.1U. (Go back to last good dose)
 
Well i'm glad to hear that he gobbled up the warmed raw. Yeah, the Wellness is very expensive, especially if everyone is eating it. Are you opposed to the Friskies for at least one meal? It is cheaper and the cats love it. We feed Fancy Feast around here and they are eating us out of house and home. The worse is when i put a flavor down that they don't like and they turn their nose up and walk away, grr!!

I know many people are happy with the Tru Track but the darn thing always reads to high over here. Don't want to start the controversy again but i have done comparisons. For us, it was best to just hide that meter way in the back of the supply closet and forget its there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top