Gabapentin and BGs?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Anyone using gabapentin notice spikes and/or fluctuations in BGs?

Beau was put on it last July for neurologic issues (similar to human Parkinson's). He was OTJ for four years in Sept, but his increased drinking and starting to pee on my rug led me to test his BG a few days ago and it was upper 200s. Sigh. His BG in july was 100. So he is back on insulin now.

I'm just wondering if anyone else has noticed this issue. I guess it would be a cat in remission having to go back on insulin or a cat on insulin being hard to regulate. The trouble is that I think most people here who use it are using it on acro/cushings kitties and they are hard to regulate anyway, so the effect might not be noticed.

If this is, in fact, a side effect of gabapentin, it should be know so that an alternative med can be chosen, or at least an informed decision is being made.
 
Post-marketing reports for humans indicate it may cause glucose fluctuations.

Medscape Gabapentin reference
Medscape is free and requires registration. It has an excellent human medicine reference section, including conditions, drugs, and procedures.
 
Thanks for the reference BJM. I just started Brie on gabapentin once a day yesterday. He already has fluctuations since he's on pred for lymphoma. I'll see what happens and post if I notice anything different. Sandy
 
Sandy, I am so sorry to hear that Brie has lymphoma. This become one of those times when you work the diabetes treatment around the other treatments. I will be interested in what you find in terms of the gabapentin causing BG fluctuation and spikes.

We need to get the information out there if, in fact, gabapentin causes loss of BG control. For instance, we all know that steroids will usually cause problems with BG control so we expect it and plan accordingly.

I guess I would have started spot checking Beau from the beginning if I had known it might be an issue. I probably would have caught his relapse sooner.
 
Hello,
my mother was on Neurontin & its generic version, gabapentin, for nerve pain. At the same time she had been prescribed Lantus if her blood sugar went over a certain number. She did not have diabetes but was specifically prescribed Lantus because of her medications (she was on blood pressure meds but Lantus was prescribed when Neurontin was added. She was on a range/ scale & did not need Lantus regularly. I remember being cautioned to watch her for falls (she was bedridden shortly thereafter) & mental confusion (never exhibited it). Another thing: to be sure to check that exactly the same (same maker) gabapentin pill was given.

I don't know how useful this info will be, but knowledge is always good.

So sorry about your kitties. Best wishes, warm purrs & fuzzies are on their way to you.
Sophie
 
That is very interesting, Sophie.

I think that vets don't even know about this side effect because it was a board certified internist that Rx'd the gab for Beau, knowing he was a diabetic in remission. She didn't voice any concerns the way she did about the pred for Cami.

Do you know why they cautioned about using the same exact brand? I ask because Beau's source med just changed this morning. I had his script at a local grocery store pharmacy and the corp owners decided to close the entire chain in my area - had to move the script to Target and it is a different manufacturer.
 
Hello Sheila,
so sorry, I don't remember why the gabapentin maker issue had been stressed. Subsequently, I bought Neurontin for my mom because of that problem. I've read your post on the Levemir forum & actually remembered those issues because of your kitty's sliding off your couch (my mom did the same) & being confused. I remember my mom's neurologist stressing Neurontin's bad side effects: physical deterioration & mental confusion - nevertheless, he stressed she needed it... Actually, in retrospect, I wished she had never taken Neurontin because in the end I became convinced that it had contributed to her physical deterioration. When she died, I became convinced that her physicians helped her about 50% of the time & harmed the other 50%.

Wishing you & Beau all the best,
Sophie
 
Well, I am convinced that what doctors (and vets) DON'T know could fill 100 times more volumes that what they DO know.... especially when it comes to medication side effects and interactions.

However, I don't really think that Beau's current neurological state is related to his taking gab. He was worse beforehand - more ticks and jerks and sensitivity (crying and biting when even gently picked up or handled).

I called the vet who wrote the script and "confessed" that he was back on insulin after 4 years and asked if they knew of any side effects related to BG spikes. The vet tech I talked to, who is really nice, was much more intent on asking how I had tested him and arrived at my dosage and so on*, but did go ask the vet who looked up side effects in their drug book. No, nothing listed except at very high doses it can cause HYPOglycemia. Hmmmm..... I am guessing that most cats on gab don't have owners that notice things like PU/PD and so the cat never gets tested, or the fluctuations are not happening when they are tested - like the car that never makes "that noise" when you take it to the mechanic.

*I was afraid the vet would be mad that I "diagnosed" my own cat and put him on a prescription med even though she knows I home test and adjust dosage on my diabetics. She doesn't think I need to test "as much" - meaning not more than a few times a week "because the BG is always changing". Well, duh! That's the whole point! And this from a very, very experienced vet who is wonderful with my cats. I was in the room when she did Beau's neurological exam and she was so thorough and gentle with him. She is so knowledgeable, but still seems to suffer from the idea that most owners won't do extra work involved, so the protocol is written for them and not for people like everyone here who understands the necessity of testing at least before every shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top