Furshot and second shot given +2 391 +4 301

Status
Not open for further replies.

tipper11

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36338&sid=005b73151da70d6415d189ada542baee#p381667


Morning everyone,
Well I guess we are making baby steps, can't wait to see what today brings. I'll do one test before work then Tipper will have some peace and quiet for 9hrs.

Still drinking alot. I gave in last night and put the dry DM down, she didn't eat but a tablespoon of wet yesterday. She didn't touch the 95% Before the Grain, can't remember the brand. To make matters worse what she did eat was FF Elegant Medleys turkey florentine @ 10% carbs.

Hopefully today without me hoovering over her she'll eat a little more. Thats about it in TipperWorld. Vet weight check Fri. and going to have her look at one of Tip's ears, some heavy brown wax in it and she is scratching it. Hopefully no steroid ointment or drops.

Thanks again for all the support!
Patty and Tipper
 
Re: 2/10 Tipper AMPS- 417

Hello.
I hope your vet appointment goes well, tomorrow.
 
Re: 2/10 Tipper AMPS- 417

The only wet food Maverick will eat is the small cans of special kitty Turkey and Giblets. He is starting to eat some other flavours. But will not eat what is supposed to be the good food. Thankfully he doesn't have other diet restrictions just yet.
 
Furshot and second shot given +2-392 +4-301

DH was unable to get enough blood for PMPS. He gave Tipper her shot anyway. When I called from work to check on things, he told me the FIRST shot was a furshot. He said his fingers were wet and so was her fur. He gave her a second shot but reduced amount to 2.00 units (down from 2.75) just in case any insulin penetrated her skin. I rushed home and tested at +2 and everything seems OK. I'll test a few more times tonight just to be sure.

So any opinions, would you reshoot under these circumstances?? I know when the vet was training us she said if you think its a furshot--- do not give a second shot, wait .

One more question - we use the Bayer Contour meter and we get alot of codes that tell us we don't have enough blood. What is the most accurate meter that requires the least amount of blood?

Thanks,
Patty
 
Re: 2/10 Tipper AMPS- 417 NO PMPS +2 392

Please change the subject of your thread to reflect furshot, plus second shot given. You need to monitor closely just in case tonight. Even though he felt wetness and insulin you don't know how much actually made it in. Every time I've been sure of a furshot the numbers showed Maverick got insulin. So next time, don't shoot a second time. A furshot is a furshot and you wait 12 hours for the next shot time. And we kick ourselves in the process ;) Even long timers do furshots every once in a while.
 
I too agree with Karrie - wait, do not give another shot. There is no way to know for sure if any was given or not - better safe than sorry. You just start again at the next shoot time. It happens - we all do it. :-D

I have heard that the freestyle light requires minimal amount of blood - a few people here use it, and really really like the meter.

have a great night guys!
 
The basic rule is that if you think you gave a furshot, never give a 2nd shot. There are any number of times that people will post that they thought they gave a furshot and it turns out, they didn't. Even if you went in one side and out the other and saw the insulin shoot across the room, do not reshoot. You don't know how much insulin actually got where it was supposed to go. If you re-shoot, you could easily overdose your cat.

Karrie is correct -- you will need to monitor just to be safe. So far, everything looks fine.
 
I myself have given a few furshot also. I never give another shot though until the next shot time.

Also i use the ReliOn meter from Walmart if you have a walmart where you live. I don't have to code it and it needs only a little bit of blood. only one I've ever used suggested to me from the folks here and it is great!
 
You might want to mark on your spreadsheet what happened with this cycle. I always think I will "remember" events, and I never do! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top