? Fur Shots - Chester - advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

AJay

Member Since 2017
Ok, so now the little man is back home, the fun begins again... I think I have just given my first fur shot :(

He's now on Caninsulin 1.5u for about a week, until I see the vet agin next week.

I was due to give him his evening shot of Caninsulin when I got home. I didn't test him because I think he has been through enough and he is only just off his drip etc. So I fed him (low fat, low carb raw), and shot him. I know at the vets he was still running high as this is what the nurse said when he was discharged. It def went into the scruff, but he wriggled a bit and when I rubbed his neck, the fur was wet :(

I haven't given him any more as I have noted this was not advised :)

Advice please :)
 
You did the right thing. Do not give any more insulin. There is no way to determine how much went in him vs how much went on him, and you could overdose him if you gave any more. Just keep an eye on him and test him once or twice during the cycle to make sure he's okay. :)
 
You did the right thing. Do not give any more insulin. There is no way to determine how much went in him vs how much went on him, and you could overdose him if you gave any more. Just keep an eye on him and test him once or twice during the cycle to make sure he's okay. :)
So test him in say a few hours time (he's just had a couple of mouthfuls of chicken that one of the cats didn't finish up) Its evening here now 21.23. So just before bed? He had his shot at 19.30. He seems very bright and chatty. :)
 
Before bed is probably good. That gives both the food and the insulin time to make any differences in his BG, if you know what I mean.
 
The others have WAY more experience than I do, and I am sure they will chime in. I do not think the 7 hours of being high will hurt him.
 
Deep Breathes! Don't panic. It looks Chester got little if any of the Caninsulin (or he's just so excited to be home with his Mom!:p). I know you are panicking but I do have another suggestion. If memory serves, your normal shot time was 19:30 hrs. and right now it would be 00:30am your time if my math is on. The good news with Caninsulin is that you can shoot every 8 hours if numbers allow. The caveat to that is that it would throw your regular schedule out the window.

Here's my thoughts: If you are willing to get up and give insulin at 0330 hrs (am) you could give Chester a shot then provided he is still running high. That takes into consideration that he may have got some but not much of the 1930 hrs shot. Caninsulin sometimes doesn't last more than 8 hours and given how high his BG is right now, I think you'd be safe to shoot at 0330 hrs. but I would also do so only if you are able to then test at say +3 or 0630hrs to see where he is at. If you do this then we'll have to work out how to get you back onto a normal schedule. Thankfully Caninsulin is one of the more forgiving insulins when it comes to shot times.
Let me page Janet who has more experience than I do with this insulin.

@JanetNJ do you concur with this suggestion of shooting 8 hours post what is suspected furshot? You have much more experience with Caninsulin than me. History: Chester has recently had ketones and just got sprung from the vet hospital today so we don't want his numbers running high any longer than necessary.
 
Are you making a tent of his scruff fur and injecting into the "door" of the tent? I found that pulling the fur up high and taut gave a good tight depression for the needle to go in.
 
I like Linda's suggestion. After having ketones and being so ill it would be preferable for Chester to get some insulin if you can mange a wonky schedule for a day or two.
 
AJay if you are up for it, we suggest you test Chester at 03:00hrs and if his BG is still high, then feed him a pre-shot size meal and shoot insulin @ 03:30 hrs.
His next shot will not technically be due till 15:30 hrs. but we can back that one up too if his numbers allow and we'll get you back on schedule ASAP.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom
I caaaaaaaan (gulps at thought) test at 3h00 uk time and shoot at 03h30(it's 00.57 currently)
How much do I give him? 1.5u?
His normal times were 7am, 7pm. The hospital changed that to 8am, 8pm. They advised I could shoot this eve at 19.30 and then at 7am for the next shot. So 6.30 isn't so bad.
Am I making sense? Lol.

Is anyone going to be around to sense check before I shoot? (#terrified in uk lol)

I will need to get him back to a reasonable schedule by Monday because I have to go away for the day and won't be back till eve. He will be looked after, but I won't feel comfy about them having to do shots etc
 
Last edited:
Ok 03:00 hrs your time will only be 2200 hrs my time so I will still be up and about. I'll check back in around 0230 hrs your time to make sure you are OK. There will be others coming on board after that too so don't worry. Help is here if you need it. I don't think you will though. It does look like Chester got very little if any of the 1930 hrs shot so relax because the only issue is getting you back onto a workable schedule of 12 hours shots and I'm working on that now.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom
Thanks :) I'll try to get a few hrs sleep :) I'll post at 03h00. :)
I'm trying to get case studies done by Sunday so neeeed sleep lol.

Thanks so much :)

1.5u ok? x
 
Good morning! At 33.1 I would feed Chester and then give him his full 1.5 u dose of insulin. \

Did you manage a little nap time?
 
You will get it right. Give him a few minutes after he has eaten before shooting so you know his food is staying down and has started hitting his system. You can do some deep breathing or sing Chester a song while you wait! Anything to calm yourself. You will be fine. We've all done furshots at times for any number of reasons. I have two furry supervisors myself who can occasionally wreak havoc when they get Miss M's attention. :woot:
 
And so to bed. :) thanks guys. I'll catch you later.
Sleep well and huge thanks again :) x
 
AJay, get a test around +3 and if Chester's BG has gone down a lot, give him a snack to slow him down. If you are concerned post. I doubt I'll be up but if I am I will check in. I think I have a schedule sorted out for you but we'll discuss that tomorrow! Sweet dreams!
 
Thanks all. I'm still monitoring him closely. He's gone very quiet again :( Checked Keytones. Vaguely a trace. I'll check again soon.
 
Quick question for whoever is around. IF I need to take Chester back to the vets, how do I explain that I gave him insulin at 3.30 this morning?? (Normally 7am, 7pm)
 
Quick question for whoever is around. IF I need to take Chester back to the vets, how do I explain that I gave him insulin at 3.30 this morning?? (Normally 7am, 7pm)
Say the truth. You believe you have a fur shot and when the number was climbing high you were afraid he would develope ketones again, and that the plan was to gradually get back on schedule by shifting the shot time an hour each time providing the number at test time was shootable.
 
@JanetNJ Prob is vet is going to think I did it off my own back. She doesn't know about this forum. Trying to ease them in gently..
bg 14.1 as of a few mins ago +7
 
@JanetNJ Prob is vet is going to think I did it off my own back. She doesn't know about this forum. Trying to ease them in gently..
bg 14.1 as of a few mins ago +7
Why do you need the vet today? Listen all we can do is make the best decision we can in the moment.
 
Good day. My laptop decided to go south this am so if you get cryptic messages forgive me. Not used to using phone.
Much better # this am. Now for timing next shots.....
I suggest 10 hr cycles which would mean next shot @ 1330 hrs. Numbers permitting.
Then 2330 tonight.
Saturday do shots @ 0930 &then 1930 hrs. This gets you back to 7/19 hr schedule. Would that work for you?
 
@JanetNJ
@MrWorfMen's Mom
Chester has gone very quiet again :( Not as ravenous as he has been (bowl and all if he could!) A thought occurred that perhaps 60g of what I have been giving him is a bit much per serving. Tummy feels a bit full. He is getting pure protein in the form of the balanced raw diet so not fillers etc... I have seen him wee, but not poo since he got home.

I have spoken to the VN at the hospital and there is nothing they are concerned about in terms of his numbers (nor me if I look at them as numbers)

Hes had his Noroclav this morn (sent home with it) Latest BG is 14.1 (+7) Keytones a fraction off the original colour of the tip of the strip. I couldn't check his temp because it would appear my thermometer is not playing nicely and being accurate.

Linda, you should still be on your 2nd coffee at least! (Hug). I can work to that schedule, no problem. :) :)

I could get very emotional with the support you are giving. It is terrifying, but less so with you guys to help. Im just nervous about telling the vet what we are doing because I don't want to annoy them - even though it is very clearly working...

Im guessing it is possible to over feed a starving cat?... oops - He's flat out on the kitchen floor
 
He won't be as ravenous when his BG is down. As long as he is eating & getting insulin , he'll be fine. Just keep an eye on those ketones & if he looks hungry feed him & to heck with usual meal times. ;)
 
We're here to help. Linda has given you a schedule to follow for the next couple of days. The keys for now are: 1. hydration - add extra water to his food; 2. food - in small amounts and as often as necessary; 3. insulin at a high enough dose - so far the 1.5 u seems to get him down nicely; 4. urine testing for ketones - if it moves above trace, call the vet ASAP.

I assume Noroclav is an antibiotic? That can make them feel "off". Was he getting it at the clinic too? Mind you, he was so ill then it might have been hard to tell one effect from the others.

We all understand the anxiety that happens when you deviate from the vet's instructions. Hopefully you can get his treatment well underway at home and then you can discuss any changes with them when you feel calmer.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom Set feed times? What's that? :cat: Ive not seen him go for a poo since coming home. But the raw tends to be low residue as it's generally easier to digest. I might just sprinkle a bit of psyllium husk on his food for my peace of mind.
At the mo he's spread out on the kitchen floor (as opposed to curled up uncomfy)

So I'll test and shoot as you suggest at 13h30 (25 mins) and go from there. I'll post the results beforehand if anyone is around :)
xx
 
We're here to help. Linda has given you a schedule to follow for the next couple of days. The keys for now are: 1. hydration - add extra water to his food; 2. food - in small amounts and as often as necessary; 3. insulin at a high enough dose - so far the 1.5 u seems to get him down nicely; 4. urine testing for ketones - if it moves above trace, call the vet ASAP.

I assume Noroclav is an antibiotic? That can make them feel "off". Was he getting it at the clinic too? Mind you, he was so ill then it might have been hard to tell one effect from the others.

We all understand the anxiety that happens when you deviate from the vet's instructions. Hopefully you can get his treatment well underway at home and then you can discuss any changes with them when you feel calmer.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom Set feed times? What's that? :cat: Ive not seen him go for a poo since coming home. But the raw tends to be low residue as it's generally easier to digest. I might just sprinkle a bit of psyllium husk on his food for my peace of mind.
At the mo he's spread out on the kitchen floor (as opposed to curled up uncomfy)

So I'll test and shoot as you suggest at 13h30 (25 mins) and go from there. I'll post the results beforehand if anyone is around :)
xx
I think Linda was referring to any sort of meal schedule you might have. Also, wrt testing BG before dosing insulin, we recommend removing all food 2 hours before so the test result isn't food influenced. That way any dosing decisions are made based on actual BG, not a number that's up because of food.
 
People also used plain pureed cooked pumpkin in the food to help with constipation. You can usually find it in the grocery store in cans but make sure it isn't the spiced pie version. Good hydration can help with constipation too.
 
@Kris & Teasel Lol re feeding times. I / we don't have set times :) :) They went out the window a while back :)

Yup, I'll feed him much smaller amounts, I have a feeling I've given him too much in one go as what I'm feeding is pretty much straight protein, no fillers lol
Thanks so much for your help :) x
 
People also used plain pureed cooked pumpkin in the food to help with constipation. You can usually find it in the grocery store in cans but make sure it isn't the spiced pie version. Good hydration can help with constipation too.
I was just going to suggest that. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top