fur shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

JANIE1234

Member Since 2012
MY CAT IS ABOUT 11YRS OLD AND WAS DIAGNOSED WITH DIABETES 2 YRS AGO AND WENT INTO REMISSION, AND IS NOW ON 2 SHOTS A DAY 1 UNIT. I THINK I MISSED HER SHOT, SO CAN I GIVE AGAIN AND WHEN.
 
THANKYOU, I AGREE I'M JUST VERY UPSET, SHE HAS HAD A VERY BAD NIGHT. HOWEVER, SHE IS EATING AND DRINKING, SHE JUST DOES NOT LOOK GOOD, SHE IS GOING TO THE DR'S MON. MORN. I JUST LOST A CAT JACK A FEW MONTHS TO PANCRATIC CANCER SO I'M KIND OF SCARED BY THE WHOLE THING, I AM NOT NEW TO SHOTS OR DIABETES, BUT I GUESS I FORGOT A LOT OF THINGS, I HAVE BEEN READING UP ON IT ALL DAY, AND I THANKYOU.
 
I JUST THOUGHT I WOULD SHARE WITH YOU ALL R/E MY 2 MISSED FUR SHOTS, ITS A GOOD JOB I DID. MY CAT ALMOST DIED, I TOOK HER TO THE DR'S AND HER SUGAR WAS about 44, so she went from hyper to hypo within 4-5 days, I TOLD MY DR I DON'T UNDERSTAND, AND SHE SAID MAYBE SHE DOES'NT NEED THE INSULIN, OR NOT AS MUCH OR DULIT IT. WHEN I FIRST TOOK HER TO THE DR HER SUGER WAS 400, AND DROPPING SO LOW IS SCAREY, THE DR ASKED ME WHAT I DID TO BRING HER BACK WHEN SHE WAS IN THIS VOMITING LATHARGIC CONFUSED STATE, I SAID I PUSH FOOD IN HER MOUTH. I WAS MORTIFIED, SO SHE IS OFF INSULIN FOR UNTIL I TAKE HER BACK WED TO THE DR'S, I NEVER HAD THIS HAPPEN BEFORE. I HAVE NOT SLEPT IN A COUPLE OF DAYS SO WHEN I GET BACK TO NORM I WILL BE ASKING MORE QUESTIONS, I WAS JUST WONDERING IF ANYBODY HAS HAD THAT SAME EXPERENCE OR AM I BEING OVER THE TOP WORRIED.

PATTI
 
CLOSE CALL

JANIE1234 said:
I JUST THOUGHT I WOULD SHARE WITH YOU ALL R/E MY 2 MISSED FUR SHOTS, ITS A GOOD JOB I DID. MY CAT ALMOST DIED, I TOOK HER TO THE DR'S AND HER SUGAR WAS about 44, so she went from hyper to hypo within 4-5 days, I TOLD MY DR I DON'T UNDERSTAND, AND SHE SAID MAYBE SHE DOES'NT NEED THE INSULIN, OR NOT AS MUCH OR DULIT IT. WHEN I FIRST TOOK HER TO THE DR HER SUGER WAS 400, AND DROPPING SO LOW IS SCAREY, THE DR ASKED ME WHAT I DID TO BRING HER BACK WHEN SHE WAS IN THIS VOMITING LATHARGIC CONFUSED STATE, I SAID I PUSH FOOD IN HER MOUTH. I WAS MORTIFIED, SO SHE IS OFF INSULIN FOR UNTIL I TAKE HER BACK WED TO THE DR'S, I NEVER HAD THIS HAPPEN BEFORE. I HAVE NOT SLEPT IN A COUPLE OF DAYS SO WHEN I GET BACK TO NORM I WILL BE ASKING MORE QUESTIONS, I WAS JUST WONDERING IF ANYBODY HAS HAD THAT SAME EXPERENCE OR AM I BEING OVER THE TOP WORRIED.

PATTI
 
How long after you gave her the last insulin shot did she have a reading of 44? That is, did you give her a shot in the morning, then miss the evening shot (fur shot) and then in the morning, your cat was showing a 44 BG reading? If it was more than 12 hours AFTER you gave the last insulin, your cat's pancreas could be self regulating -- so this would be a good thing and not a hypo. BUT IT ALL DEPENDS on the timing of your last insulin shot. If you can provide more details on the timing of the shots, the more experienced members of the board will be along shortly to evaluate.
 
I'm not sure I have your timeline down. If you gave two fur shots and then she was later at 44, you either got more insulin in her than you think OR the 44 is a normal number for her.....was that on a human glucometer?

Cats in remission and non diabetic cats can run what we would think of as "low". Some of the cats that were in the lantus TR ISG and have gone into remission and get no insulin will sometimes have a BG in the 30s. They can't hypo since they are not on insulin.

The insulin depot from lantus or levemir can affect several cycles but if you are not replenishing it with injections, it's draining and your kitty can't hypo without more insulin. Bshe might just naturally like the 40s. I would not give insulin and I would continue to monitor her.
 
MelanieP and Ninja said:
How long after you gave her the last insulin shot did she have a reading of 44? That is, did you give her a shot in the morning, then miss the evening shot (fur shot) and then in the morning, your cat was showing a 44 BG reading? If it was more than 12 hours AFTER you gave the last insulin, your cat's pancreas could be self regulating -- so this would be a good thing and not a hypo. BUT IT ALL DEPENDS on the timing of your last insulin shot. If you can provide more details on the timing of the shots, the more experienced members of the board will be along shortly to evaluate.

I started a shot thurs eve and then fri morn, then I did the fur shot sat eve., then about 8:00 in the eve. she started acting strange all through that night, I did'nt know what else to do so I stuck some food in her mouth and she was somewhat better, then I fed her again and gave her another fur shot, thank god, and she was much better, than by mon morn was really lathargic, took her to the doctor's and thats when I found out she was dangerously low. I never have checked my cat at home, but I WILL NOW, I am trying to understand all this stuff. my cat was on insulin for a year about 2 yrs ago and I never had this kind of a problem. She has not had any insulin since fri, she going to the dr's today for a curve, I'm anxious to hear what is going on, I know this does not make sense, but I will fill you all in.

Patti
 
You still have two days, do you feel confident doing home-testing? Most of us on the board do it as a safety precaution to make sure the BG's are not too low to shoot.

You can purchase a human meter- if you have a walmart close by they have the Relion Micro meter for $9 and 25 strips for $18 or so (I buy 100/$32)- these are the CHEAPEST strips around. Buy some lancets that are 26 or 28 gauge as well.

To test-
Rub her ears for a good 2 to 5 minutes, massage lightly. This gets the blood flowing in the ears- not too many capillaries at the beginning.
I free-hand the lancet rather than using the pen but each person is different. Free handing gives me more control, I hold the lancet at a 45 degree angle and poke (have a folded tissue on the inside of the ear for stability and to help pinch after you get your sample).
You may have to massage the ear a little bit to get enough blood.
Scoop it up on the back of your fingernail- saves you a redo if your cat flicks her ear and spins the drop away while you are getting the strip in the meter.
Once you have the drop lightly pinch the ear to stop the bleeding- 3 seconds for a regular hole, 5-10 if you hit the vein and you have a puddler.
THEN place the strip in the meter as most meters have 10 seconds of active strip time- after that you could get an error reading. So do not put the strip in until you have the blood.
Record the number in the little booklet provided with the kit.
Give a treat- freeze dried chicken, shrimp, beef works well.

Good luck!
 
hi everybody,
I know I have you all confused of what is going on, but I'm going to recap a bit, last thurs I gave her first shot, this was after we were at the dr's and I went and got the insulin, LANTIS. Also picked up the RX SYRINGES. Went home and gave her first shot 1 unit. That shot went well, fri morn another shot, fri and sat night possiable fur shot, her shots were at 4:00 in morn and 4:00 in the eve. than sat night all hell broke loose, so, I took her yesterday to the dr for curve, when I went to pick her up I took my syringe they told me to use and showed them what l did, well I was giving my poor cat 10 units of insulin instead of 1 unit, using the syringe they prescribe and told me to use, so I drew up 1 unit on the syringe, which was really 10.
I CRIED IN THE OFFICE I WAS DONE, now keep in mind this was before I tested or anything, and oh by the way, I want to thank you all for teaching me how to check my cat, and I did buy an human device checker, I did my first one this morn, her test was 232 , gave her insulin, proper dosage, again I want to thank you, I will keep you informed, they want her back in 1 wk for another curve, I'm so done, I darn near killed my cat, spent 700.00 so far and missed 2 days of work so I'm sorry if I SOUND UNGREATFUL, BUT I AM TO YOU ALL, PLEASE TELL ME IF THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ANY OF YOU, I FEEL SO STUPID.

Patti
 
Hello Patti,

what is your kitty's name? I'm glad he's doing OK now. I believe it was your vet's obligation to make sure that you were shown the correct amount of insulin on the syringe. All they needed to do was draw some colored water in the syringe up to the proper dose. A refresher course is always good to have. Anyway, we all learn best from all our pitfalls! Easier said than done!

I'll be 70 years old next month, but for a couple of weeks this past December I did something incredibly stupid. I did not test my extra sweet Pudge, just blindly shut 4 units of ProZinc insulin into him 2X a day!!! I could have killed him many times over. Luckily, that's when my daughter found this website which, in turn, rescued my Pudge & my sanity. My Pudge is in remission now!!! All thanks to FDMB & the kindhearted members.

Both you & your kitty will be fine. Trust the people here. Ask any and all questions you have. Day or night. Someone will respond. Sending you many hugs from me & purrs from Pudge.

Best wishes,
Sophie
 
I have to agree. It's seems really irresponsible that the vet didn't explain it more clearly to you. I'm very happy that you have it all figured out now. :YMHUG:
 
Hi Patti! What an ordeal you've had!! Most of us do the curves at home and send the results to the vet to interpret. This saves a lot of money and the results are more accurate. Why? Because cats become very stressed at the vet's office which increases their blood glucose (BG) readings, sometimes by 100 points or more. My first vet did not support home testing so I ended up changing to another vet who was more knowledgeable about this. My second vet told me, "Do not bring your cat here for testing, because the results will be inaccurate. I would prefer you do the curves at home and send me the info." I think most people on this board work with their vets in the same way, and in addition there are many very experienced members of this board who can guide you on dosing as well.

I am so glad you are home testing, and would advise you to set up a spreadsheet on which you can record your blood glucose testing numbers. This spreadsheet allows the experienced members to view your progress and make recommendations to help keep your kitty safe. Here is a link that explains how to set up the spreadsheet, but if you need help with it, just give us a shout and we will help you. viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

Since your cat was in remission before, I assume you are familiar with the guidelines about feeding -- that you should be feeding only low carbohydrate wet food (like Fancy Feast classic pates) and low carb treats (like freeze dried chicken) - for the best chance of regaining remission for your cat. There are many other brands that are low carb, but the Fancy Feast is one used by many on this board. If you need more information though, here is an excellent article by veterinarian and feline diabetes expert Dr. Lisa Pierson that speaks about nutrition and "all things" diabetes. It would be great to read as a refresher. http://www.catinfo.org/?link=felinediabetes

Regarding your syringe, are you using the one with a 30 unit capacity? Many people here get the one that holds 100 units by mistake (that is the one typically used by humans) -- but YOU want the one that holds 30 units, as it makes dosing small quantities easier. Here is a photo of the one you want -- though make sure it has 1/2 unit markings (which are not showing on this picture). If your syringe markings go up to 50 or 100 (rather than 30), you are using the wrong one.



I am so glad your kitty survived the ordeal and is, hopefully, on the mend. Please reach out if you have additional questions or need direction about anything.

Melanie
 

Attachments

  • 30Unit.jpg
    30Unit.jpg
    129.9 KB · Views: 867
Hi Patti, I am to hear glad your cat and you have come through this. I am fairly new to all this and I just want to encourage you about the home testing that all the experts here have already explained, and putting the numbers into the spreadsheet so folks can help advise as needed. We just started home testing a month a ago and it made a big difference very quickly. The testing does not directly change your cat, it does really increase confidence you know what is happening with your cat so you can take action accordingly. We took our meter to our vet to compare it with the vets meter and the lab using same blood sample. He expected our human meter would read higher but its actually slighly lower than his meter and 30% lower than the lab. That got our vet onboard with our home testing to manage dosing, he no longer wants us to bring Jasper in to do a routine bg curve. Next we put our data into the spreadsheet template used here and got more insights from the experienced folks. I wish we had found all the help here and started home testing earlier, but its never to late!
Leslie
 
thanks
I think I will talk to my vet r/e home curves. however, I have another problem, my cat who's name by the way is Boogar, I'll tell you about that sometime, is okay but is not eating. she does act hungery but just moves her food around her bowl, she has not really eaten since yesterday morn before her curve, and of course the do not feed them for 8 hrs, she did not eat when I got her home. I have tried every different kinds of food, she will nibble but thats it. any sugestions out there?


Patti
 
Have you had a chance to do another BG reading since her last dose? I am wondering if her near hypo incident caused her need for insulin to be reduced. This sometimes happens. Boogar's BG reading this morning of 232 is not extraordinarily high. I am wondering if the 1 unit is still ok for her. If you have a chance, getting a current BG on her might be a good thing to do. Sometimes when the BG is either very high or very low, the cats act unusual. I know that when my Ninja's BG levels were very high, she was not particularly interested in food. And if that is the case with Boogar, maybe she will be hungrier when that high number clears; but if she is low, you would want to know that too. I would invite the more experienced members of the board to guide you more on this, as I have limited experience in this area (just my speculation).

Still, an updated BG reading couldn't hurt. :) PS: If you change the subject title from "fur shot" to something like "Cat not eating", you might get more specific responses.
 
Re:CAT NOT EATING

MelanieP and Ninja said:
Have you had a chance to do another BG reading since her last dose? I am wondering if her near hypo incident caused her need for insulin to be reduced. This sometimes happens. Boogar's BG reading this morning of 232 is not extraordinarily high. I am wondering if the 1 unit is still ok for her. If you have a chance, getting a current BG on her might be a good thing to do. Sometimes when the BG is either very high or very low, the cats act unusual. I know that when my Ninja's BG levels were very high, she was not particularly interested in food. And if that is the case with Boogar, maybe she will be hungrier when that high number clears; but if she is low, you would want to know that too. I would invite the more experienced members of the board to guide you more on this, as I have limited experience in this area (just my speculation).

Still, an updated BG reading couldn't hurt. :) PS: If you change the subject title from "fur shot" to something like "Cat not eating", you might get more specific responses.

THANKYOU I TRIED CHANGING THE SUBJECT AND IT DIDN'T CHANGE, MAYBE THIS TIME, I AM GOING TO TEST HER NOW
 
Hi Patti: You can always start a new topic, and just give people a brief summary of your weekend so they are up to speed with Boogar's situation. How was Boogar's BG reading?
 
Re: BOOGAR'S BG READING

MelanieP and Ninja said:
Hi Patti: You can always start a new topic, and just give people a brief summary of your weekend so they are up to speed with Boogar's situation. How was Boogar's BG reading?


I COULD NOT GET IT, I CALLED THE DR, AND SHE SAID TO GO AHEAD AND GIVE HER A SHOT, IF SHE CAN TAKE 10 UNITS, SHE CAN HANDLE 1 UINIT, HA! HA! SHE SEEMS TO BE OK, I THINK MAYBE I'M OVER REACTING A LITTLE, I ALSO TOLD DR I'M GOING TO BE DOING BOOGAR'S CURVE'S AT HOME, AND SHE AGREED, AT THIS POINT SHE KNEW HOW I FELT AND SAID THAT THEY WOULD SHOW ME HOW. I WOULD LIKE TO ASK YOU ALL WHAT TYPE OF LANCET DO I USE, I DON'T KNOW IF THAT IS THE RIGHT WORD, THE TOOL THAT STICKS THE POOR CAT TO GET THE BLOOD FOR THE TEST STRIP, THE ONES THEY GAVE ME FROM THE VET'S, ARE LITTLE BEVEL NEEDLES, SO YOU REALLY HAVE TO BE CAREFUL, SO I AM NOT CHECKING UNTIL I GET SOMETHING BETTER. BOOGAR HAS STARTED TO EAT A BIT BETTER, FOR WHAT I PUT THAT POOR BABY THROUGH. I WOULD LIKE TO THANKYOU ALL AGAIN FOR BEING THERE FOR ME.

PATTI
 
Hi Patti! I can speak to what is available in the US, though not sure where you live. With your blood glucose meter, you should have gotten a "lancet pen," a device about 4" or 5" long that looks like a fat pen, to hold the lancets. You have the buy the lancets separately though. They are available in all drug stores, usually next to the glucose meters and other diabetic supplies. The lancets are about 1" in length and fit inside the lancet pen (though you can also use them "free hand" to poke without the pen). The lancets come with a little protective cap over the tip which pulls or twists off.

Most people here recommend you get the 26 gauge or 28 gauge lancets to start. The gauge refers to the size of the tip, the lower the number the thicker the tip. Cat's ears area more difficult to penetrate initially than human skin, so you want to start with the lower gauge lancets to make it easier to get blood. Once you are experienced, you can move up to the finer gauges.

The lancet pen has a spring mechanism that "cocks" like a gun, then fires when you press the release button. This makes it easier for some to poke the cat's ears -- as you just have to load the lancet into the pen, aim and shoot. Or, as mentioned earlier, you can also just use the lancet freehand, without using the pen at all. Whatever is comfortable for you.

The lancets are not expensive. I got a box of 200 for something like $12 (if I am remembering correctly). I only use them once and discard, so as to minimize the chance of infection. I also use Neosporin ointment on my cats ear (a tiny, tiny amount) either before or after the poke. I use the kind that says "pain relief" on it; but make sure you get the OINTMENT and not the CREAM, as the ointment will help the blood droplet to bead up, while the cream does not.

If you live outside the US, post your country and other members can speak to what is available there. If you need more testing tips, just let us know. I was the WORST EVER at testing, and even I got it after a while. LOL!! Good luck and keep us informed on how Boogar is doing. :)
 
Was told by my vet to never 'reshoot'and just wait until next dose - she said that it is not u common and stressed that it is better to under do it. Too low BG is much more dangerous.
 
Re: CURVE FOR BOOGAR

Hi everybody,
Just thought I would tell u whats been going on lately, I have been testing Boogar about twice a day, she has been running within the normal range from 80 to 122, one time she tested 128, I gave her 1 unit of insulin. I called the Dr Mon. and told her and she said maybe she only needs a half a unit twice a day, are you kidding me, I sugested 1 unit maybe once a day. I also told her that I will be doing the curve on thurs, and she was okay with that. I do have a little problem, Ever since my husband died Boogar gets me up at 3 or 3:30 in the morn, which makes it hard to test before eating, but thats ok I can handle that, I worry about feeding her 1 can of fancy feast at that time, and she does not get fed until 4:00 pm when I get home from work, I work pt 5 days in a 2 wk period. any sugestions out there.

Patti
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top