?? FUR Shot Twice, 2/7 Phoenix

Scdal

Member Since 2020
Please Help! This morning I gave Phoenix another fur shot. I did this yesterday morning as well. Yesterday, there was no excuse. Phoenix was cooperative and it was entirely my fault. I managed to control his BG somewhat by limiting his lunchtime meal.
Today, Phoenix was squirming and wouldn't hold still while I was trying to give his insulin. He got another fur shot. His fur was all wet. I know we are not supposed to give more insulin but I am retired and live alone. I am able to check his BG every 20 minutes if I need to. Could I possibly just give him 5 units instead of the 10 units he is supposed to have?
Phoenix was very close to getting regulated a few days ago. His numbers had dropped into the greens for the first time in a very long time. I don't know what to do about the TR when he has had fur shots 2 days in a row.
I am so upset! I yelled at Phoenix after I gave him the fur shot. I stomped around the house screaming. I was so frustrated and I am trying so hard to get him regulated.
Again, since I am home all day, please tell me I could possibly give him half a dose of his insulin. I feel so guilty for getting so upset. It is hard when you have no one to talk to and share your feelings with. I am so embarrassed by the way I acted but I am very worried about Phoenix not getting his insulin.
 
Deep breath, Susan. I know this is stressful but, no, I would not give anymore insulin. You might have gotten in more than you think. He will get back on track. It’s just not worth taking a chance because 5u is still a lot of insulin. In addition, he has an enormous depot with 10u so that will help as well.

Have you ever tried rolling his fur as I show in the Testing and Shooting Tips? That might help.

You want to stay calm around him. Yelling at him might trigger a negative response when you try to shoot again.
 
Deep breath, Susan. I know this is stressful but, no, I would not give anymore insulin. You might have gotten in more than you think. He will get back on track. It’s just not worth taking a chance because 5u is still a lot of insulin. In addition, he has an enormous depot with 10u so that will help as well.

Have you ever tried rolling his fur as I show in the Testing and Shooting Tips? That might help.

You want to stay calm around him. Yelling at him might trigger a negative response when you try to shoot again.
It is not that I don't know how to give shots. Phoenix was squirming and wouldn't hold still. I was determined to give him his insulin. I think I should have backed off and let him get sleepy from eating his breakfast and then tried to give him his insulin. It would have been better to have been late with the insulin instead of getting a fur shot.

Tonight, I am going to try giving his insulin while he is eating. He doesn't like to be bothered while he is enjoying his meal but I will have a stab at it.
 
It is not that I don't know how to give shots. Phoenix was squirming and wouldn't hold still. I was determined to give him his insulin. I think I should have backed off and let him get sleepy from eating his breakfast and then tried to give him his insulin. It would have been better to have been late with the insulin instead of getting a fur shot.

Tonight, I am going to try giving his insulin while he is eating. He doesn't like to be bothered while he is enjoying his meal but I will have a stab at it.
I understand but there is more than one way to give shots and a different way might be easier. Although my Gracie was always compliant and didn’t care about her shots and I had been giving various kinds of shots to my cats over the years, I found the rolling method to be very easy and I never gave a fur shot.
 
injsitesforcats1.jpg


Since I stopped giving the shot in his scruff I've never given a "Fur Shot" I don't tent his skin. I part his fur till I see skin & give the shot at an angel just under his skin. I use a different spot each time . ( over 3 years now)

Best of Luck !

images
 
Back
Top