fur shot- Copper-bad night and day

Status
Not open for further replies.

owlgal

Very Active Member
I really messed up last night and got a fur shot in copper. He felt bad last night and today. Feel so bad. I guess i will have to go back to 1/2" needles. Any thoughts of good places to give shot on a skinny and VERY furry kitty. He hates his side.

Hope to have a better day tomorrow. Will try some cluster testing tomorrow. His poor ears are so sore.

Lori

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub ... utput=html
 
You can shoot the scruff area. Really, any place from his shoulders to his back end where you can tent the skin enough to get the needle in under the skin is okay. Some people shoot different areas with different results. It has been noticed on a few of these kitties that changing the location after a few weeks of shooting one area gives you better results. If you shoot around the scruff, do it on one side of his spine in the AM and the other in the PM if you want.
Long hair? That can present a challenge. Some folks use a cotton ball or face cloth with a little bit of water on it to get the fur "out of the way" and leave an area where the skin is showing as a "bulls eye" to shoot at.

Carl
 
Unfortunately Shakepeare's fur is quite thick
so in the beginining I would shave him until I was confident I could do the shots without
Yes it stinks but it was SO VERY helpful when learning
 
GREAT NIGHT,,SURPRISE, SURPRISED

We were so surprixed to see the +11 reading so low. And it keeps going low. I decided to skip the shot tonight, last reading was 147. So i will watch him and make sure he doesn't go into hypo. Tomorrow will be a new day, again. From +6 on he seemed to start being himself all over again. We have my sweet boy back.

Has this happen to anyonw else started high400_ and then low ,but keep going low +13, +14.. Very strange!!

Well i must go to sleep.

Lori

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub ... utput=html
 
Lori,
I don't think you have to worry about a hypo tonight. He hasn't had an insulin since this morning, and he won't just keep dropping. If he does go any lower, only one of 2 reasons....
He's producing some insulin on his own, and he won't make himself go THAT low, or
He doesn't eat anything, so nothing would be pushing up his BG.

He ate at PMPS time, right? That'll push him up, and maybe his own insulin will push him back down.
If you get a "high" reading in the AM, it'll be because of no shot tonight. If you don't, then that's a sign he's doing at least some of the "insulin" work on his own.
This is all actually "good" to see!
The outward signs that he's more like his old self? Very encouraging as well. :smile:
Carl
 
Had a high reading this amps(353). Dr. P recommended to give .50u last night, but i whimped out. Maybe will be more confident tonight. Glad he had a long period of in the green. Maybe his own insulin is starting to kick in. I hope so.

He is doing good today so far. Down 100pts @+3. He is acting good today. Been bright and active all day. So sweet. I'm encouraged. But finding out that FD is so unpredictable from one day to the next right now.

Thanks for support.

lori
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub ... utput=html


p.s.
Do you know how to get this long https to a short name?
 
owlgal01 said:
Where do i do the signature? Is this in the publish the web link?

At the top of the screen, go to user control panel. You can create a sig that's automatically added to the bottom of your post. Good place for your ss link & anything else you want to always show.
 
If you put your insulin and what you feed in your signature also, it saves a lot of questions. Whatever is in your signature will automatically come up every time you post.

If you need help, send me a pm.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top