Full or mini curve

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitty mom

Member Since 2014
I've been laying low as I started having a hard time dealing with the sudden demand of treating a diabetic Dasher.
Dasher has now been on 2u of Lantus twice daily since Thursday , I lowered it from the vets 3u twice a day after the first day. I have done random BG testing and his numbers had come down but then after so much advise I kind of shut down.

Long story short tonight an hour before his next shot I had the feeling that I better test him so I did and his number was at 70 so needless to say I skipped tonight's shot and gave him a few HC treats....don't know if that was right to do or not but I got worried. Tomorrow I am going to give it my all and hope to get a full curve so I can see exactly how the Lantus is working. I will post tomorrow throughout the day his numbers and plan on sharing your advise and info with his vet in hopes to make the right treatment plan best for Dasher. I appreciate your understanding and am trying to do the best I can for him.

I also have no idea how to make this google chart everyone has.
 
Hi Robin,

I remember that feeling of information overload and being completely overwhelmed only too well. At first, there's the massive vertical learning curve, the flurry of activity to get supplies and learning how to test and give injections. Then there may be a diet change to contend with and, of course, having to adjust everything around the schedule requirements of a diabetic. After that, there can be a bit of a delayed shock reaction as the change really hits home. :YMHUG:

We all started where you are now. It's a lot to take in and you're doing great. You're home testing and keeping Dasher safe. :thumbup Some caregivers don't home test at all so you're way ahead of the game, even though it may not feel like that just right now. It does get easier. Promise.

Here's a link to a post that tells you how to set up Dasher's spreadsheet:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

If you get stuck, just pop up any questions you have. And good luck with your curve tomorrow. :smile:
 
Can we get you started using our grid to record your glucose tests? It will help us give you better feedback. Instructions are here.

Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

From left to right, you enter
the Date in the first column
the AMPS (morning pre-shot test) in the 2nd column
the Units given (turquoise column)

Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
and so on.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening pre-shot)
To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
 
I will go on my PC later today and try and set-up the grid . I'm going to test him right about 9:00 , feed and shoot as I imagin his number has got to be higher since he didn't get a shot last night. Just need to have my morning coffee and wake up a little. ~O)
 
Dashers AMPS # is 176, this is 24 hours since his last shot. Do I shoot or not?
we were out all day yesterday so no BG tested but tested before I was to give him his pm shot and he wad at 70 so we skipped that dose .
 
Only just spotted your post. I think the no-shoot recommendation for newly diagnosed cats on Lantus is 200. I didn't encounter this issue in Saoirse's treatment because she had been on Caninsulin before.

I think that as you gather more data the no-shoot number can be reduced when you've a very good idea of how your kitty is responding. Hopefully a more experienced member will be able to give you more and better information. I just didn't want to leave your post unanswered.
 
All I can say is we are all in the same boat with information overload. Read, read, read and read some more - online, on this forum and listen to what your vet says. Once you've done all that, make your own judgement call based on the facts you have read, and the experience of those on this forum. Initially I was very skeptical, I was solely listening to my vet only but 6 weeks in, I have found that my vet has changed her opinion based on what I have reported from here. For example, I told her re methyl B12 and initially she wouldn't let me try it and I was sticking to her decision. However, having read on here and watched several YouTube videos, I made my own decision to get it anyways.

When all boils down to it, you are the one who lives with your kitty and the decisions you make so you have to make sure you are armed with as much info as you can. The overload WILL get better the more you learn. Read the stickies on here as they have been very helpful to me. I think the Start Low, Go Slow mantra is very good and very safe. If you think about it in human terms, any changes we make in diet, exercise, medication etc, slow and steady is always good.

Keep doing the good work!
Juliet
 
Have you managed to figure out setting up your spreadsheet yet? It is such a useful tool. The step by step instructions are easy to follow.
 
that's a nice +4, have you done the +6 yet?

It looks like Dasher is responding VERY well to the insulin. I'm glad you're testing today - if he went to 70 (or lower) yesterday and seems to be heading that way again today, even after a skipped shot, I wouldn't be surprised if you find that his dose is still too high.

((((hugs)))) hang in there. It is much more overwhelming to start at a high dose and have to deal with low numbers early on versus starting at a lower dose and easing yourself into things. Even though I had over a year of experience by the time Lucy started cruising down the dosing scale, I remember still feeling like it was a wild ride.

Please review the hypo instructions just in case he hits some lower numbers during this curve.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top