SaraM2261
Member Since 2011
I shot this morning and then planned to test at 7+ to see how long he was at his peak, and when I just tested (7.5+)he is at 397. 
Maybe I did a fur shot???? It's so small an amount that I am always paranoid about it. I am not sure I would even know if I did a fur shot, or be able to feel it. Can you easily feel 1u? Maybe I should just fill with water 1u and spill it on his fur so I know what it would be like.
So I am going to test again at 8.5+ and see where that number is actually headed. Would you ever give just a few drops to see the cat through to the next shot? His next shot (of course at 12+) will be in about 4 hours. Plus the extra wait until it starts kicking in, all that time spent sky high. It makes me scared and frustrated and sad.... I don't know what to do. I read the Lantus protocol and it says that if the nadir is still over 200 after 6 cycles you can increase by .25u. (you fill the shed for 5-7 days only if the nadir is under 200, and his is closer to 300.) I wish I would just see some better numbers, but will be happy to be able to safely increase a smidgen tomorrow night.
That's a super high number right?? Should I be scared?? He is not showing signs of DKA, he smells normal. I was just so not expecting that number. He is normally that high pre-shot, and his pre-shot this morning was 271, so I was expecting that his shed was full and I would see a longer nadir (which would start at 6+ for him based on the past 2 days) and would hopefully still be going at 7+. Not so. Unless it was a fur shot...I didn't feel anything distinctly wet after but he is long haired and I'm not sure if I would feel 1u. AAAARRRRGGG (sigh)
nailbite_smile confused_cat :cry:
Maybe I did a fur shot???? It's so small an amount that I am always paranoid about it. I am not sure I would even know if I did a fur shot, or be able to feel it. Can you easily feel 1u? Maybe I should just fill with water 1u and spill it on his fur so I know what it would be like.
So I am going to test again at 8.5+ and see where that number is actually headed. Would you ever give just a few drops to see the cat through to the next shot? His next shot (of course at 12+) will be in about 4 hours. Plus the extra wait until it starts kicking in, all that time spent sky high. It makes me scared and frustrated and sad.... I don't know what to do. I read the Lantus protocol and it says that if the nadir is still over 200 after 6 cycles you can increase by .25u. (you fill the shed for 5-7 days only if the nadir is under 200, and his is closer to 300.) I wish I would just see some better numbers, but will be happy to be able to safely increase a smidgen tomorrow night.
That's a super high number right?? Should I be scared?? He is not showing signs of DKA, he smells normal. I was just so not expecting that number. He is normally that high pre-shot, and his pre-shot this morning was 271, so I was expecting that his shed was full and I would see a longer nadir (which would start at 6+ for him based on the past 2 days) and would hopefully still be going at 7+. Not so. Unless it was a fur shot...I didn't feel anything distinctly wet after but he is long haired and I'm not sure if I would feel 1u. AAAARRRRGGG (sigh)
nailbite_smile confused_cat :cry: