frustrating day/numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

SaraM2261

Member Since 2011
I shot this morning and then planned to test at 7+ to see how long he was at his peak, and when I just tested (7.5+)he is at 397. :(

Maybe I did a fur shot???? It's so small an amount that I am always paranoid about it. I am not sure I would even know if I did a fur shot, or be able to feel it. Can you easily feel 1u? Maybe I should just fill with water 1u and spill it on his fur so I know what it would be like. :(

So I am going to test again at 8.5+ and see where that number is actually headed. Would you ever give just a few drops to see the cat through to the next shot? His next shot (of course at 12+) will be in about 4 hours. Plus the extra wait until it starts kicking in, all that time spent sky high. It makes me scared and frustrated and sad.... I don't know what to do. I read the Lantus protocol and it says that if the nadir is still over 200 after 6 cycles you can increase by .25u. (you fill the shed for 5-7 days only if the nadir is under 200, and his is closer to 300.) I wish I would just see some better numbers, but will be happy to be able to safely increase a smidgen tomorrow night.

That's a super high number right?? Should I be scared?? He is not showing signs of DKA, he smells normal. I was just so not expecting that number. He is normally that high pre-shot, and his pre-shot this morning was 271, so I was expecting that his shed was full and I would see a longer nadir (which would start at 6+ for him based on the past 2 days) and would hopefully still be going at 7+. Not so. Unless it was a fur shot...I didn't feel anything distinctly wet after but he is long haired and I'm not sure if I would feel 1u. AAAARRRRGGG (sigh)

nailbite_smile confused_cat :cry:
 
It is frustrating, Sara. He is your baby and you want him better now!

Could have been a fur shot - everyone does them. Sometimes you can smell the insulin or feel it on his hair. More likely he is just settling into the insulin. Regardless, don't shoot again. Too easy to overdose.

Oliver was a long haired Maine Coon. We had to separate his hair until we got down to skin. Then we pulled up some and shot.

He does not have wildly high numbers. Many new diabetics come here with 400-500s. Be sure you are getting a ketone test and then try to breathe. Some of the best advice I got when I first came here was to breathe and enjoy my kitty. He didn't become a diabetic in a day - it took a while for his body to develop this disease. It will take awhile for his body to use the insulin and improve.
 
Ok, ok, thank you....I think I'm breathing again....and now crying...
I think I'll just keep tracking and keep everything the same and try to just enjoy him.
I made a spread sheet but I can't figure out how to link the URL tag thing??

I selected the text to link and clicked the URL button, and it looks like an empty url tag went in my sigi?

Any how - here's my sporadic chart! :)

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... FBfM00ya0E
 
This silly cat is on his way down?? 357 at 9+
So, the thing that was making me crazy was thinking that he would be so high before his next shot. You know what I think it is?? The dry food. The best numbers I've seen so far probably have more to do with his eating mostly wet that day, and today I know he's had more dry. Wow, I am seeing a huge difference if that is the case.

So, I will feed him the wet and make sure he is full before I feed the other two to keep him on almost 100% wet. That should help a bit until the Lantus can really start helping him.

Oh!! I found the best treats too! They are shredded meats in gravy. So I got two containers of shredded chicken and he is not leaving my side in case he can have another "treat." = stick. lol All I have to do now is say "Duncan, do you want treats?" And he comes running from wherever he is in the house. Even his favorite sleeping place which normally gets a look of disdain if I even suggest he should move (mostly to come in bed with me). :)

Feeling better now. Logging off for a bit.
Thank you!!!!
PS: Yes, I read the kitty letter. Made me cry but it's so true. Thanks
 
If he is getting any dry food, that can make a huge difference. When we switched from dry to wet, Oliver went down 100 points overnight. Try to make sure he gets only wet - that could make a big difference in his numbers (downward)
 
Oh DRY! That shoots KT up 150 points at least and he stays there for at least a couple of days.

Sara, don't forget to check your other posting about how many cycles to come down...

HUGS!
 
I'm new to this forum but just wanted to give my 2 cents for what its worth ;-)
When Harry was first dx his bg was in the 400s(on dry food) and on 2u bid, after joining here and lots of reading I changed him to all canned and his bg has dropped close to 200 and hes down to .5u :-D . I also have another cat who is not a fan of canned so for now she is still on dry but her food is kept on the counter where Harry can't get it.
 
Thanks Harry's Mom,
That's a good idea to move the others' food. The only semi good numbers I have seen were from the day I got the wet food and made sure he had only wet. There are just some days/nights here where I can't be that strict. (I have 2 kiddos and we have all been sick off and on, so having a tough month here for all of us.) I was severely nauseated last night so slacked off and Duncan had some dry.

I am seeing that possibly switching to 100% wet now would make a big difference to mr Duncan.

Is wet better for all cats?? My other two love it, but one of them eats it until he pukes because he loves it soooo much. So I would rather keep him on dry since it stays down better. Still making this adjustment as a house hold. Would help a lot if we would all get healthier!
 
Yes, wet is better for all cats, Sara. Have you seen this website by a vet: www.catinfo.org

You could let them graze on smaller amounts during the day. Some of us freeze it and let it thaw out as they graze. Maybe that would help the one that bolts the food.
 
We moved my cat off of dry food onto the Hills rx DM food. And his numbers stayed high.

However we then moved him off of the Hills onto one of the Fancy Feasts that were in the link here about low Carb wet food, and his numbers dropped instantly.

He was 39.1 consistently. Now he is between 6 and 9.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top