Frustrated with numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
So Skooter seemed to be going on the right direction....then I switched up and gave him 4U instead of 5 when he had a BG of 143 as I was not going to be home to monitor and test him....then Friday night he got a fur shot and ever since then he seems to be going towards the higher numbers...

Can someone take a look at his spreadsheet? I am not sure if I am not give him enough time to rebound from the fur shot, etc or if I should be increasing to 6 units....
 
I think you have room to increase. I'd suggest going with 5.5u first before going straight to 6u. Then hold the dose for a minimum of 3 days/6 cycles before increasing again to 6u.
 
I am not sure about how to do the half numbers thing. I use the U100 syringes....I am counting a "unit" to be one dash or line....so if that is correct....then I would shoot between the 5th and 6th line?
 
Yep. The key is consistency and not "exactness." They sell syringes with 1/2u markings on them for future reference so you might want to look for those the next time you need to buy syringes.
 
Sounds good, I will try doing 5.5 tomorrow and see if that helps....


Just frustrating because I really thought we were FINALLY on the right track with the 5 units......

Its a good thing he is so cute and snuggly, or this might be a more frustrating process than it already is lol

DAMN CATS! lolol
 
Hi, I am frustrated with my cat's numbers also. Merlo was 'diagnosed 8 months ago. For the first 2 months, she was doing fine in the 100's to lower 200's with 2cc twice daily. Then she started showing numbers in the high 200's, so the vet and I decided to go up to 3cc twice daily. After a few weeks of that, she was showing in the 300's, so I went up to 4cc twice daily. After a few weeks of that, she was showing in the upper 300's and into the 400's! So again we went up, and again her numbers went up. This went on for about 4 months, until I was at 6cc and her numbers were in the 500's. She was always very lathargic after getting her shots. Thinking it might be the symolgi effect, I decided to slowly take her back down to 2cc. Her numbers went down as the insulin was reduced. I tried to go down to the 1cc, but then her numbers were in the upper 300's to 400's. She is holding steady at 2cc and consistently in the lower 300's. I am afraid to increase her dosage again, but I sure wish her numbers were in the lower 200's (or less).

She started a good wet food diet since she was diagnosed. She has never been overweight. She was underweight @7.4# when she was diagnosed. She went up to 9.6# the first few months, and now is hanging around 8.7#. The vet ruled out any kidney or other weird issues a few months ago, but of course that doesn't mean she's not approaching some internal failure from her high numbers. She doesn't act like she's starving like she used too, so that's some type of good news. I add water to her wet food, but she still camps out at the water bowl about 90 minutes after food/insulin every morning and night. It makes me sad to see her laying in front of the water bowl with her head propped over it.

At this point, I'm just monitoring her numbers and keeping her happy. I can't afford to keep making visits to the vet, along with the cost of monitoring her. The insulin, syringes, BG strips, lancets, etc... cost more than I was expecting. The last recommendation was to travel 3 hours to find an internal specialist. I can't make that happen.

Good luck with your kitty. I hope you can make his numbers come back down.
 
MTmcintire, if you would start your own post, that would be helpful. You would then get specific suggestions for you and your cat. Having a spreadsheet (SS) set up will get you some other recommendations, as will telling us what insulin you use and more specifics on the food you are feeding.
 
I think you mean units, not CCs. 1 cubic centimeter, aka 1 milliliter, will have100 units of insulin (U-100) or 40 units (U-40) in it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top