Good Morning, Heidi ~
"The really unbelievable thing is he came to me when I was getting ready to test him this afternoon." -- Happy to hear Frodo's getting with the program, Heidi!

That makes it SO much easier, doesn't it?
Those numbers for Frodo are so much better at the .5U dose. Glad you're going to be around to monitor him closely today to watch out for those really low numbers, Heidi. Frodo's responding so well to Lantus. As that .5U dose settles in, you'll be able to see how it's working for him. Of course, if you're getting numbers too low at nadir (mid-point in the cycle) or too low to shoot at preshot, then you may need to lower the dose again. Too early to tell that, but keep monitoring, Heidi.
For many of us, we've learned to watch out for early action of the Lantus at +2 or +3. In a typical Lantus curve, the +2 is often close to the preshot number and the +3 would be only slightly lower. If you're seeing a large drop in numbers at +2 or +3 as you did for Frodo yesterday, dropping from 400 AMPS to 241 at +2, then that's a good indicator of an action packed day ahead. And that's what you got for him with that +4 of 63 and +6 of 86. Some of us (and I'm bad about it...) try to get a PM +2 to give us an idea of how the night might go. If we see a large drop then, we know we need to do more testing that night.
Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
Hope you have a pleasant day with Frodo.
Eva