Hi, everyone.
I hope to eventually become a regular poster on this board, but the last two weeks have been so stressful . . . And the roller coaster keeps rolling! Frodo went hypo with symptoms on Monday at the 0.5 unit dose (I posted on the main board -- thanks for your suggestions!). I took him off insulin for two days to see what would happen and his numbers went high and kept climbing. I decided to start him back up at 0.25 units 2 x day, but his numbers have been all over the place since (pre-shots ranging from 129 to >600). I believe the problem may be me. 0.25 is such a small dose and it's so hard to be accurate and consistent, especially since I'm so new at this. I asked for advice on the "tight regulation" board about low doses and got some good advice, but I'm still struggling. From just the little data I've collected so far (I've had a very busy week at work and school), it seems like he goes very low, very fast when I err on the high side -- maybe 0.3 unit. And the insulin seems to have no effect or little effect when I err on the low side (more like 0.1). Does this interpretation seem realistic to you? My other idea is that on this low of dose, maybe his eating patterns and schedule have an even greater affect on blood sugar? I'm hoping to monitor a little more closely this weekend and get some more data.
Would love to have some ideas. I'm completely stressed out thinking that such a tiny difference in dose could have such profound effects on his blood sugar.
Thank you,
Heidi and Frodo
I hope to eventually become a regular poster on this board, but the last two weeks have been so stressful . . . And the roller coaster keeps rolling! Frodo went hypo with symptoms on Monday at the 0.5 unit dose (I posted on the main board -- thanks for your suggestions!). I took him off insulin for two days to see what would happen and his numbers went high and kept climbing. I decided to start him back up at 0.25 units 2 x day, but his numbers have been all over the place since (pre-shots ranging from 129 to >600). I believe the problem may be me. 0.25 is such a small dose and it's so hard to be accurate and consistent, especially since I'm so new at this. I asked for advice on the "tight regulation" board about low doses and got some good advice, but I'm still struggling. From just the little data I've collected so far (I've had a very busy week at work and school), it seems like he goes very low, very fast when I err on the high side -- maybe 0.3 unit. And the insulin seems to have no effect or little effect when I err on the low side (more like 0.1). Does this interpretation seem realistic to you? My other idea is that on this low of dose, maybe his eating patterns and schedule have an even greater affect on blood sugar? I'm hoping to monitor a little more closely this weekend and get some more data.
Would love to have some ideas. I'm completely stressed out thinking that such a tiny difference in dose could have such profound effects on his blood sugar.
Thank you,
Heidi and Frodo