Frodo - Trying for Remission - Lower Nbr Shooting???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancey

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone, I need advice on what to do with Frodo. Please look at his spreadsheet, I use the "comment" on the cell for specific information on the BG numbers. I did a curve on 8/12 and also tried to check to see if his pancreas was working. His AMPS was 127, I fed him and the tested and hour later he was at 147 so I gave him .2, then ran with the curve the rest of the day. So at that point it looked like things were not working as they should. However I tried the same thing on 8/14 and after an hour he had dropped from 128 to 116.

So what are your thoughts on me shooting on the lower 100's, giving him .1 or less if possible. I am using U40's right now, but could get some U100s to get a smaller dose. Would that make sense to do or am I being to impatient with it all.

This is so hard he seems so close. He can go for a couple of days and run double digits and very low 100's with no shots and then all of a sudden he will hit the 140's and have to have a small dose. One thing I have noticed is it only takes that tiny does to drop him into really good double digits. The most he has had lately is .2, most of the time it is .1 or less.

Oh yeah last week his PM and night BG's were all double digit it was just his AMPS that was low 100's. Not sure if that is because he doesn't really eat anything through at the night, or at least not like he does through out the day.

:? I am totally confused on if I should be doing more. Please someone give me your thoughts on what you would do.

Thank You in advance,
Nancey
 
I think you and Frodo are doing great. He is in normal numbers most of the time without insulin (ranging from 40-120 with the majority of the time in double digits) I think when he gets to 140, for instance, his pancreas has been helping out for a long time and it gets tired (not a very scientific explanation - Carl will have a better one) Just a tiny bit of insulin helps it out and it joins the party again.

It is taking him awhile to go OTJ, that's for sure. But he is on his own time schedule and eventually he will get there. What you are doing is exactly right. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top